Ratings based on 682 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Posted May 10, 2018
The hotel is a short walk to the town square. Our room was pleasant with a great view of Mt Vesuvius. We were very impressed with the breakfast options and service in the morning. We would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 7, 2018
Fantastic hotel and staff. Very clean. Would highly recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel great staff quiet location

Posted May 4, 2018
Pros: everything very clean hotel with great staff great breakfast great dining room with good food and kind helpfull staff could not ask for more fabulous
Cons: nothing at all numero uno
Location: quiet location across from a lemon grove with view of vesuvius around the corner from museum where the 3 tenors put on a great show , good restaurant
could not ask for more great hotel great staff quiet location yet not to far from main attractions with some very good little restraunts near by easy walk to main sights yet very quiet location about 7 to 10 minute walk to piazza tasso
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wantage, UK

Good hotel & location

Posted May 1, 2018
We really enjoyed our stay. Only a few minutes walk from the centre including railway station but quieter as not on busy thoroughfare. Attentive and helpful staff, some reception staff could give a bit more friendly appearance but always did their best to advise & help. Lovely restaurant & outside eating area. Good choice of food. Being near railway station was very useful for trips out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe, NM, USA

Very nice hotel, close to the center of Sorrento

Posted Apr 30, 2018
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: While Sorrento is a great place on it's own, it is also a great base for day trips to the Amalfi Coast, Capri, Ischia, Naples and others.
We were pleased with every aspect of this hotel. It was exceptionally clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly and professional, especially the restaurant staff led by the Maitre d, Mario. Over the three nights we ate dinner there, Mario and co. took the time to chat with us, advise us on our food and wine choices, etc., while providing excellent professional service. The management of this obviously cares and pays attention to every detail of every aspect of the hotel's operations. The result is very happy customers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent well maintained and staffed hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2018
Pros: The appearance, cleanliness and helpful friendly attitude of everyone who worked in the hotel were all excellent.
Cons: Nothing - it was all amazing!
I really could not fault my stay at the Grand Hotel de la Ville, Sorrento - the hotel itself was immaculately kept and the staff were all friendly and helpful at all times. We were always greeted politely and with happy smiles by everyone. The room itself (202 - partial sea view) was spacious and pretty, with classic touches to the furnishings and appearance that only added to the appeal. Our room itself was kept in perfect and clean conditions at all times. We really enjoyed our stay here from the moment we arrived till the moment we left. It was perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Lovely hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2018
Beautiful hotel: bright, airy, immaculately clean, tasteful traditional touches. Lovely, comfortable room with a sea view. Great pool deck on the roof with bar service and a spectacular view of the Bay of Naples. Excellent restaurant. Great breakfasts. Above all, a wonderful staff: highly professional but in a friendly, unstuffy way. We can hardly say enough about this place; we had a wonderful stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Good

Posted Apr 22, 2018
Pros: Great location , great local food at the breakfast buffet, and has a bright and friendly atmosphere.
Cons: Some of the rooms on the first floor and the chains in front of the elevator on each floor look tired.
Location: Shopping, tours, lots of great restaurants!
the staff was more than accommodating! Some renovations needed and floors are not always cleaned in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Posted Apr 7, 2018
We had a very enjoyable stay, the hotel and staff were excellent and we would not hesitate to book again if we return to Sorrento.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ath/Bos

Good location, kind staff, but noisy

Posted Apr 5, 2018
The hotel is in a convenient location, has a great breakfast and has a cute/fresh feel to it with the classic Sorrento colors and tile. Staff is very friendly and willing to help with any issue. On the downside the rooms are extremely noisy on account of poor/non-existent soundproofing. We could hear noise from the street and were up at all hours listening to furniture scrape on the tile floor in the room above us. Also I would not expect to have only 1 room key, a very long check-in/check-out, and no bathrobe/slippers in a 4 star hotel.