Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Comfy, cozy room. Table laid out w/linens & pottery from travels, piping hot kettle, tea, fresh apple turnovers, berry preserves, Lucille's company.
Cons: Loved it all! Even the old fashioned bathroom. Everything was amazing!
Location: See above. I was in the area attending the National Heirloom Expo at Sonoma County Fairgrounds and visiting some nearby farms.
I had two criteria for this second annual trip to Sonoma: Stay anywhere except a hotel and visit some small organic farms that don’t offer public farm tours. Even when I’m considered a tourist, I hate being around tourists. I found a hundred-year-old farmhouse bed and breakfast off the beaten wine tasting path, and just far enough away from the Sonoma Plaza, but close enough to Wholefoods to get my special morning cereal and alternative milk. I pulled up to the Hollyhock Country House just after sunset and realized I had chosen the perfect place to hang my hat for a couple of nights. The lit wooden plank porch was absolutely charming, especially with an inviting ginger cat perched on the top step purring for a pet. Although I couldn’t see too much, I noticed the colorfully painted quilt patterned doors on the detached garage and sheds, giving the place just enough funkiness to make me feel at home. When I entered through the wood framed screen door, onto the creaky original hardwood floor, I could here the soft sound of a television show down the hallway, and smell the fresh, sweet aroma of baked bread. I echoed “hello” through the short corridor and a bright-eyed hostess emerged with a welcoming smile. Accustomed to the weary traveler showing up at dark, she intuitively showed me my room, the bathroom, the wifi code, and then asked me my plans for the morning. One thing about the genteel homeowner and innkeeper, Lucille, she'll prepare scrumptious homemade morning treats!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jamestown

Nice room near Sonoma.

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: The breakfast.
The hostess (Lucille) is terrific. The farmhouse is old, but the place is impeccably clean with beautiful antiques. And breakfasts were wonderful with plenty of interesting conversation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Lucille's house was a wonderful place to stay, she is a lovely host. Great location for the wedding we went to at Cornerstone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from walnut creek cal

wonderful Bohemiun style retreat

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The owner and the Free style.
Cons: If possible add a shower head above the tub.
Location: Sonoma Ca. wine country:the Plaza square: hiking trails, olive oil,cheese,wine and beer tastings, fabulous restaurants, gardens, wineries, museum
So much fun! The owner is delightful-a professional baker ( she made pastries to "dye for", a professional artist and a world wide traveler. Room furnishings are antique collections from Germany. This is a non traditional environment-unique, fun, perhaps "funky" not a the traditional cookie cutter room. Turning onto a graveled dirt short road, passing mosaic tiled clay pots, you will see a large colorful abstract design painted on the garage front and a parking sign..this is definitely an artist abode. The charming owner has a welcoming smile and many adventures to share. My husband and I had a wonderful time and hope too return soon .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Bed and Breakfast

Posted Nov 7, 2016
The host is wonderful. The home is comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

quaint, comfortable and clean.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: close to our wedding location in Sonoma.. Peaceful and quiet.
Cons: It's well suited for what it offers. It's a quaint, original farm house. We liked the originality and warm atmosphere.
Location: Sonoma square is only a short drive away.
Nice, friendly accommodations. Very pleasant owner/proprietor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet, rustic home

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Very quiet place 5 minutes by car to town of Sonoma. Lucille is friendly & artistic & provides yummy homemade bread & strudel for breakfast. The room & bed are small, the bed is a bit "tired" & there is no shower; just a bathtub. Overall it's a sweet place to stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Funky old farmhouse, congenial host, very quiet location. No Wine Country luxury here, just a good bed and nice homemade pastries. Good price for summer in Sonoma.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not a hotel but a cute Bed and Breakfast

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
dont be mistaken, this is not a hotel. It is a home welcoming guests. That being said, we felt very welcome and Lucille was a great host. the bathroom may need a little updating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

This is a B&B not a hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: It is not a hotel
Cons: Make clear when booking through Expedia what the premises are (hotel, motel or B & B)
Location: Sonoma itself is a nice town, particularly the Plaza area.
Despite Expedia saying "hotel" twice in their booking confirmation, when I eventually located what I thought was a country house hotel it turned out to be a very basic B & B. I was extremely disappointed particularly as I was booked for 2 nights. Expedia must make it clear whether the premises are a hotel or a B & B. This is the second time that Expedia have done this to me.