Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room too hot made it uncomfortable

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Friendly staff and excellent customer service just one fault I had to open the window to cool the room to sleep.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unclean

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Not pleasant, while place was more interested in setting up for an exams function, room looked like it had been cleaned with wet dirty cloth, I could have written in the mirror and on the glass dresser surface. Wouldn't recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Sort break to catch up with friends.

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: Very central for Yeovil and handy for Sherborne.
Décor rather dull [mushroom and beige, with heavy brown furniture] and worn entrance mat not a good first impression. The bathroom floor had been imperfectly cleaned for a long time and the robe hook was missing. The requested extension lead was promptly produced, but was broken! The tub chairs in the Lounge Bar are extremely uncomfortable. However, all the Staff were efficient, pleasant and welcoming and the food of a high standard. Good Wine List. Location and parking ideal.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too many stairs

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: Food was good. Breakfast was excellent. Room was comfortable.
Cons: Lack of parking. Way too many steps to get to room. Nothing on main floor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel and in the town centre

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: Hotel staff were knowledgeable and very friendly, very helpful with that going the extra mile bonus
Location: The hotel is in the town centre, so plenty of restarunts to choose from. Hotel is tight next door to a supermarket.
The food was very good all at reasonable affordable price. The hotel is in the town centre, so plenty of restarunts to choose from
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hamburg

Good location in centre

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Friendly staff. A warm welcome on arrival. Comfortable bed and a warm clean room. The room decor is a little tired in need of a refresh (Window frames and sill in particular) need some love and care. Drawer and cupboard door knobs missings, window handles broken and pictures incorrectly hung. Breakfast was also good with a good choice. Overall a good place to stay but with a little more care could be very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice pleasing hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2015
Pros: Nice clean rooms, near tyhe town centre
Very nice pleasing hotel, pleasing and helpful staff. Food is very good and breakfast is very good
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

not twice

Posted Nov 21, 2015
Pros: As a professional traveler, I can't put my finger on one thing.
Cons: Most everything, especially the Net blocking. That access is vital to me, so that stops my return all by itself.
Location: There is a big grocery store near by and that helps, but that often is the case.
The facility is a big old house. That being said and expected in the UK, there was no AC, and their Net has blocking devices installed. I couldn't use my international VPN for sensitive information and for my US net subscriptions. The televisions offerings are horrendous. Let's just say it's not a user friendly place. If you're out for "quaint", you're in the right spot. If you work all day and want a peaceful haven that is user friendly, as I need, please do not waste your time. You'll only join the "unhappy club". No fridge or microwave
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good town centre location

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Pros: Convenient to town centre. Free parking. Cooked Breakfast included.
Cons: Rooms need updating and made brighter.
Only visited this hotel because of a function we were attending in the main building. Our room was a little dated and poorly lit. Plus creaky floorboards from the room above and noise from our neighbours through the interconnecting doors.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not recommended

Posted Oct 24, 2015
More expensive than average lodging but facility condition and comfort well below average. Too warm throughout making it uncomfortable for dining or drinks with friends. We sat outside but with it being late October that is not very pleasant either. Food at lunch good, supper not very good and free breakfast was very poor even if it was free. Only positive was location as we could walk to the Octagon Theater....will not stay there again even if we are going to the Octagon.