Ratings based on 1,099 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from sacramento

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: close to resturant
Cons: nothing
Location: beaches and walks
great tides restaurant ,nice bodega head walk ,Sonoma beaches are great
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northern California

Great view and location

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Views are fantastic.
Cons: The rooms seriously need updating, particularly the bathrooms.
Location: The location is in the heart of Bodega Bay with many restaurants and shops in walking distance.
Great view and location are the top reasons for staying here. Otherwise be prepared for a tired and somewhat aging facility.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice view of the bay, lacked amenities.

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: The view and fireplace and very courteous housekeeper.
Cons: Have a working coffee machine, a microwave available, and the staff at the Tides restaurant need additional training in mindfulness.
Location: Fishing and clamming was fun. Lots of trails to hike with many views of the ocean and countryside.
The view of the bay from the large windows and fireplace are a plus, however the coffee machine did not work and they could not provide a microwave upon request. The free breakfast at the restaurant was okay but the service lacked other than the host. Getting our coffee refilled was like pulling teeth and when we were done, it was like we didn't exist anymore. For the money, one would expect more. We stayed a 3rd night at another hotel which had a more personal touch for half the price even though it did not include the meal and poor service. I generously tipped the bartender and host when getting up to find out if we could get another cup of coffee (at the restaurant) and still tipped the waitress even though we did not feel she deserved it.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calif

We were impressed with the room and view.

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Pros: We were impressed with the room. The view was beautiful. The hotel staff was very nice. But it only takes one person to ruin your stay.
Cons: I would replace the guy at the restaurant. I assume he is the manager. We will never go back there again.
Location: We enjoyed the shopping. The beach, bodega Bay head is the most beautiful in the world.
It only takes one to ruin the experience. The manager in the restaurant needs to learn how to treat people we were horrified at the way we were talked to...there are ways to talk to people and get your point across without humiliating them. I left their having an anxiety attack. I never want to return there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

OK hotel along scenic route; needs updating

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Nice pool location in the middle of the complex; however the pool was shallow. Beautiful meadows adjacent with cows grazing.
Cons: Prices of the restaurant/coffee shop.
Good location built on a hillside along the coastal highway with a view of Bodega Bay across the highway. Restaurant for lunch and dinner on site but on the expensive side. You can also eat at The Tides -also owned by same management- across the highway which offers breakfast, lunch, dinner, deli and gift shop. Food was average but coffee was outrageously priced at $6 for an espresso (that did not taste like the real thing). The rooms are comfortable with high angled ceilings but the state of repair is poor. Windows open to meadows or sea views but the screens and blinds need repair or replacement. Staff was few and far in between and were generally not in sight. In general, OK for an overnight stay for the long distance traveller but has a tired feel to it. Would not recommend a longer stay unless they overhaul their service offering to match the price levels (or reduce their prices).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Nice place. On the old side. Ice maxhines are right out side yoir door. Noisy at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Very beautiful secluded location in Bodega bay. The view of the water was awesome. The room was great and the pool spa area was very nice. The staff was great and the property was well taken care of. I can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place by the besch

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Had a very relaxing stay hot tub,fireplace,clean and good staff i felt a little overpriced but a pleasant experience would go back
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired Hotel

Posted Dec 21, 2015
The hotel is old and tired and needs an update. The heat had a horrible odor. The plumbing was noisy. The room was dirty. The view was very nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

One night away from town!

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Pros: Everything. Nice upgraded rooms. Finnish sauna, which actually works. We are native Finns. Nice pool and jacuzzi. An Italian Restaurant on the site.
Cons: After they upgraded the rooms everything is fine for the price we paid for one night.
Location: Wonderful coastline. Fresh air and Bodega village store has a wonderful Manhattan cloud chowder soup.
This is not the first time here.We come quite often for an one night stay. It's nice to get away from a buzzling San Francisco and Bodega Bay is not far from the city. A short drive away!