Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Sort break to catch up with friends.

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: Very central for Yeovil and handy for Sherborne.
Décor rather dull [mushroom and beige, with heavy brown furniture] and worn entrance mat not a good first impression. The bathroom floor had been imperfectly cleaned for a long time and the robe hook was missing. The requested extension lead was promptly produced, but was broken! The tub chairs in the Lounge Bar are extremely uncomfortable. However, all the Staff were efficient, pleasant and welcoming and the food of a high standard. Good Wine List. Location and parking ideal.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too many stairs

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: Food was good. Breakfast was excellent. Room was comfortable.
Cons: Lack of parking. Way too many steps to get to room. Nothing on main floor
4 out of 5
by Lee from Berkhamsted

Dissapointing eggs

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
Business Stay. Ideal location. The only thing that let the hotel down was breakfast.
3 out of 5
by Peter from London

Disappointing experience

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is ideally located for Yeovil town centre. Unfortunately the hotel is very dated, peeling wallpaper, damp patches etc. The room had not been thoroughly cleaned, heavy dust and even toe nails on the carpet. Bathroom not cleaned after the first day, failed to do so even after asking at reception. No WiFi available in any area. Told to wait for an hour before any evening meals were available. Ordered newspaper for following morning but not delivered. This was one of my worst hotel experiences in England. Nice breakfast though and friendly waiting staff.
5 out of 5
by Tim from New Forest


Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
Booked late evening and arrived thirty minutes later to find my single room had been upgraded at no extra cost to a a large double. Excellent welcome from Amy on reception who explained everything. Room was short walk, big, with a comfy bed. Nice selection of tea, coffee and hot chocolate. Ate in the bar; starter was very disappointing - muffin with buttom mushrooms and what looked like gravy but was meant to be a stilton sauce. Main corse was excellent; salmon with sweet potato, salad and nice dressing. Had a real ale, which was nice. Slept really well - rare for me in hotels - and breakfast was nice. The scrambled egg was a bit solid/ rubbery but the salmon was nice. All the staff at the hotel were excellent, a credit to themselves and the hotel. Would definitely stay again and would recommend you give it a try.
2 out of 5
by Colin from Welwyn Garden City

Disappointed - compared to previous visits.

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
I think hotel service perfromance would benefit from a full review. No space in room to use WIFI for business or watch TV other than in bed. Asked to check in early to watch Euro football but astonished to find TV in bedroom had BBC only (not even ITV channels). Asked again at reception - no action taken so had to go out for meals and TV- Makes no business sense for hotel. Hotel.com booking email showed excluded breakfast (could pay extra) only when checked out found "breakfast included" on Bill having by then paid to eat elsewhere. I know this hotel well and that there are several different types of room.Maybe Hotel.com gets the short straw? Over ten years have historically booked up to 6 rooms pa- usually for USA visitors to local aero site. However will now not use again.Its manageable but I don't want the grief.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
It was a good value for money stay, somewhere we could relax and catch up
5 out of 5
by Paul from Bournemouth

Posted Mar 20, 2016 on Hotels
Great value and Made to feel very Welcome Would stay again
3 out of 5
by Frank from Tananger

Good location, but....

Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is old and cosy, typically British. It could however benefit from a renovation. The worst thing with the hotel is the very poor water pressure in the shower. The staff is very friendly and is a pluss. The hotel is also located very central in Yeovil and that is why I have selected this hotel again for my next stay in Yeovil
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2016 on Hotels
A reasonable hotel - very warm welcome and quiet room. Took a little while to warm the room up when we got in. Some parts a little dated and room could have been bigger. The staff were welcoming and friendly and breakfast was really good. Not quite sure if it felt 4 star but definitely a positive experience.