Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

2.4 out of 5
33% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

Not Our Cup of Tea

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Location: Black Oak Casino 11 miles away
Positive: Nice flat screen TV, Coffee Pot in Room, Refrigerator, Microwave, breakfast sweet rolls and real orange juice Negative: Sconce missing shade...just bare bulb, air conditioner not working, puddle of water in bathroom, shower did not drain fast enough to avoid standing in water, WiFi never worked, bed on rollers kept sliding away from the wall, very amateur paint job, someone's socks behind the dresser, vinyl floor not mopped well, one of the front windows would not lock which make us uncomfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san jose, ca

Avoid this place if you can!

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: nothing other than it had a room. but knowing what i know now...i'd sleep in the car next time.
Cons: raze the place and build again.
Location: n/a
We had room #31 - backside/ middle. place stunk like cigarette smoke. i mean it was bad. room was old and very worn. even the pillows stunk like smoke! and we got to listen to the locals out back until 3 am smoking and drinking. this was without as doubt one of the worst places i've stayed. but no other choice so they got out business. Once.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cameron Park

Good for a night passing through.

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: The bed.
Cons: Overall maintenance.
Location: Lots to do in the Gold Country. Plenty of hiking. A treasure trove of antiques.
Older hotel in need of some TLC. The drapes were falling down. There were no towels when we checked in. We had to go to the office to get some. The shower jell dispenser was empty. The room needed painting to cover the numerous cracks. On the other hand - the room was clean, the sheets were nice, and the bed was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MN

Not a place we'd rec'd

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: few hours from Yosemite
Not the nicest place. I'd strongly rec'd going elsewhere. Staff was about the only positive at this place. Room did not look like the pictures, was not cleanly, gross carpet, felt like we'd get bed bugs laying on the bed. Bugs in the bathroom. Not a positive experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by The Gold lodge, Hotel Management
We will address this directly.
2 out of 5
by William

Find somewhere else to stay.

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
This is the worst place that we have ever stayed. The photo's on the site are misleading. The sofa and flat screen are in the lobby area, not in any of the rooms. The rooms are very small with just a bed, nightstand and a counter at the end of the bed that holds a small microwave, cube fridge and old tube TV. They assign you a remote when you check in. Shower is about 3'x3' and the sink,bathroom area is not much larger. There are no blackout drapes, just sheer curtains, so the sun streams right in and I assume the inside light shows everything to the outside at dark. Someone had squashed a moth in the center of our curtains. There is no weatherstripping around the door and no deadbolt. There were cigarette burns on the top of the TV and counter of our non-smoking room. There was a woman chainsmoking outside the door about 15 feet away from the No Smoking sign.
4 out of 5
by Christopher

Nice stay, with room for improvement.

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was ok. Definitely needs some renovation. But overall it was a pleasant stay. Staff seemed friendly. Breakfast was better than other hotels that I've payed twice as much for. Nice and quiet. Close to downtown Sonora, but not in downtown Sonora, which was what we were looking for.
4 out of 5
by patricia c

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
There was a two liter and scissors left on the counter. The place was dirty and there were bugs everywhere.
4 out of 5
by Ella

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Hotels
The room was clean, and the staff very friendly. The hotel itself was a bit dated, but that added to it's charm. The breakfast provided was a bit lacking and the blankets in the room on the thin and scratchy side. If I found myself in sonora again, I'd likely stay her but perhaps just bring my own blanket
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Allowed early checking. Hotel staff were pleazent. Rustic to say the least. Happy with my stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Sandra , Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us! We appreciate your feedback.