Ratings based on 343 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Check in was easy, but my rooms weren't next to each other. The rooms were clean but there were roaches crawling on the walls. Neither room had a hair dryer. The beds were all broken. Half the stairs were closed off cause they were painting. I asked for a late check out upon checking in and was told ok, but we were asked to leave before time given for late check out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2017
There were bugs, the bathtub was brown and unclean, the room was extremely dusty, but it was on sale.. you get what you pay for, I guess.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Pet Friendly

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Reasonable price and pet friendly and clean and they had a maitance person on the premise to assist me and they were prompt
Cons: maybe a list of local places to eat, shop, etc
My room was comfortable, clean and the staff were helpful and accomodating
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Virginia

nice, comfortable

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: most everything
Cons: as stated above
Location: didn't go anywhere so don't know
stayed one night, only one major problem: the shower in the accessible room, couldn't get shower head adjusted properly and the shower curtain didn't prevent soapy water from running out into the floor which made a very slick and dangerous condition MUST BE CORRECTED BEFORE SOMEONE FALLS AND SUES. (this wouldn't apply to a regular room). other than that, pleasant stay, breakfast very basic with very little to choose from
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from somerset, ky

Just an Overnight

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Everything fine except fridge not cold. We stayed in handicap accessible, very comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

No early check in for you tired traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Got into Kentucky two hours before official check in time..inquired at desk..no early check in...was raining, no pool fun...clerk had an attitude...have to go by the rules...apparently by reserving early I had been assigned a room. Lots of motels on Highway 27....this property is dated...due for a makeover. If the roof is red...keep driving..
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spmerset ky

Not worth money

Posted Aug 23, 2017
AC didn't work. Hotel staff was rude and condescending. Breakfast food was limited with fruit that was old. Area was full of gnats. Also bathroom sink had no stopper. It is worth paying a little more for descent service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lebanon, OH

Great Place to stay while in Somerset.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Cons: Better breakfast that last past 8:30 am
Every year a group of us stay at the Somerset Red Roof one night before going to Conley Bottom to pick up our houseboats for the long weekend. Red Roof has been steadily improving over the years. This past trip, the rooms were clean, hotel staff superb, and love the make up removing towelettes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lexington, KY

A decent hotel for the price.

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: The price that I paid for the room was more than reasonable.
Cons: Breakfast could be improved with cold hard boiled eggs, hot cooked sausage links or patties, hot sliced bacon slices, or a waffle maker.
Location: Lake Cumberland is very nearby, as is Cumberland Falls, the Niagra Falls of the south. There are Civil War parks, a water park, and vineyards.
This hotel is on the main strip of Somerset and is in decent shape. It is a little noisy in that area. They had an unexpectedly busy day so they were fully booked and some of their housekeeping staff had called off. The owner had to come in to help clean the rooms, and we were not able to go into our room until 7 pm. That was not much of a problem for us because we wanted to go other places anyway. I appreciate that they still did what they could to get our room ready for us. This is a lower mid-range hotel that has been around for a while. I feel that I got my money's worth for what I paid. The pool was open, but we weren't up for a swim. We could see the pool from the road, and it is a little small, but people were there and seemed to enjoy it. There isn't an elevator for the upstairs rooms. They do have an ice machine in the lower level hallway. Breakfast was apples, oranges, bananas, mini muffins, donuts, bagels, cereal, coffee, tea, bottled apple juice, and bottled orange juice. There was no hot food, and nothing fancy. My mother and I had what was there, but my daughter had breakfast at McDonald's. There were no bugs, it felt safe, and it was clean enough to feel comfortable. Overall it was a good experience, and I would be okay staying there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from somerset ky

Hotel not well maintained

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Upon booking hotel rep made me feel as though I was interrupting her day. The room ac did not work, the sink had no plug, the carpet was only under the beds. I kept stubbing my toe on the band used to hold carpet down. The next am their breakfast was missing a cereal and juice. The bananas were extremely ripe. They had gnats flying everywhere. I spoke to new attendant at front desk and she was arrogant. It's worth extra money to stay elsewhere. I am a weekly visitor for work to this area and will not be staying here again.