Ratings based on 391 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel very welcoming

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Great hotel, nice friendly, helpful staff. Great Breakfast and only a couple of minutes walk to the centre of town. Rooms are not soundproof as you can hear your neighbours. Family friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Short Family Trip

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Great location, value for money, excellent staff, friendliness, cleanliness and food. We loved the bedtime chocolates and bed preparation by the maids
Cons: A couple more english speaking channels on the TV might not go a miss - just news channel. We thought our daughter may have returned fluent in Italian
Location: Walking distance to the town centre, with all the shops, cafe's, bars and restaurants you could wish for. Train, bus and boat rides nearby also.
The hotel was great, easy reach walking distance into Sorrento centre which was exactly what I wanted. The staff were fantastic as this was a special trip to celebrate our 10th year Wedding Anniversary. We originally got married in Sorrento and our friends had stayed at the hotel previously. I had emailed the hotel on a few occasions prior to our trip making sure everything went as smoothly as possible and they always got back to me, which is a great plus in my book. They even had a bottle of Spumante on ice in our room when we arrived which they had emailed me about!! I booked a family room with a sea view and the room we had been allocated was in the centre of the hotel over looking the small park area at the front of the hotel with a fantastic sea view to the side. The reception staff made us feel like their absolute special guests making our trip ever more special and memorable. The breakfast dining is something to always look forward too in Italy, so thanks to Antonio and his team also. It was a surprise trip that I had organised for my wife and daughter. So all I can say is Brilliant !!!!!! and Thank you! We all had a fantastic time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Lovely hotel in a very convenient and pretty spot!

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Lovely hotel, wonderful staff couldn't do enough to help us! Our room was upgraded to give a beautiful sea view. We arrived on the first day of the season so the beaches weren't open yet, and the pool was freezing, but we still enjoyed the roof terrace with beautiful views over Sorrento.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Lovely hotel near beach and town centre

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Great staff ..Friendly and helpful with good ideas on where to go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel in Sorrento

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Very simply this hotel is superb. Staff were all so friendly, rooms are lovely and the breakfast was stunning
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Royal Wootton Bassett

Great hotel in excellent location

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Staff are excellent. Breakfast has a large selection of both hot and cold food, with a small oven to warm up croissants, pancakes etc. Location great.
Cons: Only disappointment was closure of roof terrace for repairs to storm damage.
Location: Close to main square and the streets that lead from it, giving access to many restaurants and shops. 10/15 min walk from bus / train station.
Stayed for a week, with two rooms next door to each other, on the 4th floor. This was arranged by the hotel following my request when booking. Amazing view over the bay with Vesuvius in the background. Great location in a small green area, and only a couple if minutes from the main square, shops, restaurants etc, and only 15 mins walk from bus/ train station. Breakfast has a good selection, with staff polite and attentive. Rooms comfortable ( very firm beds might not be right for everyone though) Staff always offering to help and wishing you good morning or evening. Very close to public garden area where there is a lift to the port area for boat trips / ferries. Only disappointment was the closure of the Roof terrace, due to storm damage the previous week, and was under repair.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent, friendly and professional staff

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: The best part of the hotel is the welcoming and accommodating staff.
Cons: Maybe having a heated pool but minor point. That is the only point I can think of!
Location: Visit Pompeii , almalfi, Naples, sorrento obviously and Capri
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Marvelous stay at the Continental Hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is in a great location next to the old town, great shopping for inlaid music boxes and fabulous restaurants. We could easily walk to all attractions and spent much time cruising the old section of Sorrento. The hotel is beautiful in decor and we had a comfortable, sea-facing room with a balcony which was lovely to sit on in the evening. Breakfast was very good with many choices of both hot and cold dishes. We would highly recommend staying at this hotel and we plan to stay there again in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relax enjoy in confort!

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Traditional old school style with up to date comfort and premium service in a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Lovely hotel in perfect location

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: Vesuvius, Pompei, Capri and Naples all very easy to get to. Take care in Naples, no jewellery and wear rucksacks on your front
The Continental is a perfect hotel for exploring the region. We stayed for 5 nights.The reception staff were welcoming and friendly. The buffet breakfast was extensive, with a choice of hot and cold food, cereals, fruit, pastries etc. Our room was on the side on the hotel with a large balcony. The room was very clean and the turn down service in the evening with the weather report for the following day was a lovely touch. We chose to eat twice in the hotel's restaurant at night and the food was amazing. The waiters were very attentive and friendly. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Unfortunately we were unable to experience the fifth floor terrace as the hotel was preparing for the closed season and this was closed. The Continental is in a perfect location in Sorrento. Just outside is a perfect view of the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius in the distance.