Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Anita

Nice guesthouse and location, but not co operative

Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
We booked accommodation for one of our company guests here, because this guesthouse is ideally situated on the way to our new office. In future I would have booked here quite often, because of their location, but unfortunately they are not flexible at all regarding date changes, I feel they were quite rude when we had to cancel one of the nights, and because of this we will no longer use this guesthouse in future for all of our guests.
4 out of 5
by Gavin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Alan

Thank you for hospitality and 1 night availability

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
Wanted an overnight stay near a winery that was featuring a special paired dinner. (Did not want to drive too far). The Southern Cross was only a couple of miles away and was exactly what we wanted. We even arrived early so we could use their pool (cool) and shower before the dinner. Everything was great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice looking property but the gate was locked

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: I did not stay there?
Cons: public relations
Location: on a hillside in South Africa, watch the birds?
gate was locked and no one answered the intercom. called the phone number of the guest house many times and no one responded. in conversation the next day with the proprietor, who was a little terse, stated should have called the mobile number, wat? anyway did not stay at this property, do not know what it was, nor care, who the heck locks the gate at 6pm and does not have security on the property in the evening?
5 out of 5
by Sonia from Singapore

Excellent accommodation

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
We had a great stay at southern cross! Claudia & Marc were so friendly and welcoming upon our arrival and provided us with good information of where to visit and have our meals. The room decoration was so lovely and we could had see the ocean from our level 2 room. Its such a great place to hang out and spend a couple of days. There is no need to travel out with its alluring pool and chill out area. Strongly recommend anyone to stay there!
5 out of 5
by Jacqueline from Dubai

Excellent breakfast and comfortable rooms

Posted Apr 19, 2015 on Hotels
Comfortable beds and excellent breakfast. Suggest taking a pair of slippers as the floors are not carpeted and can be cold in winter. Be aware that this guest house CLOSES AT 6PM so even if you have a booking confirmation for the evening and arrive after 6 pm you may not be accommodated
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very Pleasant

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Hosts, Room, breakfast, service were all good. The decor and standard of cleanliness was very high
Cons: Transport obtions to Cape Town and surrounding area. List of recommended taxis?
Location: Tai restaurant, Spar supermarket and shops. The area is very quiet and peaceful. It has a swimming pool and sun lounge and very beautiful gardens
My stay was only for one night, so I was not able to enjoy all of the facilities, however, my room, breakfast and the service was very good. The hosts were also very nice and helpful. They promptly returned to me some valuable items I had forgotten in the safe. My only reason for giving 4 stars is the fact that there is no easy access to Cape Town except by hired or private car. Even though it's about 20-30 mins drive from Cape Town, I couldn't get a taxi and since I did not drive I had to wait around to be collected.
2 out of 5
by roy from langebaan

Break

Posted Feb 1, 2015 on Hotels
When we arrived we were told we were in the budget room queen bed was two singles pushed together 22" tv was 12" the room looked like converted garage other rooms may have been 5 star our room did not come up to one star curtains only just meet shower drain was blocked no shampoo the host were very friendly tv was poor only German news no sky or bbc I hope the owners will take note it looked a very nice place to stay but this room was not up to standard
5 out of 5
by Lesley from san francisco

Africa Room - Southern Cross Guest House

Posted Jan 9, 2015 on Hotels
We had the Africa room at the Southern Guest house - it was big and had 2 bathrooms! There is a great patio & pool area as well as nice seating areas on the property. The hosts are friendly and helpful!
4 out of 5
by Oubina from schengen

Feling home

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
Great Hospitality! Super friedly staff