Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Royston, Herts, UK.

Tired yet pleasant

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: It's location and setting
Cons: Staff training.
Location: 3 mile walk from pub around north east side of village which takes 1.5 hours.
The George is set in an idilic village setting, yet is tired and needs investment in painting and in staff training. The walls of the extension are thin & you hear everything, yes everything. However the bed in rom no. 6 was very comfortable over our two nights. The power shower was good unless you wanted hot water! Very pleasant staff who need direction and coaching would have made my review higher, yet the food was excellent quality and well presented. I was charged for items I had not ordered yet these were removed immediately without challenge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Very nice place to stay.

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Pros: Very modern and welcoming.
Cons: Yes when we were waiting to be picked up a chap who I believe was the owner was doing some admin in the bar and he completely ignored us!
Location: Beautiful little village.
Enjoyed our stay and staff were very friendly but spoilt by someone who should have spent a couple of minutes with us whilst waiting for our lift to find out if we enjoyed our stay but choose to completely ignore us whilst doing admin in the bar! It would have been a great opportunity for him to get some feedback from a customer and I believe he was one of the owners so a bit disappointed by his lack of engagement. Otherwise a lovely night away for our anniversary.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and comfortable stop-over

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
Overnight stop. Very comfortable room with good size bathroom with bath. Evening meal had plenty of choice. We ate from Special Offer with glass of wine and it was very good value. Picturesque village but very accessible from main road, ideal break for a journey, with interesting places to visit within the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bognor Regis

Lovely hotel with great staff, food and a cosy bar

Posted Oct 15, 2015
The staff make this hotel. Nunney is a beautiful little village and a great base to visit surrounding towns and cities such as Frome, Wells and Bath.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Happy customer

Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
Really lovely village inn with good food, varied menu and lovely staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for Longleat

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Overnight stay for visiting Longleat. Nicely renovated and good breakfast included
3 out of 5
by christopher from Poole

Disappointed

Posted Sep 7, 2015 on Hotels
Quiet attic room but dated spot light falling from ceiling, plenty of hot water, nice towels, great village.Restaurant ok apart from businessman f'ing and blinding the whole time we were there,good breakfast.Shows how a good web site can draw you in.
4 out of 5
by LISA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 20, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bucks

Room 12

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Breakfast was good as was the service in nice surroundings
Cons: The room and bathroom
Location: Location is quiet and ideal for exploring surrounding area
Room far too small for two adults like being in a cupboard under the stairs. No wardrobe and two sets of drawers seem to have been bought from a flea market. Bathroom needs refurbishment like something out of the 60's. Avocado suite awful with a toilet leaking onto floor, roof damp as rain seeps in and cracked wash basin. Paint pealing so really need updating. Would not think it is up to standard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Epsom, Surrey.

Sleepy village stay

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Staff were excellent.
Cons: Some of the finishes in the bathroom were a little tired.
Location: We were visiting Frome and this hotel is perfectly placed for exploring Somerset and beyond.
Our stay in this lovely little hotel was made all the better by an inexpensive upgrade to a suite. The staff were very attentive and welcoming. The pub is very comfortable and relaxing.nwe would highly recommend this gem at Nunney.