Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 25, 2016
This was a nice hotel to stay in. It had pool and it was in a good location. I would definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Great Stay at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: The location was good and staff were professional!
Cons: Our room was not available to use upon arrival. The staff were prepared and found us accommodations at a nearby hotel. They also covered our parking.
Location: The location is good and many things to do nearby.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Helpful & Pleasant Staff but that's Where it Ends

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff
Cons: See above.
Location: Most of what you want to do in Sorrento is at least a 30 minute walk from this hotel.
The Staff are very nice and they are helpful and pleasant, but the Hotel was a pretty big disappointment. I have travelled extensively in Europe and a lot in Italy so I know what to expect from European hotels. This was not a good choice for us (it might be for you) but here are the reasons why (hope this is helpful): You are really far from the center action of Sorrento and you will spend much time walking on incredibly narrow streets with scooters, motorcycles and cars whizzing by you. It actually gets a bit scary at times. We were travelling with our teenaged kids, I would tell you, if you have younger children, you may want to find a different hotel, you will be scared for their safety walking on these streets. The noise of the street from inside this hotel is loud even with the windows shut tight. Our beds were rock hard (a lot of European hotels are this way), but the circa 1950 mattresses and bed coverings have to be changed out; very uncomfortable. Same can be said for the towels. The nap that was once on these towels was rubbed away in a previous century. The cramped shower (and yes, this is typical in Europe) was not as clean as it should be and I didn't want to go in barefoot although, in fairness, that may be my aversion to these kinds of things. I think the pictures on the websites are misleading a bit. While they are certainly not doctored in any way, they are taken from the most optimistic vantage point. Hope this helps!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Wonderful and friendly staff. Good breakfast. We booked a quadruple room which was very small and cramped in comparison to other similar hotels we stayed at in Italy. The location is a bit far from the center and on a very busy road.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF

It was okay

Posted Dec 13, 2015
Pros: The breakfast
Cons: Change the top linen of the bed. Use a different material
Location: 10-15 minute walk to the main plaza. 20-25 minute walk to the port, close to laundry, few shops around, close to several gas stations
It was a 10-15 min walk to the main plaza / bus and train station, which was not comfortable for someone like me who was carrying a big luggage. Not only because of the distance but the road outside seemed busier with a lot of cars passing through (careful the sidewalks were really narrow), heard a couple of sirens during my stay. I had stayed at a different hotel within Sorrento prior to my stay here, and the taxi from one to another was around 15euros. Not much restaurants around, but it was close to a laundromat which was good because I needed to do my laundry. The breakfast was decent, one time they had tomatoes and mushroom on another day, which I appreciated because most of the hotels I've stayed at only didn't have those additions with the regular eggs and bacon. The room was okay, the top sheet of the bed seemed a little dirty though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Fantastic hotel in Sorrento

Posted Oct 1, 2015
Pros: Staff, breakfast, cleanliness, views
Location: Downtown Sorrento is gateway to Amalfi Coast, Capri, but the town is awesome, lots of great, fun restaurants
10 minute walk from downtown, great view of harbor from room, fabulous breakfast, room is ample size, English channels on TV, staff accomodating
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Solihull., UK

A comfortable hotel near the town centre

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: The road outside (Corso Italiano) was noisy, but we visited at the height of peak season. However, the hotel has invested in excellent double glazing.
Location: The hotel is ~15 minutes stroll downhill to the Town Centre. It's almost opposite La Retrivo & L'Angelo di Paradiso, both excellent restaurants
We were greeted on arrival with a very simple and painless check-in, enhanced by a complimentary local liquor - delicious, chiilled Limoncello. The Hotel staff were universally friendly and obliging - nothing semed to be too much trouble. We arranged a night at the Opera through reception, which was accomplished easily. We also found a good (According to Trip Adviser) restaurant only some 100 metres from the Hotel and asked the hotel to book us in; as the proprietor's wife hadn't been there, she not only booked us in but also came with us to take a look so she could advise future guests with her own personal experience...! Our room was comfortable with good air-con, a large bath/shower/toilet room, and a decent sized balcony. We didn't have a sea view, but the hotel has a great roof terrace with panoramic views of the bay of Naples and Vesuvius. The pool was fine, with lots of sun-beds that you didn't need to reserve at dawn..! This is a really nice, friendly little (28 rooms ?) hotel with god facilities and excellent customer service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2015
We had a great time at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful during our stay. The pool and pool area were great along with the pool bar. We stayed on a b&b basis and I have to say the selection of food for breakfast was superb. It included hot food which we wasn't expecting along with the usual continental breakfast offering. The quality was great and all the food and lovely cakes tasted great. Overall a hotel I would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent, England

Welcoming, Comfortable, Convenient

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: Great location and free wifi in lobby area. Very clean and friendly. Nice breakfast choice
Cons: Knocked one star off the overall rating, as the shower had a crack in the glass doors, which meant water leaked out during use. Flagged up on day one.
Location: See main review, ideal location for transport. Lots of bars / restaurants nearby
Situated about a 12 minute walk from the centre of Sorrento (Piazza Tasso), the Gardenia is a friendly and welcoming hotel. The train / bus station is located between town and the hotel, as is the coach pickup / drop off point for many tours (Parking Lauro area). Breakfast is included in the very reasonable prices and the reception staff are always helpful. Our room was clean and had all the usual facilities. We had a veranda and a distant view of Vesuvius. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2015
It's about a 5-10 min walk along the Corso Italia from the hotel to the centre of town. Staff members were very friendly, acting like old friends in giving good advice on what to visit and where to eat in the local area.