Ratings based on 564 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convienent and Clean

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Great front office check in staff. They were very helpful and accommodating
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edison, NJ

My stay at the Hyatt.

Posted Jan 31, 2017
My husband and I decided to get away for the evening so we decided to try the Hyatt. It's about a 15 minute drive from home. The plus! The staff is friendly and there is a nice restaurant in the lobby. The king sized bed was very comfortable. It's also near several nice restaurants and a short walk to the local theaters. The minuses! The walls are not very soundproofed, you can hear the toilets flushing in adjoining rooms. The hallway floor where our room was had crumbs and dried flowers strewn about when we checked in early in the afternoon and was still not removed when we returned from dinner. Overall a decent place to stay in Newark Brunswick.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice.

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Comfortable, clean, quiet. Just what we were looking for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Very empty during Xmas. Got great service. Parking added $20 per day and that was not clear from Expedia listing. Walking distance to good restaurants and other activities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Monica, CA

Convenient location, walking distance to RR

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Location, cleanliness
Cons: Put in double-pane windows
Location: Location is fine
Some rooms back up on highway, windows not insulated- so those rooms are noisy Walls are thin, so you hear noises from everywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Nice elegant hotel near Rutgers University

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Centrally located. Close to NJ Turnpike 40 minutes from Airport
Cons: Self-parking was surprisingly expensive
Location: Next door to Rutgers University, the city center and great restaurants
Very nice hotel next door to Rutgers University, the city center and great restaurants. The rooms are well appointed, amenities such as gym, restaurants and bars are modern and airy
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms are not the great

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Needs upgrade. The rooms are a little outdated. Maybe in the NB area this is good but not to my taste. The lobby is ok. But the room not nice and cozy at all. Smells old room. Not fresh.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Not so good because of construction , that started at 9 am. Service was good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Location & staff R good but condition is meh

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: Staff were polite and accomodating; tv was decent if difficult to figure out ~ should have a channel guide readily available.
Cons: Needs a carpeting upgrade in a major way
Location: Centrally located in New Brunswick, NJ, about a two block walk from the NJ Transit train station.
I needed to stay in New Brunswick 'cause I was visiting my son who's a student at Rutgers and we had tickets to the RU vs. Penn State game. Back in the '80's when I graduated from RU, the Hyatt was a gem, well-maintained, superior service, good restaurants, etc. but now it's only real selling point is its location. The staff was accomodating enough, but for a hotel that's supposed to be 4-5 stars, with a per night room rate to match, it had a nasty, wet carpet as I entered my room, stained carpet throughout the room and hallway and generally looked like it was way overdue for an upgrade. Disappointed too that there were no on-site Starbucks or average $ eating options; nearest Starbucks is a long city block away which was rough in the cold.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms Getting Old

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel rooms are getting very dated - the AC is not keeping up. The hotel needs to start a gradual renovation of all its rooms.