Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Comfortable clean room friendly staff and tasty food (I am wheat intolerant but was able to enjoy a GF stone baked pizza from the menu which was absolutely delicious
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Beautiful setting

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: It's setting, food, and staff
Cons: The mattress was uncomfortable and you could feel the springs in your back. it would be worth investing in a thicker/better quality one for comfort.
Location: dulverton is 5 min drive away with nice little shops to explore. Easy to get around - we went all over the moor, up to the north coast and to Taunton
Perfect rural riverside setting on the edge of Exmoor. Very dog friendly too, so definately would recommend as a brilliant base for those with doggies and walking with them on the moor. Food was lovely, with a good choice on the menu.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

No Breakfast Supplied

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Booked the room online with breakfast included. Once at hotel, I was told that Expedia had sold the room too cheap and he wasn't going to provide the breakfast. At 7pm & 15 to 20km to next hotel, was left with no option but to accept. Should have honoured the sale agreement & sorted his problem with Expedia. Dishonest owner.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Poole

If location is everything, you won't go wrong here

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Location and also dog friendly
Cons: There is nothing that would stop us booking again.
Location: Tiverton, Exmoor, Tarr Steps , Valley of the Rocks, Lynton and Lynmouth, Dunster, Minehead all within a reasonable drive.
Arrived Monday 5th Sept, left Friday 9th Sept A cautionary note that we should have written to ourselves, this Inn is on the banks of the river Exe and in the warmer months don't leave your window open and a light on or you may get hundreds of uninvited guests. The staff assisted us to hoover up the midges and provided an extension lead so my other half could use the fan that we brought with us. Once we kept the window closed, there was no further problem with midges. The room information clearly states that rooms are not entered as a matter of course but if you require the room to be serviced, then you just ask and it will be done. We made a couple of requests that were done instantly. We had no problem with the policy. Great breakfast, cooked to order and saved us a fortune on lunches as we just weren't hungry come lunch time. Had one evening meal in the Inn which was fine. Beer garden on the banks of the river is a great place to watch kingfishers and grey wagtails and just chill to the sound of running water. Great riverside walk opposite hotel with access to river for dogs to paddle. Very short drive into Dulverton and onto Exmoor and other places of interest Staff were very friendly and helpful
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Beautiful location

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: The location & good food
Cons: Could be much cleaner, the stairwell door adjoins the rooms creaked every time opened
Location: Lovely riverside location, Dulverton is lovely with plenty of shops, Tarr steps well worth a visit , we did the circular route, haven for wildlife
Room not ready on arrival & not clean, shower was dangerously hot, room not cleaned or cups, towels changed for 3 nights, bed was comfy ,food very good except one morning at breakfast had to ask for milk, juice & sauce. Cleaner was cleaning other end of room with bleach solution which is off putting when eating she was also serving breakfast one morning as well! Can't fault the location & the staff were friendly , drinks prices were random we paid from £1.70 to £4.00 for the same drinks ?
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

Very nice stay

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Very nice location. Very good food.
Very nice place, very good homemade food. Old but clean and nice room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south wales

beautiful place would highly recommend

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: everything.
Cons: room was a little dated but didnt bother us at all, It was still very clean with everything you could need ie.. en-suite,towels,soaps,kettle,tea,cofee
Location: as stated above a little out of the way but perfect for what we wanted. Local town with shops not to far away. Many scenic walks near. fishing near by
The Anchor Inn is truly a beautiful and peaceful place in the countryside. We would highly recommend. Inside and out was extremely clean and well kept and maintained as was our room (although a little dated this didnt bother us at all). Ideal for a peaceful getaway and ideal for couples and families. location was perfect for us although maybe a little out of the way for some, but there is a local town a few minutes drive away. The staff was extremely friendly and food was superb we will definately be returning and hopefully stay for longer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Senghenydd Wales

Nice Hotel in the heart of the countryside.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Great food. Good rates. friendly staff. lovely location.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind, Our stay was perfect.
Location: A couple of miles up the road is Dulverston a very pretty village with shops and pubs. The anchor is only about twenty minutes from Minehead.
Arrived at the Anchor where we had a warm welcome. We were shown to our immaculately clean bedroom. The beds were very comfortable as well. No noises during the night as you would expect from a rural pub. We ate in the restaurant and the food was superb. Nice local ales and ciders to choose from, and the staff were friendly and helpfull Would recommend this pub highly. We will be back there very soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Nice Hotel right by the river and garden was good.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: It's position and friendliness.
Cons: Seating in some of the bedrooms.
We have been to this hotel 4 times over the past 20 years and it has been upgraded recently. Dining areas are good and our room (no 4) was excellent. However our friends room lacked seating facilities with only the bed to sit on whilst watching television or having a drink. Staff were very friendly and the food was excellent.
5 out of 5
by Lisa from Wisbech

Lovely place for a break

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
Really lovely place and very relaxing