Ratings based on 257 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Fairmont was excellent in every way. The staff was friendly and helpful. The amenities were top notch. The rooms were quaint and comfortable. I especially recommend the complimentary hike. Heidi was our hike leader and she was phenomenal. She was friendly, knowledgeable, and went above and beyond to ensure that my girlfriend and I had a great experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Paid too much to get so little

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Comfy bed. They do a have a shuttle into town which is a nice feature.
Cons: Nicer rooms, more amenities included in room rate.
Location: Location is just OK -- it's a trek from the Sonoma Square.
I found the "Deluxe Queen" room very underwhelming for the $450/night that I paid (with the nonrefundable rate thru Expedia). Check-in is late -- 4PM - so I called the hotel to inquire about the possibility of checking in an hour or two earlier. They said we could check in early for a $100 fee!? We went to use the spa facilities, and we were asked to pay $39/person (on top of a $25/day resort fee) just to use basically use hot tubs, steam room and showers etc. These kinds of amenities should be free for guests at a luxury resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our resort, I regret that you do not feel you received the excellent value we aim to provide our guests. Your feedback is appreciated and we hope to have an opportunity to better serve you in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: Na
Cons: Na
Location: Na
A lovely break from reality. Expedia making too much 'required' in reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Great birthday retreat Felt like we were in a far away land Relaxing stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay, we are delighted to be your location for a relaxing birthday retreat! I hope we can take you far, far away again in the near future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Great hotel with nice facilities. Little pricey especially the spa treatments.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2017 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking time to review your stay, I am so glad you enjoyed the resort. We look forward to welcoming you again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Historic facilities

Posted Jan 2, 2017
The facilities were really nice. They had a free wine tasting of a local winery that was nice. The rooms were clean and comfortable but were a bit surprised at how small the rooms were. When you open the door cou can literally have people in the hallway see your entire bed. While we had a nice stay, it was not a place I would stay again unless it was a great price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to post about your experience, I am so glad you had a nice stay. Your feedback is appreciated and I do hope we can welcome you back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, Ca

Everybody was very nice and helpful.

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: The staff and the grounds
First we were greeted by Eric at the front desk. He was so nice and helpful and fun. He sent a gift to our room because it was our anniversary and my wife's birthday. The bed was so comfortable and the bathroom was beautiful, great shower. The other shout out is for Heidi, she lead our morning hikes. She is truly a genuine nice person. She also works as concierge at the spa which was fabulous. We will be back. We will bring a group with us next time. It was a fantastic weekend there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Pros: Staff was very friendly. We enjoyed the quiet and pleasant setting. The hotel has an outstanding restaurant.
Cons: Unfortunately, the mattress was too soft, would be nice to have it changed.
Location: The Hotel is not in walking distance to town. One has to drive or take the hotel shuttle to the town center.
Very relaxing place for a weekend getaway! We enjoyed the spa very much because we needed this weekend to relax from our stressful move. Great place to take a yoga class or to treat yourself for a healing massage. The food at the hotel restaurant was exceptional!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us, we are delighted to be your getaway for relaxation. Your feedback regarding the mattress is appreciated, and I hope we can welcome you back again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2016
The most beautiful hotel in Sonoma , with a very nice accent on Spanish Mexican old California style. Excellent service in the hotel and spa, very good and sophisticated restaurant ,the dining room style would make you think you are in New York.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area

Tooo loud and not relaxing

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Planned a stay for friends' bday and Sonoma wine tasting. Returned to our "upgraded" room after a long day. It was incredibly noisy as room was on third floor in a building separate from reception and over looking a street. We were offered another room at a higher price. Accommodating manager showed us to the other room late in evening and in another building. She apologized for the loud room, all the while citing other unhappy guests who had stayed in that same wing. We stayed in original room and wore ear plugs. Woke to blaring sunshine. Windows were missing several panels of curtains which were there to block out sun? Too bad! Our friends love this place. We were hugely disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2016 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review your stay. I am so sorry that you had a disappointing experience at our resort. We certainly aim to provide a wonderfully memorable experience and I sincerely regret that we did not succeed for you this visit. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and I hope we can welcome you again in the future to make your next stay better than your last.