Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us in regards to your recent stay at Dawn Ranch. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Best regards, Adrian Vasquez Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful Historic Lodge

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Location: You can walk to the entire downtown with restaurants, bars and interesting little stores. The river is accessible at the back of the property.
We always love staying at Dawn Ranch. It is not only beautiful and comfortable, but feels like a visit back in time. Ask Michael to tell you a little about its history and appreciate it even more! A must stay in Guerneville!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by Adrian Vasquez Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I am glad that we are continuing to make your stays memorable. I hope we see you sooner rather than later. Michael is always around to chat with our guests which is such a treat. Thank you again and have a great day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

neat retreat

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Staying here made us feel like this is how people would have vacationed back in the good ol' days.
Cons: Even just one tiny, like 20" tv with a few channels in each cabin would be great.
It's a no frills type of place, but with plenty of charm. When I say no frills, I mean no tv, limited wifi, no hair dryer, small bathroom/ shower, no radio, no microwave, no mini fridge...very basic room. I knew most of this stuff was absent when I booked, but just trying to give everybody fair warning. The charm comes from the little cabin, which was clean and in good shape, and the surrounding trees. We didn't try the pool since it was too cool out, but it looked nice. The town was a very short walk and there's plenty to keep you busy for a day if you're on foot. There was also a grocery store very close by with a Starbucks inside. Housecleaning did a good job every day. Overall, it was a very quiet and relaxing place to stay. We plan on staying here again the next time we find ourselves in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2017 by Adrian Vasquez Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Troy thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review. I realize sometimes during the down time in the cabin a TV would be a very nice addition but unfortunately at this time we are unable to update the many items needed to include these. We do however offer two TV's in the Agriculture Bar which are usually on. Thank you again for taking the time to leave us some feedback and we look forward to seeing yo in the near future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
I was expecting a little more for the price. Very rustic!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. We welcome positive and the not so positive feedback as they both allow us to grow as a team and offer a memorable experience. We do realize we are more of a rustic place and try to embrace and promote that. Hopefully we will see you back in the future and maybe you can stay and experience one of our Chalets which have gas fireplaces and are a little more on the non rustic side. Once again thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. Adrian Vasquez Hotel Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Room was clean, but stark. Small room with 4 bare white walls. Bed and linens uncomfortable. Poor mattress. Sheets scratchy. Staff was very gracious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank yo for your review and taking the time to do so. We welcome both the positive and the not so positive review as they both help us grow. I would like to apologize that we were unable to offer you the experience that you deserve. We are in in the process this winter season of replacing some of our linens and bedding. As for the pool issue we will continue to try and improve as we have many trees around the pool and our property which makes it a very difficult thing to stay on top of. Hopefully you will give us another shot to show you we can offer a memorable experience like we do more so then not. Thank you again for taking the time to review us and we look forward to hosting you in the future. Adrian Vasquez Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having to back with us in the future. Best regards, Adrian Vasquez Hotel Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from huhnke

Rental

Posted Sep 24, 2016
For the price you pay for the room there should at the very least have a refrigerator and coffee pot. Just the minimum. The pool was full of the tree dropping and the pool area was not clean. Staff was friendly main area was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay

Posted Aug 14, 2016
This was a very cute, unique place to stay. Was caught off guard by how small the room was, but it was nice overall. The only downfall was that there's no AC,but it does cool down at night and we are out playing during the day so it didn't matter too much. The staff was very friendly and helpful too. We'll probably stay again the next time we're up that way.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 29, 2017 by adrian@dawnranch.com, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review and for staying with us. We can't wait to have you stay again, hopefully it won't be during a heat spell. We get a few of them a year but usually our cabins stay fairly cool with the tree cover and cool ocean breeze. Thank you again and looking forward to your return visit. Adrian Vasquez Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
by Jonathan R.

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 13, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 13, 2016 on Hotels