Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Nick from St. Neots

Posted Feb 20, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. I very nice place to stay and get away from it all although the deco appeared to be in need of a bit of restoration in some parts. The only criticisms are the music in the dining room both for dinner and breakfast was inappropriate but for me in any case is totally unnecessary. Also the hotel is eager to promote its home cured bacon but when it is presented at breakfast it is so over cooked to supposedly achieve crispness it has no flavour.
5 out of 5
by Mark from essex

Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent venue ..really friendly staff . Lovely room ..great place .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Comfortable, quiet, welcoming staff

Posted Feb 16, 2016
Pros: Friendly welcome. Delicious food. Comfortable room
Location: Near Taunton. Large town. Also city of Exeter is not far, with its cathedral, many shops. Would recommend park and ride which runs every 10 minutes
Efficient, pleasant staff who made us feel welcome. Lovely log fire. Delicious dinner in restaurant. Quiet, comfortable room overlooking garden at back. Did not stay for breakfast. Will recommend to friends.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from warwick uk

Lovely hotel in beautiful location

Posted Feb 15, 2016
Pros: The area
Cons: The reception staff and checking bills before presenting them to customers. I still a right first time policy to all staff including the manager
We were travelling to Cornwall so stayed overnight at this hotel. The food and restaurant service were first class. However when we came to check out at about 11 am there was no one around. An extremely moody male eventually turned up and gave us a bill, which I happily paid without checking and clarifying every item. We were escorted out of the hotel by another member of staff who was delightful and wished us a safe journey. Such a nice touch. But please be careful if you go to this place. The moody male had not calculated the bill correctly and took more money from my account without my authorisation or even phoning my mobile to apologise for his error and asking permission to debit my account. I phoned and spoke to **** who thinks it is perfectly acceptable to take money from accounts without getting approval from the account owner. They should get the bill right first time! So please be careful!
3 out of 5
by Chris from Worksop

Nice hotel but falls short in many ways

Posted Feb 7, 2016 on Hotels
You have to pay for wifi and it didn't work when you logged in. Hotel let me use the staff system as I had a deadline to meet. Took me ages to get onto the A358 in the morning. Food was not up to expectation and staff were disinterested in my feedback.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 4, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by philip

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Farthings Hotel

Posted Jan 12, 2016 on Hotels
Good hotel for the money but there's no need to charge for the wifi. The cost of the wifi is extremely expensive.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Folkestone

Nice country hotel with a family feel

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Only negatives were low water pressure in the shower and thin walls and floors resulting in noise from other residents. Couldn't be helped though!!
Location: Good and scenic country location, a short drive into Taunton.
Farthings is a lovely country hotel with spacious rooms and good amenities. Our room and bed were both large and comfortable making our three night stay a very enjoyable experience. Recommended!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Good value country house hotel

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Pros: Excellent menu. Delicious lunch in beautiful private dining room with 2 small children well entertained by watching peacocks through French windows
Cons: Very good English breakfast, some croissants/ different breads would improve continental breakfast.
Location: Pretty Somerset village very near M5 for easy access
We had a comfortable and relaxing 2 night stay, visiting family nearby, who joined us for lunch.