Ratings based on 391 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Lovely hotel in great location

Posted Jun 11, 2017
We recently stayed at the Hotel Continental for 10 nights as we prepared for our wedding in Sorrento. The hotel is ideally situated to explore Sorrento and the surrounding areas. It was about a 10 minute walk to the railway and bus station, which we used to get to Naples, Pompeii and Positano, and a similar amount of time to the port for the ferry to Capri. Our room was a good size with plenty of space for the baby cot that was in our room for our 18 month old daughter. We had a small balcony which led to a larger terrace. Our room had views over a cliff face and had a partial sea view. The pool and sunbathing area was very nice and got sunshine all day. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis as we like to try the food in local restaurants. Breakfast was very good with a extensive Continental breakfast range on offer. Although we did not eat an evening meal in the restaurant some of the guests who came to our wedding did eat in the rooftop restaurant and they said their 7 course meal was fantastic. The rooftop bar is an excellent location to start or finish an evening. With amazing views over the bay of Naples. We loved the bar so much we arranged a get together with our wedding guests the night before our wedding where we could enjoy a good range of cocktails and other drinks on offer. One of the main assets of the hotel is the staff. Nothing was ever too much trouble and they are were fantastic with our daughter who they made feel extremely welcome at all times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Pros: Location and amenities.
Cons: Wifi a little weak.
Location: Location great for all activities.
Great hotel with a rooftop restaurant and a beautiful pool. Excellent location for boat trip to Capri. Wifi a little weak, but that is the only criticism. Staff excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and rooftop bar

Posted Jun 8, 2017
First impression of the staff was that they weren't helpful but as our stay continued we encountered more friendly staff. Breakfast buffet was more than adequate but if you are staying more than four nights it gets old. Not much changes in the menu. Take time to go to the rooftop bar to watch sunset. Beautiful and they are nice about extending hh times. Can't vouch for restaurant because we didn't eat there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Good location; excellent service.

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: Location; quality of staff and service.
Cons: Internet could be a little faster and a little easier to use: make sure you scroll down on their welcome page to enter the password.
Location: Many day trips available: Capri; Pompeii; Amalfi Coast; Herculaneum; boat tours. Good shopping and restaurants in profusion within an easy walk.
Very happy with this hotel - staff and level of service were excellent. We chose a budget room, which was not too spacious and a little awkward in layout, but this was more than offset by the other advantages of this hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful; rooftop restaurant was outstanding and very reasonably priced for the quality provided - a true "special occasion" meal with wonderful views over Sorrento and the Bay of Naples. Very good breakfast buffet. Nice pool with comfortable recliners and umbrellas, and bar serving drinks and meals. Many nice restaurants and good shopping within easy walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney, Australia

Fantastic location

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location! Friendly and helpful staff
Cons: Shuttle bus to & from the port
Location: Great shopping English pub was a fun and entertaining (Luigi & Fabio provide great laughs). Avoid the main square for eating & drinking.
Located in the middle tier, excellent place to stay. Staff nothing but helpful, friendly and informative. Always polite and eager to please. Breakfast was great and worth the inclusion, great variety of foods on offer. Helpful tip, if you do plans to stay at Amalfi, Capri, Positano etc, do yourself a favour and base yourself at the Continental and do day trips to the other islands. Only way to improve on a perfect stay, provide a courtesy bus from the port to the hotel, this would save on €15 for a taxi each way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very friendly and helpful staff

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Perfect location easy to reach shops restaurants and sea front. We caught the train to Sorrento and easy walk from the station. Pool lovely sea view would have been better in a different room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco CA

Perfect location

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: location, staff, cleanliness
Cons: furniture could be updated a bit, beds were extremely hard.
Location: Sorrento is a small seaside town with the town square a block from hotel. Tons of restaurants and shopping all nearby.
Perfect location in the heart of Sorrento with nice views of the water from the rooftop restaurant. Hotel is within walking distance of the train station and ferry launch with tons of shopping and restaurants all nearby. Hotel staff is extremely friendly and the breakfast each morning was abundant with something for everyone. Hotel is slightly dated, but that’s also part of the charm. Only downside was bed was a board to sleep on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Beautiful views close to marina and downtown

Posted May 17, 2017
The hotel is absolutely beautiful. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only issue was the bed was two smaller ones pushed together - but that seems typical in Italy. We booked the Amalfi coast tour through the hotel - amazing! The breakfast buffet was vast and had a good variety. The views from the rooftop were breath-taking. Close to downtown with lots of restaurants and shopping. We would definitely stay there again when we go back to Sorrento. Note: American hair dryers not good for Italy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
This hotel was great! The staff was wonderful - Especially Antonio! He is what hospitality is all about. The food was great, the service was great, everything about our stay was wonderful and we will definitely be coming back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel right by the Sea.

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Everything except the view in my room.
Cons: The view in my room.
Location: Central location with lots to do in Sorrento.
Great hotel location. Lovely decor, love the tiles on the floor in my room. room was small but comfortable, didn't have any view as it was promised in my itinerary. Staff was wonderful, breakfast buffet was delicious & something out of a story book. The dishes were so cute & royal. The hotel is in beautiful condition, they have the cutest lounge areas, wonderful pool. Overall this hotel is wonderful.