Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Anson from Virginia

Relaxing country stay

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
Fattoria Terrranova is very friendly, family-oriented, and extremely helpful in all areas! The complimentary breakfast was amazing, and the highlight of the stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Idyllic pastoral spot

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Orbitz
This old farmhouse is charming, and set in a little piece of heaven - the top of the Sorrento Peninsula, with views of both the Gulf of Naples and the Gulf of Sorrento. The staff are warm and hospitable, and the accommodations are roomy. The biggest downside is that there is no wifi and no cellular service in the rooms. You can sometimes catch a signal from the terrace, but you have to walk up to the main house - a steep climb - to get a reliable wireless connection, and then only if there aren't too many other people online. It's great if you want isolation!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheltenham

Food and location to die for!

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: Fantastic views over the terraced hills to the sea from our lovely large balcony; great location in the quiet of the hills above busy Sorrento.
Cons: The a/c struggled a little to keep both bedrooms cool but we were then in the height of August. Parking could be a little tricky at times.
Location: Beautifully located a few minutes from Sant Agata and a 20 minute drive from Sorrento; Pompeii/Herculaneum/Vesuvius/Amalfi all approx 60-90 min drive.
We arrived dishevelled, fraught and very late after a nerve-racking drive in the dark and rain after our plane was delayed due to summer storms! However, upon reaching the hotel reception we were shown our accommodation and then welcomed into the delightful terraced restaurant with a glass of prosecco and bruchetta nibbles whilst they prepared a table. We sampled the "starters" for 3 people but the 5 of us struggled to finish all of them despite the food being a gastronomic delight! Despite being a little off the beaten track the restaurant was busy every night, mainly with Italians, a testament to the superb quality of the (all local) food, the beautiful aspect overlooking the Mediterranean and the very warm and friendly staff. Our accommodation was fine, again with beautiful views, a nice cooling pool and breakfast including a wide range of Italian delicacies.
2 out of 5
by Steve from Berlin

Indoor Camping

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
GPS will get lost. Why the hotel does not correct its address to make it easy for guests by writing a detailed description how to get there. The hotel is spread on several steep slopes that require its staff to go on a Vespa from one room to another. The first room we got had no air condition ! However, they changed the room for us with no problem. The new room had a great view, but beware that, I woke up at 5 am .. with ants on my face and under my pillow! The room was infested ! It was clearly not the first time, as I looked around and the ants were coming in through holes around the electricity plugs. The hotel is selling itself as an Agriturismo experience. Well, if they already inform the guests that the experience feels like camping indoors, then, by choice, I would be fine with it and even would enjoy it ! BUT, a few rooms didn't have air conditioning, and forget about internet !! It simply doesn't work, and they could charge you 3 euros for it if you want to use in your room. Again, if the purpose is retreat, then drop saying that it has WIFI. It even had problems in the public areas, making the cashier call the VISA company to charge credit cards. They need better management .. wifi .. cleaner rooms .. pest control .. GPS location fixing ... OR simply state that this is a farm .. with indoor camping life style. But the restaurant is exquisite .. but this alone does not make a hotel great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford, England

Not the castle on the hill but not bad either

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Very quaint, tranquil, and mostly quiet surrounding neighbourhood. Wonderful view. Bathroom/shower was huge. Food was great. Staff friendly.
Cons: There are 2 parking areas & both are terrible. We parked in both & our car was hit 3 times during our stay. Avoid the bottom one: hard to get out of
Location: Sant Agata is about a 15-20 minute walk downhill to the main road. They have nice restaurants but not much shopping. Sorrento is a bus away.
Our experience had good points and bad points. Pros: 1. Quaint, tranquil, and wonderful view of the Bay of Naples 2. Mostly quiet neighbourhood 3. Pool was nice, clean, and secluded 4. Bathroom and shower were huge and nice 5. Food at dinnertime was great and the 20 euro set menu was fantastic value considering it was four courses and included a glass of Prosecco each; breakfast food was nice, especially the pistachio and chocolate cake 6. Staff were friendly and very helpful; we had to complain about ants in our room, and they dealt with the situation quickly and apologetically. They were also very knowledgeable about the area and how to get to touristy places such as Capri, Sorrento, and Pompeii. 7. Great air-conditioning! Cons: 1. Bed was horribly hard and flat and pillows were not fluffy - I could've slept on the tile floor and been just as comfortable. 2. We had an infestation of ants in our room. 3. The steepness and narrowness of the roads coming from the far top car park down to the main building and the building where the rooms are that includes a separate car park: our rental car was hit 3 times in the week that we stayed there. The staff were very apologetic at the time, though. 4. Cannot walk to a beach as the place is quite remote. Buses do not come up the narrow roads, so walking to the nearest village (Sant Agata) takes about 15-20 minutes downhill. 5. Pool was nice but you have to climb down about 4 flights of stairs to get to it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arcadia, CA

Out in the boonies

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: not much
Location: the Sorrento peninsula is beautiful, lots of things to do, visiting the town of Sant'Agata was fun, people extremely friendly.
Considering this is a agriturismo hotel you would expect a more personalized attention. The rooms are awful, cheap furniture, it smells at insecticide. It is very hard to get there, even GPS won't help. We stayed 3 nights and got lost consistently every time I drove back to the place. Next time, I would consider going staying at Le Grottelle which is not too far from there
5 out of 5
by Rachel from Israel

It was worth the trouble getting there

Posted Jun 27, 2014 on Hotels
The place is beautiful, clean and comfortable. Not so good is the wifi that works on and off and getting there was a little difficult. But it was really worth it because of the beauty of the place and the beautiful view.
5 out of 5
by Jessica from United States

Amazing!!!

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels
My family and I loved this place!!! It's beautiful, peaceful, and charming!! The farm is gorgeous....breath-taking views and beautiful flowers everywhere! The restaurant is delicious!! Superb quality made with produce grown on the farm!! But the family that runs the place was the most wonderful thing about our stay there!! They are so kind and warm! They treated my family like we were part of theirs. They greeted us with open arms and warm smiles every time we saw them!! We loved our stay and will definitely be going back!!
3 out of 5
by kim from NY

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels
It was so hard to find this hotel and need to drive curves and hills.
4 out of 5
by Ria from UK

Great location

Posted Apr 10, 2014 on Hotels
Friendly staff. Rooms bit basic so worth the upgrade. Fabulous dinners and strong selection of wines!