Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by D. from kent u.k

One night stay while on a mini break in somerset

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Pros: Quaintness and views of the cathederal
Cons: Our room could be freshened up The bar and reception should be opened later and breakfast should be served in hotel not across road in all weather
Location: Wells cathederal is excellent but limited parking time does not give enough time.Wells is close to glastonbury and cheddar gorge.
To start i thought i had booked a 4 poster room but was only given a normal double room which was a little cramped although quaint the view of the cathederal quite stunning. The bathroom was very poor with limited headroom in the bath and only a hand held shower but as i was only staying 1 night i accepted it.breakfast was served across the road but the waitress did not tell us we could help ourself to the buffit table which was out of sight of our table so only had the cooked part and as my companion is vegatarian didn't get much choice.We ate out at the piano bar just across the road and had a good meal, thinking we would have a night cap when we got back to the hotel we were quite annoyed to find the hotel locked and in darkness with the bar already shut as early as 10:45pm.When i come to check out, again across the road i was given a bill and had to prove i had already paid through Expedia. Lastly parking in this part of Wells is a problem having parked to the rear of the hotel for the night i had to move the car in the morning to town centre parking place but for only 1hr leaving us short of time to visit the cathederal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Amazing view

Posted Aug 22, 2013
Pros: The location, the tasteful decor.
Cons: Bathroom - add a shower. DVD player
Location: A very short stroll away from the Wells Cathedral and Bishop's Palace.
We were extremely lucky to be allocated room three with two sash windows that look directly onto Cathedral Green. We could have stared at the Cathedral for hours each time finding something new.
4 out of 5
by mat from devom

gate house

Posted Jul 18, 2013 on Hotels
For a hotel that is getting on 600 years old not bad it's not going to be like some modern hotel is is so you have to take that in to acount
5 out of 5
by SB from Harpenden

Wells

Posted Jul 11, 2013 on Hotels
Great location Excellent food, Good value,very old building so facilities are not what could be expected in newer hotel Would definately stay again
2 out of 5
by Janet from Rugby

not what they say

Posted Jun 16, 2013 on Hotels
not very happy that they do not tell you that you have to cross a very busy road at 08.30 to get your breakfast at their sister hotel across the road. Carpets very tied and bathroom very small. NOT VALUE FOR MONEY.
4 out of 5
by Jerie from Los Angeles, CA

Remember it's name says "Ancient"

Posted Jun 15, 2013 on Hotels
We wanted an authentic hotel while in Wells to see the cathedral; and, that is exactly what we got. It actually abuts the tollgate and opens DIRECTLY on to the cathedral green. Originally, we were told, this inn was housing for visiting church officials and guests who had business in Wells. It dates from the 14-15th Century. Every room is different. Ours was on the top left as you face the inn. To get to it you walk up a floor, go thru a door, then a few more steps, then you enter a spiral staircase which is quite steep, uneven, and narrow. Getting our luggage up there was a challenge. Just BE CAREFUL! The room is tiny with a sink separate from the tiny shower and toilet. Also, there were little fruit flies darting around -- harmless -- but noticeable. The windows could be opened to let in a really nice breeze. The location was PERFECT, a view of the cathedral, a patio on the church lawn, restaurants and pubs all around. The breakfast was SUPER!
3 out of 5
by Rebecca Hood

Posted Feb 17, 2013 on Hotels
Very friendly, helpful staff. Lovely old building in the shadow of the cathedral. Room was clean with a gorgeous four poster bed, but not really suitable for anyone over 5' 7"
4 out of 5
by mick cox

right in middle of city

Posted Dec 21, 2012 on Hotels
Really comfortable in quirky hotel.Excellent 4 poster bed and great breakfast.Well priced with hotels.com
4 out of 5
by Baz

Great location and very freindly and helpful staff

Posted Oct 2, 2012 on Hotels
A typical olde English building with no straight walls (or floors), the hotel plays on this with it's decor; quaint and creaky it is. The 4 poster bed filled the room and it had good wifi but the TV was a bit poor. But, why watch TV when you are in the heart of this village sized city. Cathedral and Bishops palace views and a 2 minute walk away. Shops and pubs and restaurants and the high-street also 2 minutes away. This is beginning to sound like an advert. The hotel staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful; even for an early morning breakfast. Only criticism being the need for some maintenance in the shower area which was showing signs of a need for a revamp.
4 out of 5
by i g wakefield

despite the rain

Posted May 21, 2012 on Hotels
despite the rain we had a very memoraable and comfortable stay in Wells thanks to the hospitality shown us. many thanks.