Ratings based on 174 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canada

Sooke Harbour House

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Location and rooms
Location: Some great scenic drives and parks for hiking. If you like to ride motorcycles, there are some great back roads for riding.
Beautiful setting and view of the ocean. Hotel rooms are well appointed. Lovely salad gardens. Great location for a walk along Whiffen Spit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Perfect way to spend our anniversary. Loved the peace and quiet and the amazing amenities of the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from newnan, ga

almost a home run

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: very unique setup, on the ocean, great views, quiet and comfortable although a little "faded", nicely decorated grounds and garden, attentive staff
Cons: fine dining..seated in an undesirable location with a half-empty room, had to ask for more bread, long wait between courses, tried to hard to be cleve
Location: beautiful location; hikes, whales, ocean view, hour to Victoria, very serene and attractive setting, amazing restaurants featuring local ingredients
Really the only significant negative was the fine dining experience which was terribly over-priced and under-performed; needed some leadership in the dining room (see comments below)! Saved this for our last night (of four) and were hoping for something special......disappointing. Oh yes, and the chimney smoked the one night we lit a fire; left the room smelly for two days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orange county, ca

Excellent kitchen staff, great food, cozy rooms.

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, cozy rooms, beautiful views.
Cons: Fireplaces are a definite plus, but too hard to start, suggest pipe in gas to start wood burning firesl.
Beautiful grounds, excellent restaurant, cozy rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary

Cozy and quiet hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2017
We had wonderful time in sook harbor house we fall in love with this place and definitely we will go back there Unique, cozy , beautiful, and clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

So peaceful!

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Setting and charm is right out of a story book. Loved our 5 nights there & plan to return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon SK

What a beautiful life experience!

Posted Aug 25, 2017
This was by far the most amazing resort experience I've had. The view of the ocean, the calm artistic nature of the room, and the warm feel of the entire resort made it one I will share with my friends, family, and colleagues. I can't wait to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Beautiful boutique hotel on the ocean. Amazing view. Incredible food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great getaway

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Went to spend a night and celebrate our anniversary, lovely room with gorgeous view and gardens. We had an absolutely delicious dinner on site in the dining room. Very memorable experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh, UK

Wonderful, quirky hotel in fab location. Loved it.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Peaceful, quiet location. The artwork everywhere through the building and scattered around the grounds. Some amazing work with driftwood. The Library.
Cons: Can't think of a single thing.
Location: Right on the seaside. Good walks nearby. Friendly cycle (and kayak) hire very close. No need to find a restaurant - the Copper Bar serves great food.
If I could have awarded 6 stars, I would have. All the little extras this place provides made it such a wonderful stay. The rooms themselves are more like mini-suites, with a separate seating area, and a fireplace in the room, with logs provided, all ready to light - I was almost disappointed that we had great sunny weather, so no need to use ours. Some rooms have a jacuzzi on the balcony. The hotel is a higgeldy-piggeldy arrangement of floors and stairs, with a few different entrances and much scope to get lost, very amusing. It has an eclectic mix of great artwork throughout the building and scattered around the grounds. Loved the gobsmackingly wonderful driftwood 'tunnel'. It was a joy to sit on the patio at the back of the hotel, looking out at the ocean. Not being into fine dining, we tried the Copper Room bar, and were very impressed by the great food and service, especially when we arrived late on our first night (after 10pm) and they reopened the kitchen for us. Much appreciated after a long day of driving/ferrying. Main impression of the hotel is that they care about their guests, and go to great lengths to make the place welcoming, comfortable and interesting.