Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Robert

Domus, a home for travelers.

Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels
Sant Agnello, where the Domus is situated is one stop away from awesome Sorrento. When you book, be sure to print yourself a map to go get to the residence, which is about a 25 minute walk from the Circumvesuviana train which takes you there from the Napoli train station. The view of Mount Vesuvius is awesome, as is the garden overlooking the cliffs of the Mediterannean, and the surrounding mountain views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Stunning location, unique experience

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: Warm and friendly hosts, stunning views, cleanliness.
Cons: Make guests aware of noise and that the venue is used by non-guests - I came back to an unlocked room one day. Bed very small and uncomfortable.
Location: Sorrento is overrated - the harbour and small beach of Piano di Sorrento below guest house is much nicer, and Piano is a charming friendly town.
An ideal base to discover the Sorrento area and Amalfi coast, this is an amazingly good value guest with the added unique experience of being run by a small group of warm and friendly nuns. A 10-min walk from either Sant'Agnello or Piano stations (recommend consulting map/street view beforehand), the hotel is a pleasant 20-30 min walk to Sorrento or one stop on the Circumvesuviana line. There was a little confusion upon my arrival as the only English-speaking sister was not present, but I was warmly received. My single room was in the extension and overlooked the gardens with a fantastic view of Vesuvius from my window. Room and bathroom clean and well-equipped, but bed small. The gardens have table and chairs, and there is a fantastic sunroof with stunning harbour views, and sunset view of Bay of Naples and Ischia. Breakfast between 8 and 9am only - the usual very unhealthy Italian start of pastries/cakes! But there is juice, bread and cereals. There is a coffee machine. Only issue is that it's meant to be a peaceful retreat, but I had more peace and quiet in my room in the centre of Naples. The venue is obviously used for band practice and parties, so there was loud music every evening. A child's party went on until 11pm with the kids running around the gardens. Luckily I had the wonderful roof to retreat to. Not a major issue, but not quite the advertised spiritual atmosphere I was expecting. Also, having to be out of your room at 9am doesn't help with the relaxation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Novi, MI, US

very very nice view.

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: the view
Cons: the room is very big. You may feel the heater is not strong enough when it is very cold day. a front view of the hotel will help to find it.
Location: walk 10 min can get to the train station, 30 min to the center of Sorrento. We spent a whole day to take a bus ride along Amalfi coast line...
We stayed 2 nights there. Each day, we enjoyed the view in the morning and evening on the roof top.
3 out of 5
by Beth from Stony Point, NC

Lovely setting/scary walk to get there!

Posted Nov 23, 2014 on Hotels
First of all, we thought the hostel was in Sorrento, not in faraway suburb, Sant'Agnello. We had to take another train to get there. Then the fun began. I knew from other reviews that there was a 15 minute walk. With luggage that is a disaster. The road in front of the convent/hostel is very, very narrow and we truly have to cling to buildings when cars came by. It was dark and very dangerous. Had to call out for pizza because we did not want to try the road again. The hostel is very nice, run by wonderful nuns who were very kind. However, we decided to get another place in actual downtown Sorrento for the next night, paying for the second night because it was too late to cancel. If the hostel had been in Sorrento, on a road that was walkable, we would have loved to have stayed another night. If a guest has a car it is perfect, although a little out of the way. Hated to fork out more money, but it was worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from carlisle UK

An amazing location and peaceful atmosphere

Posted Sep 2, 2014
We had a very pleasant stay Domus San Vincenzo. The location has an amazing view from a cliff across the sea and there is a sandy beach just 10 minutes away. The nuns are very clear on what they expect from their guests, but they are all very lovely. Note: they only accept cash payments, and the cash point is in the village (about 10 minute walk away). Also, we needed to look direction on google maps to find it.
4 out of 5
by Ginger from California

Posted Jul 5, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed 2 nights here. It was very nice to find a place to accommodate 5 people in a room. We took a taxi from the train station when we arrived. The distance was walkable but better to get a taxi if you are carrying luggage, in my opinion.
5 out of 5
by Robert from Los Fresnos, Texas

Amazing Amalfi

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels
Once I found Domus, I was relieved...it can be difficult to find, because it is not close to the train station. I stopped by a local food store, and the owner there told me how to find it. Also, it is not presently a "hostel". The nun who speaks English, Sister Clara, explained that it once was a "hostel", and is now a "pensione" managed by missionary nuns. Once you check in, walk out the back door, and gaze at Mount Vesuvius, which is across the bay, and peer down into the gorgeous water more than a hundred feet below...truly majestic and breath taking....It is quiet and peaceful...and a very short train ride to beautiful Sorrento, which should not be missed...actually ANY town on the Amalfi Coast is nothing short of spectacular !!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by ba from texas

this is a church, not a hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels
it was not clear that this was a catholic facility, not a hotel. Looked beautiful, but not comfortable with it being a church.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Absolute Bliss

Posted Sep 26, 2013 on Hotels
This is the most beautiful place to stay. the views were absolutely spectacular as this convent is on a cliff edge easily accessible by road, every morning I could take my coffee out to one of the the terraces and enjoy the spectacular views,the convent itself is beautiful and also a great place that cater for families so you don't need to worry about being quiet, the nuns are lovely and and keep to themselves and their duties, its a short train ride (1 stop) or 25 minute walk to Sorrento and I much preferred to stay here, a 5 minute walk to Piano with lovely restaurants and views, if youre a party animal maybe Sorrento is for you as there is a 11.30 pm curfew but if you let the nuns know you will be late they are pretty good about it, great place for families as they also provide gated parking, also wifi at 2 euros for1 hour, cash only no credit card facilities which was not a problem for me, I would come back and stay here in a heart beat, there was nothing I could fault about this place or its amazing location.