Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by slow90 from London

Good Hotel but not Centrally Located

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel itself it good, it has nice grounds and the pool is really nice. The bedroom was a lot smaller than expected and along with the bathroom was very basic. It came with an overly large balcony, and I don't see why the balcony was so big and the room so small! It is very quiet at night at both the hotel and surrounding area and I would 100% recommend you hire a car if you want to stay at this hotel otherwise you will be very limited to what you can do as there is nothing in the surrounding area. Parking was a bit of a problem as well as it had an extremely small car park so most people had to park on the adjacent road. The breakfast was ok, it consisted of eggs, sausages bacon, pancakes, churros, and the usual cereals, fruits and pastries. We ate dinner there once and it consisted of a buffet for around €16, again this was okay but we didn't want to do this more than once as the quality wasn't amazing. Overall, I would probably not stay at this hotel again, not because I was displeased with the room or pool (the pool was very nice), but because the location was so out the way, and if we didn't have a car we'd have been truly stuck! However if you're a family on an organised excursion you may think differently. I would recommend Port d' Palenca as this was a very nice area we visited and a lot more busy and centrally located!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location of the hotel in Alcudia

Posted Oct 1, 2014
I was looking for a hotel in Alcudia, close to the port and I chose this as it was advertised (and on the map) as being c2miles away. In reality the hotel was 10kms (Euro 20 in taxi) away and very inconvenient for the sporting event that I was due to do in Alcudia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

good hotel for families not for couples

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: food
Cons: matrasses were not comfortable
the food choice at the hotel was very good and staff were helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LONDON

An excellent Hotel..

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Difficult to fault this hotel. The Hotel itself offers very comfortable, clean accommodation in very pleasant surroundings in a convenient position to both the local town, and beach. The pool complex is more than ample, and both the daytime and evening entertainment for families with or without children is also excellent. The Staff at the hotel were also eager to please, friendly and an attribute to the Hotel. We opted for the all inclusive option, which I again would highly recommend. The standard of food was very good, well varied, and offered options for all tastes. All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel, and would definitely look to stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Lari from N ireland

Brilliant

Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels
Great hotel only fault is the evening entertainment it only lasts an hour and come 10.30pm there is nothing on also the hotel is too far out of alcudia 18euro in a taxi it's near can picafort tho
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great family holiday

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Stayed at vell mari end of aug 2013 and really enjoyed our stay. Food was amazing. All inclusive drinks included top brand names like Smirnoff, absolute which was great. Staff very friendly and grounds very well maintained. Kids lived the pool and free ice cream. We found the food a good variety and I had a lovely massage in the spa. Hired family bike (fits 5) and went down to the beach ( hard work on any hill) great fun. You can walk to the beach along a pleasant residential road. Takes about 10-15 minutes. We did it with a 1 and 6 year old with no problems. Didn't see a shuttle bus from the hotel to the beach but there is a train u can get. Overall great hotel. Would have liked a bit more information on facilities. We had an early transfer when leaving and left quite hungry by the time we got to airport and spoke to some other people from the hotel and they said u can help yourself to breakfast anytime and tea and coffee 24hrs. Too late now! Would recommend this hotel to a friend. Staff fantastic. Cleaner was brilliant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

2 week AI family holiday

Posted Aug 30, 2013
Pros: the waiters and bar staff were a credit to the hotel
Cons: snack bar with burgers, hot dogs etc in the pool area
Location: fair walk to the beach and long walk to marina and main resort area
Lovely and relaxing holiday for the family. The pool was large and not too crowded. All the staff worked so hard and were so friendly. I celebrated my birthday whilst I was there and they couldn't do enough for me, I even got a cake and champagne at our special table in the evening. Entertainment staff were wonderful with all kids of all nationalities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel only 10 minute walk from the beach.

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: It was clean, safe, well maintained and the staff were some of the nicest we've ever come across.
Cons: A few more sunbeds would be good as they were always covered in towels from very early in the mornings.
Location: A few local shops and a beach close by but generally a quiet area.
We had a fantastic holiday. The hotel/apartment was lovely, the staff were very happy and friendly and it had everything we needed for a great family holiday. Although some reviews complained about the room size, we found it plenty big enough for four people although be prepared for a very firm mattress! There was more than enough food and lots of choice every day. The bar was well stocked and the all inclusive package included all drinks, not just house beer and wine. The staff provided entertainment for both adults and children everyday which was fun and there was a very safe and friendly atmosphere. I would definitely recommend this hotel for families of all ages and we will be visiting Iberostar again in the future.
3 out of 5
by Diane from Halifax

Don't go if you don't have/like toddlers/babies!!

Posted Aug 9, 2013
Cons: Pool area
We went to Vell Mari on 27th July for 1 week with 13 and 14 year old sons. The hotel has obviously expanded it's accomodation blocks but the facilities can't accomodate the extra people. There was nothing for two teenage boys to do at all. On the first day they took a soft rugby ball into the pool to throw about to each other only to be told it wasn't allowed as it was too dangerous. (The pool police (lifeguard) was a bit power mad and took pleasure in bullying children that she thought were there without their parents.) This is because the hotel was full to overflowing with toddlers and babies! They were everywhere. There weren't enough sunbeds around the pool. You had to be up at 6am to have any chance of getting one and many were already taken by then. Also, there weren't enough seats to watch the evening entertainment either and people were dragging sunbeds from around the pool to sit on to watch the entertainment. Food in the restaurant was "OK". There was plenty of it but it was a bit repetative and lukewarm. The restaurant closed at 9.30pm sharp and we were told we must leave. Nowhere to move to as all seats and sunbeds were already taken by that time!! Sadly, won't be going back, which is shame as the basic hotel etc was OK just expanded too much for the facilities available.
4 out of 5
by john from waterford, ireland

Good resort but location a little poor

Posted Jul 11, 2013 on Hotels
Travelled for a weeks break and booked the hotel 2 days before leaving. The resort itself is very nice and spotlessly clean. The gardens are well manicured and the pool area adequate. The apartments are nicely done probably 3* plus, bathrooms decent, beds were poor. kitchenette sufficient but no equipment supplied such as kettle, pan, etc. deposit required for everything which is pointless, do people really want to take kettles home? Wi-Fi is a disaster, you have to pay and then can only use one device at a time and was very frustrating with a family of 4. if you do not have a sunbed secured by 7.30am you are in for a shock but the lifeguard was moving towels of those beds not being used. Food was average, not 4*. All in all a decent resort, very clean and would use again.