Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jeffrey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington USA

Good location to town center

Posted Aug 9, 2016
The Thon Hotel was a pleasant part of our trip to Trondheim. The room was nice, the beds ok and the heated bathroom floors a nice surprise. We had easy access and walking to all the sites we wanted to see. Parking was not available at the hotel so if you rent a car the garage is about 10 min walk and runs about $20 US dollars a day. Parking spots are very tight :( The breakfast at the hotel was excellent and had lots of variety. There are many lively late night pubs/restaurants below so it can stay loud for those who want to sleep early. I would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Does the job for a short stay

Posted Jul 14, 2016
The room was very small but had all the essentials in perfect working order. The free wi-fi was good. The buffet breakfast was also nice: wide ranging and of fairly good quality, especially the cold things. The hotel's location is great, close to everything. The tea-coffee making facility is not in the room but near reception and consists of a Nespresso-type machine, so you can make yourself real good espresso coffee or use a wide selection of teas. Milk is just in little individual portions. So if you are a latte drinker then this is not so good. There was always fresh fruit in a bowl nearby that was nice to self-serve during the day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Nicole Katherine

Great location but small rooms!

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Orbitz
Just recently returned from a 5 day stay with this hotel. The hotel was ideally located in the center of Trondheim. The hotel amenities were good, and they had a wonderful included breakfast which was a surprise! Take advantage of this breakfast since the cost of almost everything in Norway is high! The only problem we had with this stay was the hotel room size. The rooms were clean and comfy but very small for the price! There was no room to unpack your suitcase if you wanted to and no where to put anything in the bathroom as there was no counter space. I wouldn't mind staying here again, but if I ever return I will probably look around for another hotel with hopefully bigger rooms for the amount we are paying!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by sjhaugen

Hotel Gildevangen - value for money

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on HotelClub
Central location, clean rooms with enough space. However, be aware of noise from traffic and pubs in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by UlfP

Perfect location

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on HotelClub
Location is perfect if you want to see the city on foot. We were very satisfied with the hotel standard. Everything was nice and clean, but not luxurious. The staff were nice. Parking was not included (300 m away, 180 NOK / 24 hours).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by mr traveling man

ideal for me

Posted Aug 5, 2012 on Orbitz
i have stayed here before, and i would not hesitate to stay here again. it is a little geared towards families with children, but that is fine. the price was fine. this hotel has a great location for rail travelers (short walk). the staff was wonderful! the best of several I encountered during my trip. they work hard, always smiling, you can't get better than that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by mr traveling man

not too shabby

Posted Aug 5, 2012 on Orbitz
pros: walking distance to train station, as well, as the city center. multi-night booking makes the price pretty good (for Norway). the staff was great!!! very helpful and genuinely friendly. view of the water from my room was beautiful. cons: focus mainly on entertaining kids in main areas, can be a little noisy, but roof upkeep is important, so I did not knock them for this.
4 out of 5
by Åsa

Hotell med bra frukost och skön säng

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
Utsikten var inte bra, för täta hus, fick ha gardinerna fördragna hela tiden. Ganska opraktisk toalett inredning, handfatet för designat - vattnet skvätte ut hela tiden. Knappt utrymme att ställa sina artiklar som tandborste, tandkräm. Ingen avskild/stängbar garderob men kompenserat med många galgar och en utmärkt strykbräda med utrustning! Skön säng. Mycket bra frukost!