Ratings based on 574 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tx

Quaint hotel in town

Posted Jul 22, 2017
The Sonora Inn is a beautiful hotel on the corner of the Main Street in town. It is very convenient to all of the shops and restaurants. Most of the staff was very friendly and helpful, however one of the staff was no help at all. He did not know the area well and was unable to answer our questions. The only caveat to this hotel is that you have to lug your luggage up and down 2.5 flights of steps because the elevator does not operate.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA.

Steep stairs

Posted Jul 22, 2017
There was no elevator!!!! The stairs were very step and very small!!!!. There was no way we could carry our luggage up to our room!!! We ended staying at a motel in the rear also run by same management. My wife has 2 knee replacements. We should have an adjustment in price.. Thanks
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Not worth the price they charge. Room was so small you could not even close the door to the bathroom with the seat down. Nothing worked .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Castro Valley

Quiet Hotel, Friendly Staff

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: I really loved the privacy and how quiet it was, also conveniently located to downtown bars/restaurants
Cons: They could re-do the bathroom or at least re-glue down some tiles that were very loose.
Location: Its all right there.
I have to admit I was worried after seeing some other reviews prior to our check in, but was pleasantly surprised upon our arrival. Staff was friendly, and room was in good shape. Bathroom had some broken tile, but nothing that would ruin our trip (maybe we are glass half full people?). AC worked fine, had no trouble adjusting it as we are both very tall, but they also provided a remote as well. It was a bit loud, but consistent sounds don't bother me. I'd rather have a whirring sound in the background than no AC! Another reviewer had mentioned due to being 6' tall he could barely shower or get in the bathroom, however I am 6' and my boyfriend is 6'4 and neither of us had any issue, just a heads up - you should be fine unless you're closer to 7'. We had room 209 right by the pool, which was great! No other rooms were too close to ours and it felt like we had the place to ourselves most of the time we were there (Sat-Mon). This is 2 hour drive from Yosemite, and if you're going - go EARLY to try and get a parking spot. As far as parking here, be prepared to walk a whopping 10' from the parking lot next door :) Really, its very close. After reading the other reviews then staying here, I wonder what kind of world some people live in! Go, stay, enjoy your trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great old downtown location for walking

Posted May 26, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at Sonora Inn. We wanted to be able to stroll the old town shops and have easy access to the highway and we had both. Lovely old mining town in the California foothills.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2017
Very Old and dated. Probably won't stay there in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic boutique hotel with lots of charm

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Architecture, historic feel.
Cons: The only reason I can think to rate less than 5 is due to the elevator being broken, but I have no problem using the stairs, so it did not effect me.
I stayed here for a night while travelling through for work. The front desk staff we very friendly - even checking in at 10 pm. The Inn has been restored and kept up well. The rooms are very comfortable and homey. I wish I could have stayed longer. Great location right in downtown historic Sonora.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Patterson, Ca

Always wanted to stay here.

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: The overall look inside and outside, the downtown location and the room.
Cons: The elevator was broken and the Ice Machine had algae between the Bin and the actual Ice Maker, as well as around the chute where the Ice dispenses.
Location: All kinds of Historic Buildings, Beautiful Scenery and Colombia, the old Gold Rush Town is nearby.
We were in town for a wedding and got lucky enough to get a room at this hotel. We were not disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from santa rosa, ca

I liked it that the hotel is inthe center of town

Posted Apr 29, 2017
The traffic noise is terrible if your room is in the front like mine was. Ear plugs are a must.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by SonoraINN, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us.
5 out of 5
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels