Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old facility - clean but worn - needs updating -

Posted May 20, 2017
Small and cramped - basic accommodations - however the location and view are amazing - the hotel is located on a lush garden like lane at the top of the cliff over looking the sea and Lynmouth. A steep paved walk takes you down the cliff and you have a choice of walking back up or taking the tram - restaurants are limited in choice -
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Stunning location

Posted Apr 15, 2017
This hotel is perfectly located for exploring Lynton and Lynmouth, leaving the car in the car park the whole time. We walked round both towns, making use of the fernicular railway and coast path along the cliff edge. Great restaurants and some shops nearby. The hotel is historically interesting, but not modern, so looks a little dated, but this did not detract from our stay. Full English breakfast was excellent. The exterior will look better later, when renovation is complex, but this also didn't cause distribution.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous views and location

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Family room which had double bed and singles but in separate rooms. Great views of lynmouth and hills and the sea. Lovely old building and shame about the scaffolding. Location is great for valley of the rocks walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

A Lovely location

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Everything, good food, clean, tidy, friendly.
Location: Great walks, nice little harbour, the cliff railway
When we arrived it was dark so we had no idea where we were, the lady in reception was very friendly and gave us a choice of two rooms, the rooms were clean and tidy, unfortunately the hotel only does breakfast but the lady pointed us in the right direction for food. It was a lovey quite night and when we got up and looked out the window....omg...what a view, we were right by the sea on the edge of a cliff. The breakfast was great, cooked to perfection. we then started to explore. The place is great, there are lots of brilliant walks with unbelievable views. Would dependently go back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Stay no so good, great location cannot beat the views, but the hotel is furnished old and needs refreshing, windows in room 7 kept banging all night due to not closing completely, loud noises in room when water is running, very loud continuously for 45 seconds all night, no sleep. Breakfast very limited. Felt like they were saving on this. Rooms needed updating considerably. Shame lovely situated hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel (b&b) is literally next to cliff railway. Great views across bay. Only one night on this ocassion, but would use again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Gloucestershire

A fantastic stay in a beautiful place

Posted Sep 26, 2016
We arrived at the hotel and we were greeted by the friendly staff, the room was a spacious family room and just what we were after. The View from our room was incredible, an absolute joy and I would imagine it to be difficult to beat. The breakfast was lovely and the staff again friendly. Our overall experience of the hotel and area was wonderful, Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, UK

Great location with magnificent views.

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: The views, friendliness and breakfast!
Cons: Due to the Cliff location, the hotel might be difficult for those with mobility problems.
Very friendly welcome and delightful view from slightly older style but homely room. The car park is not overly large but we had no problem parking and that was during the August Bank holiday. Efficiently laid out self service honesty bar was a nice touch and breakfast was lovely. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will come again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view but past its sell-by date

Posted Aug 28, 2016
No facilities. No help with five flights to room. Noisy because of cable car.
5 out of 5
by David from trowbridge

lovely in lynton

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
lovely hotel with a good breakfast and fantastic views