Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N Ireland

Comfortable hotel just outside Sorrento

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Staff at this hotel were freindly and very helpful. Could not do enough to make our stay pleasant
Just back from a very enjoyable stay in La Solara hotel. Found the room to be clean and comfortable with tea making facilities, mini bar, air con, and safe. Hotel is about a mile from the middle of Sorrento but has a free coach for travelling in and out which was very handy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Penny from Hampshire, UK

Excellent all round

Posted Oct 23, 2012
Pros: Exceptionally friendly staff. Excellent food and service.
Cons: None
Location: 3kms out of town, but hourly free shuttle bus ran from 8am to 11pm.
Excellent hotel all round. All staff from the management down were friendly and helpful. We stayed on half board basis, the food was delicious! Lots of choice at dinner and breakfast. Would recommend this hotel to everyone, couples, families and older people.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2012
Relaxing hotel in the hustle and bustle of Sorrento. Really friendly and experienced staff. Brilliant hotel for a family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Imogen from Oxford, UK

Great hotel, amazing staff - out of Sorrento

Posted Oct 4, 2012
The hotel is brilliant. The staff are friendly, helpful and attentive. The rooms are very clean and in the evening the bed is turned down and a chocolate left which was a nice touch. The pool area is great and gets loads of sun through the day, not that we were around a lot as there are so many sites to see. The hotel has lots of excursions that can be booked through them, they seemed to be well priced and you would be taken and picked up from the meeting point. We did feel like we had to fend for ourselves sometimes when we arrived at the meeting points though as there are so many guides and you need to find out which one is yours!! We found the guests at the hotel were mostly older, I guess this is because the hotel is a way out of Sorrento. They have a shuttle bus running from 8am till 11pm, which is great unless you fancy staying out for a few later drinks, a taxi back is 25 Euros. It’s a 15 minute drive so the walk would take ages and the road really isn't the safest. Hope this is helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chops from Buckinghamshire, UK

Hotel Solara

Posted Apr 30, 2012
Pros: Very professionaly run
Cons: Food and drink was expensive compared with the rest of Italy, no alt. restaraunts within easy reach, Did not tell us where to pick up the shuttle bus
Location: Outside of Sorrento with nothing close by BUT hourly shuttel bus.
Traditional upmarket hotel, outside of Sorrento aimed at the package tour market. Plus points - extremly well & proffesionally managed if a bit old fashioned. Minus - No local alternatives to the hotel restaraunt unless you go into Sorrento. Hotel restaraunt is good for a 3 course meal but there is no alternative selling Pizza and snacks. Food is dearer than in Sorrento where there is a lot of competition.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Wonderful hotel, family friendly, great views!

Posted Apr 14, 2012
Location: The location is very hilly. It is not accessible on foot due to no pavements and the steep nature of the roads but there is a regular minibus service.
The only concern I would raise about this hotel was that it was advertised as air conditioned. There was in fact air conditioning in the room but it was not switched on (Arpil) I do not know if this is a policy not to switch it on until later in the season or if it is never switched on? I did ask for a fan and was provided with an air conditioner but it was large and bulky and noisy so not really appropriate. There were balcony doors that could be opened though but we were on a low floor and I didn't want to leave them open all night. The hotel was very family friendly with free pool side towels & free table tennis which the boys loved. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The views from the hotel are spectacular, I would definitely recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lesann from Toronto

GREAT PLACE TO GO WITH YOUNG KIDS

Posted Jul 21, 2011
At the end of the most ridiculous drive of my life, this was a welcome respite, and was perfect for our family, including 11 and 8 year old boys. Left the rental car out front, and used hourly shuttle bus to access Sorrento for meals, sightseeing, and cruise access.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York and Norway

Excellent Hotel, fantastic service, but inconvenient location

Posted Nov 6, 2010
This hotel more than lived up to our expectations. We were a family of 4 -- two adults and two "tweens). We had two rooms next to each other, both with balconies facing a mountain side and with a sea view. Very quiet and pleasant. The rooms and the bathrooms were very nice and clean, and pretty everything else was perfect. The beds were very comfortable. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and accommodating in every way. They found outlet transformers for us and happily gave us directions and advice. I left my glasses there and they found them and mailed them to me in the U.S. They kept me constantly informed by email about it, and looked into it when the glasses had not arrived on the date expected. (They did finally arrive!). I don't know if it is allowed to name staff personally, but Antonio certainly was helpful in every way. Nice touches are the complementary bottle of red wine in the room upon arrival and chocolates by the bed at night. The restaurant is fairly good (but not top-rate) and a bit pricey. However, it is a convenient and relaxing way to eat if you don't feel like going into town after a long day of sightseeing at Pompeii. We have absolutely no complaints about this hotel, although it is important to realize it is quite far out of town and not in a neighborhood at all -- just along a coast pretty much in the middle of nowhere. They do have an hourly shuttlebus into Sorrento, however.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Kleinburg, ontario canada

glad we chose this hotel a second time!

Posted Sep 23, 2010
hotel solara was very nice, it was our second time there and was glad we chose it again. we got complimentary bottle of wine and chocolates every nite on our nite table. its in a great location near the center of sorrento and about half an hour away from positano. great pool and view!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

Super stay in Sorrento

Posted Aug 26, 2010
A fantastic hotel, excellent service and faciliites, attentive and friendly staff, couldn't ask for better.