Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

You cannot beat staying in a castle!

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Location: This was a castle in a remote town, so the drive there was eventful going through the Etruscan roads. The walk through the village was amazing!
The small staff was very kind and helpful. For an 800 year old building, the stay was very comfy. The breakfast of meats cheeses and pastries was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Regina, Canada

Sleeping in a Castle

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: The view, the town, the restaurants, the people and very few tourists.
Cons: Nothing just perfect
Location: Great walking and hiking trails with great views.
It was fantastic, the view was second to none. I've never seen anything like it in my life. There was a drawbridge to the hotel entrance. The town was from the medieval times, around the 1500's. We found the best restaurant in a cave with the greatest owners. I would go back there in a heart beat, but if you're afraid of hights I wouldn't recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Fantastic location

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: Location, large rooms, views, unique history as a real fortress which ensures an old (500 years old) building remains in use
Cons: Wifi (if possible) in rooms Breakfast was not exciting
Location: Sorano is an old town in an area redolent with Etruscan history. It is close to the town of Pitigliano, which is also more than 500 years old.
Staff were very helpful in this hotel in a fantastic location (an old fortress) in the beautiful town of Sorano. Only negatives were that breakfast was not that exciting and wifi was only in public areas. However, overall I would definitely recommend this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 25, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Beautiful

Posted Oct 22, 2013
What can you say, the hotel is in a fortess sitting atop an amazing mediaeval mountain town. I cant imagine a better view from a hotel window. We originally were booked for just one night, but after a few minutes in this amazing place we modified our plans to stay an additional night to explore this fairy tale town. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, suggesting a great local restaurant with authentic regional cuisine. The room was very clean with a new spacious bathroom, very impressive located in a 500 year old fortess that has much history. We would not hesitate, and in fact hope to one day return to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Eccentric delight in Central Tuscany

Posted Oct 1, 2012
Pros: Very fun to stay in a fort. We were so high up that we were looking down at birds flying by below us. Enjoyed the loft-style room. Great staff.
Cons: No air conditioning and our particular room was very small.
Location: Central for the Tuscan countryside.
I would recommend this hotel based on how interesting it was to stay in a fort. The staff was very pleasant and professional. The views from the rooms are absolutely breathtaking. We were there in July so not having air conditioning was a bit uncomfortable. All around great place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Italian Castle

Posted Sep 17, 2011
The Hotel Della Fortezza was our last stay in a week long driving holiday around Italy. I can't think or imagine a better way to finish a stay in Italy. Note this hotel is about a 2 hr drive to FCO(airport). The staff (Enrico and Julian) were fantastic host and other hoteliers could/should take note/lessons in customer service. The hotel itself is breath taking, in a beautifully restored castle with breath taking views of the town of Sorano & the Tuscan landscape.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Novara

Bellissima fortezza in un paese da cartolina

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: L'accoglienza, la disponibilità del personale, le ottime torte a colazione.
Cons: La camera un po' troppo piccola.
Due giorni vissuti in un'atmosfera d'altri tempi come dei veri cortigiani.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Padova

Due notti da castellane!

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: L'atmosfera fiabesca, ma anche il rapporto qualità/prezzo
Cons: Forse la climatizzazione e il minibar, visto che per bere qualcosa bisognerebbe scendere in paese: la terrazza panoramica inviterebbe a un drink!
Location: L'Hotel occupa una parte della Fortezza Orsini; da visitare, in zona, il Parco Archeologico di Sovana e il suo borgo medievale, poi Pitigliano
L'Hotel si trova proprio all'interno della Fortezza Orsini, di cui occupa una porzione ristrutturata. Dalle finestre a strapiombo sulla rocca si ammira il presepe dei tetti del paese e la forra sottostante, in cui scorre un piccolo fiume; la stanza è gradevole, il profondo silenzio è interrotto solo dai rintocchi ad ogni ora della vicina campana e dai garriti delle rondini che sfrecciano. Il comfort è senz'altro più che sufficiente, anche se qualche miglioria è senz'altro possibile. La colazione offre torte fatte in casa, pane e marmellata, yogurt e frutta, meno ricco è il salato (ma interessa di più agli ospiti stranieri). Si scende in paese tramite una scalinata e una stradina molto panoramiche, ma un po' ripide, oppure in auto, visto che, in linea di massima a Sorano non ci sono particolari problemi di parcheggio.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheio de história e grandeza

Posted Sep 20, 2015
Lugar fantástico, historicamente incrível... Preparem-se para ouvir os fantasmas da fortaleza, são 1000 anos desde sua construção!!! Fica a 30 minutos de Saturnia uma cachoeira de água vulcânica e termal absolutamente maravilhosa.