Ratings based on 229 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I enjoyed my weekend stay at the hotel.

Posted Oct 8, 2016
I stayed for 1 night with my 2 dogs. I was surprised at how nicely the room was presented and I had everything I needed in the room. Very clean. The only issue I had was that when I got into bed, I found the bedding to be slightly damp and the Duvet too warm. I asked for sheets from the staff, however, and they accommodated me promptly. Very good night and would definitely stay there again. The location is also excellent as it is right in the centre of town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Wales

nice hotel in the heart of frome

Posted Sep 27, 2016
hotel was nice clean. was given keys to come and go as we pleased after 12pm-7am. car park was secure at the back of the hotel. bed was comfy. frome town was nice. its small but has a few quieky shops.... record shop rug shop etc few negativies we was woken both nights by the sound of a washing machine (rear of hotel about 3am-4am friday and saturday night. there was 6 of us eatting breakfast. food came at diffent times. cooked breakfast was cold sausages we over cooked crispy and dried out. wish we went some where else for food.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from windsor, uk

Town centre pub hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Town centre location, secure parking. Pleasant bar staff.
Cons: Be more honest about your rooms and charge more fairly according the the size and position of the rooms. I resent paying full price for the worst room
Location: THe Merlin theatre was my objective and it was a great venue.
I booked the George because of its location and secure parking in town centre Frome. Also it has single rooms which is rare. However the rooms are tiny and the one I had was not unlike the bunk room in steerage on a small yacht without the glamour. The worst part of my experience was the fact that I was kept awake half the night with noise from the street. Whilst this is typical of a town centre on a Saturday night, the windows of the hotel are single glazed so there was no escape from the noise. The curtains didn't black out the street lights either. Whilst all this is typical for a town npcentre older style hotel, I feel that they should warn you and lint out that you are booking the smallest room in the hotel which is also exposed to street noise and perhaps make a concession on price to reflect this.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Close proximity to Longleat and within a small town.
Lovely hotel for our overnight stay, used restaurant which was very reasonable and breakfast was excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leicester

Traditional town centre hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Very comfortable with a good bed, efficient plumbing in the bathroom including a real bath, and an excellent breakfast. Also good Wadworth's beers in the bar. It has parking: there is a garage behind the hotel which is locked overnight.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by sue from Caerphilly

Family stay in Frome

Posted Jul 14, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel itself is in a goos location in Frome although a little noisy in the night with people gping home early hours and traffic. Everything was very good with the exception of the service for breakfast, we were told it would take 25 mins because there was a lot of egg orders to cook, after 55 mins we were told it would be with us in 30 seconds, we finally got our breakfasts 65 mins after ordering. Took the edge off our stay, however the staff were great and the rooms fantastic, although the single room was exceptionally small. We booked 4 rooms in all.
5 out of 5
by Sue from Truro

Family stay

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
Very pleasant one night stay having cycled the Colliers Way from Bristol. Staff friendly and efficient especially the one young lady waiting on us in the restaurant on Saturday evening - taking care of everyone on her own! Very good breakfast. One of our party is gluten intolerant and The George very much caters for that with good choices, thank you. Personally we like the quirkiness of the hotel whereby it is up and down this way and that to the rooms but appreciate not everyone would find that easy - but it is an old building! Both rooms were comfortable and well decorated. Well stocked tea/coffee tray.....and biscuits. One of our rooms was at the back of the hotel up in the eaves and consequently only had very small vellux windows - no problem with that but do keep them clean! With very limited natural light coming in it would be so much nicer not to have it reduced further by filthy windows.
2 out of 5
by Joseph from Cambridgeshire

Traffic noise -hardly any sleep

Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Hotels
This is great hotel clean and with good staff. However, it is located on a main busy road that cuts through the town which has constant traffic! The windows are the old type and are not noise proof. Since the corner room I was allocated was road-facing and hand 3 sliding Windows, I hardly slept at all due to the constant traffic. At one point, around midnight, I dozed off only to be woken by a huge delivery trailer truck , which was being noisily unloaded in the adjacent store by with three men loud shouty men. After that, it was the longest night I ever experienced. May be sleeping rough next to a motorway would be less noisy ! Good breakfast
4 out of 5
by Terry from Halesowen

Close to Longleat

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed one night before visiting Longleat about 15 min drive away. The kitchen staff were very helpful in arranging an earlier breakfast.