Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

This is a 5 star Bed and Breakfast NOT a 5 star Ho

Posted Sep 18, 2016
I was not quite sure what to expect after reading mixed reviews but my intuition was that it would be good... it wasn't good, it was FABULOUS! I personally do not like hotels much, I find them too formal, sterile and the staff too fussy. This was quite the opposite. The friendly helpful staff show you around when you first arrive then leave you to your own devices... which I loved. The rooms are quirky and aged but that is the charm of a Tudor house. All rooms are well furnished, supplied and equipped though which was very impressive. Breakfast is a wonderful experience, seated in the Tudor hall with inglenook fireplace, chandeliers and wood panelling. It is a self service, all you can eat continental breakfast which is as classy as you want it to be! One last thing to say... all the less than gushing reviews on Trip Advisor are from people who went expecting a 5 Star hotel - IT IS NOT! This is the most awesome 5 Star Bed and Breakfast you will ever encounter, go there and be wowed by it but do not expect to be waited on hand and foot, that is NOT what you have paid for. I am definitely going back again and recommending it to all my friends.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cardiff

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Brilliant stay set in grounds of 16th century grand house .very quiet and lovely setting
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice but a few disappointing things.

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice Hotel, BUT a few things need sorting out - I stayed in Room 5 on the top floor. My bathroom was so dark even with light on. No Toilet Roll holder. Milk left in room was off. Arrived late in the day - found handwritten instructions on how to get to rooms - very confusing. We were trying to find 3 rooms on different floors. Smoke detector in room bleeped all night. Replacement Battery needed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guildford

Quiet charming old house set in lovely grounds.

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Friendly relaxed experience. Plenty of parking. Modern bathroom and well equipped room. Breakfast is provided though is very simple- cereals and toast plus fruit and flapjacks.
5 out of 5
by Andrew from Portsmouth

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
Really warm and friendly service. Breakfast was fantatsic
5 out of 5
by Lynne from Newbury

Affordable Luxury

Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely room and extremely comfortable bed. Lovely quiet surroundings. All fixtures and furnishings of a good quality. Room exceptionally clean. Breakfast is plentiful, either help yourself for early risers (pre 8am) or wait to order a cooked one. I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Steven from Crewe

Refreshingly non-corporate / homogenised interior

Posted Jan 24, 2016 on Hotels
Great location, terrific room...breakfast aside an inglenook fireplace with a crackling fire. Wonderful location adjacent to a beautiful hall.
5 out of 5
by Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice old house with big oak doors and staff very h

Posted Nov 26, 2015
Pros: old building, good staff, close to where i want to go
Cons: heating system
Location: i work here
it was a very good experience been here 2 weeks and i cannot complain