Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Escape from San Francisco

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: The lounges at the pool could be upgraded.
Location: We visited Armstrong Wood State Park, which should not be missed!!!
We grew up in San Francisco and I vacationed at the former Brookside Lodge, which was campy. A totally new experience awaited us. Nice grounds, nice rooms, welcoming heated pool and a very attentive staff headed by Kimberly. We went there on a lark and we will return. A very good restaurant, Chef Patrick's, was a short walk and we had a delightful dinner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Kimberly, Hotel Management
Thank you so much! We enjoyed having you. Please come again soon! Kimberly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City,UT

Natural Setting

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Pros: Being surrounded by the trees and vineyard,
Cons: The rooms need updating
Location: We drove to Bodega Bay which was wonderful scenic drive and also toured Korbel Winery.
The hotel is older has stairs you are surrounded by the redwood trees and there is a vineyard with a nice view. The staff didn't stay longer than 5 in the afternoon and didn't show up until 9:00 in the morning, so don't expect an early check out or any help if you need anything. The hotel is off the main street of Guerneville so you could walk to town for dinner or shopping. The town felt like you were back in the 1960's hippy town. When I booked the hotel I didn't realized how far Guerneville was from the Dry Creek winery area, but the drive everyday was scenic. We attended the Dry Creek Passport Wine Tasting for the weekend.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our lovely surroundings, CeCe. Yes, there is one set of rooms that are in a building with stairs, but the majority of the rooms on our property are single level, if you get the opportunity to visit us again I would ask that you request one of those rooms at the time of booking. We have many different types of rooms here, we will go out of our way to see that you get the exact setting you need. We do have daytime operating hours for our lobby, we try to keep costs down so we can pass the savings on to you, but I assure you that we always have a very responsive manager accessible via the phone located on the wall next to the front doors. We go out of our way for it not to be an inconvenience, we don't require you to check out with the front desk when you depart, but if there is information you needed beforehand we would go out of our way to see that it is provided to you. Again, thank you for taking the time to review. Our guests' opinions are valuable to us!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Two small problems depending on when you stay

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was great but missing a few things that could put it over the top. 1st. There was no A/C. They rooms have a built in ceiling fan. Thankfully we went in April so the outside temp was cool. The room also has electric fans that you could setup for free. 2nd. The wifi was horrible, it was completely useless. The hotel is tucked away up in the woods so cell reception is also not that great there. The rooms were big, the room and beds were clean. The shower was huge. We appreciated the microwave and fridge in the room. The walls were a bit thin, we could hear our neighbors bathroom fan when it was turned on through out the night. Over all it was a great hotel! The staff was great. I would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2016 by Kimberly, Hotel Management
Thank you! We hope to see you again soon. West Sonoma Inn & Spa
5 out of 5
by yvette from San Pablo, California

Great & Spiritual Experience

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Staying at the Sonoma Inn was a great & spiritual experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Kimberly, Hotel Management
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope to see you again soon. West Sonoma Inn & Spa
4 out of 5
by Lisa from Oakland

Nice Getaway!

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
We were up for one night and the hotel was perfect for our needs. The rooms are spread around so no one's on top of you, which was nice. The pool looked awesome and felt warm! I didn't have time to swim or lounge by it though which I would've loved to do. Everything was super clean. Right in town so you can walk to dining, shops, etc. Right across the road from Safeway which was nice since there was a little fridge and microwave in the room. The room was roomy and had a nice fireplace. The only con was there was no A/C although we didn't really need it when we where there. I would for sure stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2016 by Kimberly, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We enjoyed having you! Please come again soon. Kimberly
5 out of 5
by john from Alameda

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
just one night on a quick trip to Russian River, The grounds were very pretty nice pool, I would stay again in a bigger room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2016 by Kimberly, Hotel Management
Thank you and please come again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Benicia, CA.

Got a nice place from a booking error

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: Spacious room with a sitting room and patio.
Cons: Add a Hot tub and heat the pool
Location: Easy walk to downtown Guerneville where there are several bars restaurants and shopping. Across from a Safeway if you need anything else.
This was booked due to a problem in another hotel. It turned out to be GREAT!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by kimberly, Hotel Management
Thank you! Come again soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose CA

Great location! Walkable town.

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Orbitz
Enjoyed short drives to the coast and the redwoods. Found great coffee house and excellent fresh pasta and a campy bar with music and dancing. Close to everything!
Comment from Hotel Management
by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review, Kim! I'm glad you loved our little town as much as we do!
5 out of 5
by Larry from Nevada

Pleasant Stay.

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
Sarah was very helpful and informative. Room was great, and the location is an easy walk to bars and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Kimberly, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the review. Come back and see us again soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
I would have liked a hot tub. But they only come for the one bedroom room. It would have been ideal had the hotel had a swimming pool plus hot tub.