Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel shame about the restaurant.

Posted Nov 1, 2016
The Hotel is well placed for touring the Somme area and on the outskirts of Albert. Clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful particularly the Receptionist. However, our stay was not as we had hoped and expected because the restaurant was not open despite the website suggesting it should have been on both nights of our stay. We therefore had to travel in to Albert on one night and tried the Hotels "Snack Jars" on the other - OK but expensive for what they are.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Friendly and clean

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Easy going and straightforward, no hassle. Friendly owners and staff.
Cons: Not much atmosphere - but this may have been due to the time of year.
Location: Half a mile to the town centre and not much around the hotel itself. Plenty of parking though!
Owners and staff are friendly, English is spoken. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Continental buffet style breakfast was good. On cold days a hot option might be missed. We visited out of season and I imagine this was why the dinner offering was very basic, with nothing served on Sunday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Friendly Hotel on The Somme

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Helpful and friendly staff, large car park, easy to find, comfortable room, good continental breakfast
Cons: Restaurant open for dinner at weekend
Location: On the outskirts of Albert, you need to drive in to find bars and restaurants.
We stayed at The Hotel Royal Picardie for 3 nights while on a tour of The Somme battlefields. We received a friendly welcome on arrival from the helpful staff. The continental breakfast was good, our room comfortable and the hotel was an enjoyable and relaxing place to stay. Having said that, there is a noisy depot nearby that can be heard if your room is at the back of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Very Good

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Hotel owners were amazing. I will be back next year.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Adjacent to Somme battlefields

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Very pleasant and friendly staff. Comfortable hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Hotels
A bit strange the restaurant not open on the weekend for dinner
4 out of 5
by Graham from Sydney

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
Very good support from the hotel in ensuring I hit the most from my visit to the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

3 star hotel but 5 star breakfast

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Breakfast!
Cons: Nothing - it's a decent 3 star hotel
Location: In the heart of the Somme area so ideal for historical visits
We stayed here for one night because it was convenient for visiting the WW1 cemeteries. We had no great expectations beyond a clean room, comfortable bed and quiet night with a cup of coffee and perhaps a croissant in the morning. Our room, though not large, was indeed clean, comfortable, quiet and nicely decorated. Staff were very helpful. (Note: the hotel restaurant isn't open at weekends). In the morning, we were surprised to see a lovely buffet breakfast - great choice and quality. As good as the 5 star hotel we'd stayed in the previous night - and half the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guelph, ON

Worth the walk!

Posted Jun 27, 2016
The hotel is a little out of the downtown but it is only a kilometer and a half and the walk is really doable. There is lots of parking, very nice and helpful staff. We had dinner one night at the hotel and is was excellent! The rooms were clean and comfortable. Great value!
4 out of 5
by Teresa from Gloucester

Nice hotel, but no restaurant at weekends

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed our stay, but no restaurant at weekends so we had to go into town to eat. I booked a hotel imagining hotel amenities, but was disappointed I could have just booked a B & B. When the restaurant did open on our final night, the food was very good.