Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Short walk to town

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Great location, nice spacious room, friendly staff
Cons: Can't think of anything - our stay was perfect
Location: Short walk to downtown Guerneville's shops and restaurants. Short drive to Armstrong Redwoods State Park. Russian River runs right next to town.
West Sonoma Inn has an excellent location, just a very short walk from downtown Guerneville. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful. The room we had was spacious and comfortable with a gas fireplace/heater, small refrigerator, microwave and flat screen TV. Very clean and well maintained. The staff were very friendly and helpful with recommendations. The Armstrong Redwoods State Park is just a short drive away where you can take easy walks through the gorgeous redwood forest. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice Sonoma County getaway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Leeann Roxx, Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review, Wendy! We are so glad you found your stay to be warm and welcoming and were able to take advantage of our convenient location to visit some of our local treasures. We hope you get a chance to visit us again soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from k

Great stay

Posted Oct 13, 2016
i had a great stay here for three nights. Quiet and peaceful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2016 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a wonderful review!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place to re-energize near the Russian River

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Although I look at reviews with criticalness, I feel that I was very fortunate to book a room there for a week just to relax and be within walking distance to all the possible restaurants and shops of Guerneville, and most of all find people to just to chat and feel incorporated, even for a short time, into the community.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2016 by WestSonomaInn, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice, quiet and relaxing Inn.

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Very nice, quiet, Clean and the views were so relaxing to the eye.
Cons: I will say to add air conditioning but at the night goes by, the air quality were so pleasant and gets cold.
Location: A lot to see, and everything is very close bye, beaches, state parks, the outdoor views and the wonders of God's creation.
Me and my wife were there mainly to getaway and to relax, and we achieved that goal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by stay@westsonomainn.com, Hotel Management
We appreciate your taking the time to provide us feedback for your recent visit. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate the comment regarding the air conditioning, even on most warm days once that offshore breeze starts to blow, with a couple of windows open for cross ventilation you will find out that it usually cools off quite quickly. We are so pleased you were able to relax and enjoy your time away. We look forward to seeing you the next time you get to visit the Russian River area!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Wi-Fi

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: close to most things
Cons: internet, upgrade the rooms
Location: We were there for the Blues and Jazz festival and this place was in walking distance to the event and dining.
When we checked -in and even in the Expedia ad one of the big things mentioned is free WiFi. It may be free but it is non-exsistant. We were told by the front desk that the signal was weak at are room and we may need to walk-down the street to the pool to access the internet. we could log on but it is still very weak and slow. For an area where there is little to no cell reception this is an important features
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2016 by West Sonoma Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment regarding your recent visit to our Inn. We have taken note of the issues you were having logging onto our internet, during peak times it can be weak for rooms that are further away from the router. We have forwarded your review to the owner in the hopes of having some upgrades done on the system soon. Thank you again for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We hope to see you again next year for the Jazz & Blues Festival.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Posted Sep 9, 2016
The sink drained very slowly, despite us leaving notes and $ tips for the maid 2 mornings. There was no air conditioning. It was 90 degrees during the day and did cool off at night, but not enough for comfort. A sign in our room suggested we open our window, but our room was on the first floor and we didn't feel safe enough to do that. There was a sign on the swimming pool fence cautioning us not to use the pool if we had "diarrhea or had had it in the past 14 days." While this is good advice, we thought it was a very unusual sign, and just the thought of using the pool was distasteful to us. Breakfast was only offered on the weekend, a surprise to us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2016 by West Sonoma Inn, Hotel Management
Thank you fore taking the time to leave us a review. We did have an usual hot spell there for a bit - the majority of the year the weather here is mild enough that there is no need for a/c, I apologize if you found your room to be too hot for comfort during your stay. We do only offer the organic continental breakfast on Saturday and Sunday mornings during peak times when we have enough guests to warrant it. Thank you for your feedback, we truly appreciate our guests suggestions on how me might improve our service. We hope to see you again soon, when the weather is more agreeable!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us an excellent review! We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the Russian River area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice spa & inn near the Russian River

Posted Aug 25, 2016
This place is well kept and the staff is friendly. It is very close to downtown Guerneville, and is located where you can walk to the restaurants and shops. It is also very near Johnsons Beach. Check-in was quick and easy. The staff allowed us to check-in early, which was very nice. The room was nice, but not what we had expected. We thought the hot tub would be on the deck, but it was actually inside the room. Having said that, the room was massive with more space than a typical hotel room. The room had a fireplace and a large bathroom. The carpet was stained upon our arrival, but moreover the room was clean. There is no central air in the room. We had to leave early for a pet emergency. We dropped off our keys the evening before check-out. The staff was friendly and accommodating. If we were to come visit Guerneville again, we would certainly stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2016 by WestSonomaInn, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a detailed review! We appreciate your kind words. We are glad you were able to take advantage of one of our pet-friendly rooms, but sorry you had to leave early to take care of your furbaby :( We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon!
5 out of 5
by Rosemary

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave the excellent review! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
4 out of 5
by Dashrath from Cedar Falls, Iowa

Great hotel in terms of location and the service.

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent staff. Courteous and kind. Quiet, no noise to be able to sleep well. Great wine testing (free) on Friday and Saturday evening. Breakfast was adequate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and got the rest you deserved. Thank you for mentioning our Summer Wine Pours that we offer Friday evenings, it's nice to bring a bit of the wine country on the property for our guests. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit the Russian River area!