Ratings based on 540 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Location & staff R good but condition is meh

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: Staff were polite and accomodating; tv was decent if difficult to figure out ~ should have a channel guide readily available.
Cons: Needs a carpeting upgrade in a major way
Location: Centrally located in New Brunswick, NJ, about a two block walk from the NJ Transit train station.
I needed to stay in New Brunswick 'cause I was visiting my son who's a student at Rutgers and we had tickets to the RU vs. Penn State game. Back in the '80's when I graduated from RU, the Hyatt was a gem, well-maintained, superior service, good restaurants, etc. but now it's only real selling point is its location. The staff was accomodating enough, but for a hotel that's supposed to be 4-5 stars, with a per night room rate to match, it had a nasty, wet carpet as I entered my room, stained carpet throughout the room and hallway and generally looked like it was way overdue for an upgrade. Disappointed too that there were no on-site Starbucks or average $ eating options; nearest Starbucks is a long city block away which was rough in the cold.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Nice Hotel.

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Location: Lots of clubs/comedy and pubs or lounges. Good Music.
Had to switch rooms due to air conditioning malfunction (too cold).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fitchburg, United States of America

All-purpose hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, quick check-in, convenient parking, large comfortable room, quality restaurants very close
Cons: Large, "cold-feeling" lobby Small bathroom Nothing else
Location: Rutgers University Good restaurants an easy walk
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Metuchen

Just over the bridge.

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Location, room comfort with minimal noise.
Cons: Overnight guests should get a parking discount.
Location: Went for a birthday party and never left the hotel.
Coming south on Rt 27, it is the first hotel you see. Parking garage is easy to find. Check in was very quick and easy. Impressive looking lobby. Elevators were very efficient. Comfortable bar.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New york

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Very close to college avenue campus. Nice overall
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not so satisfied

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
There is no free parking for guests and the garage charges $20/day and $26/night. Public parking is metered with an 8 hr limit from 8am-8pm. Wasn't able to sleep in to ensure the meter was fed. Booked a king bed, but at check in was given two twin beds. They moved our room without an hassle but was told it was handicap accessible with a balcony. It was not at all. Hotel room was clean but constantly had dirty room service dishes and laundry in the hallways. Heard neighbors in next-door room CLEARLY! Small restaurant/lounge in hotel, otherwise nothing else. Hot tub and pool are small and you have to go through the gym to access it (uncomfortable). There were no staff members available for any assistance in the area. The town is small and have nice restaurants at walking distance and a nice park within a 5 min drive but nothing else. Entertainment is extremely limited. Not intending on returning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn N.Y.

Peaceful hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2016
The hotel was peaceful and cery comfortable. The only downside was that there is no free parking for staying at the hotel. There is also no microwave or refridgerator.