Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire, UK

Fabulous and friendly staff

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Pros: Staff, especially Alfonso and the guy on Reception.
Cons: Bigger shower cubicle, larger range of TV channels,
Location: Within walking distance of Sorrento town. Easy to get to Pompeii and Herculaneum on the local train. Plenty of trips available.
Breakfast was unusual but the staff catered for all nationalities which must make it difficult - we never went hungry! We could have done with access to some other TV channels but the WiFi was popular with my daughters. The best thing about the Florida is the staff - Alfonso is the perfect host with his helpful and smiley waiters and the guy on Reception was epic! Not only did he have fantastic hair!, but he went out of his way to help us find our way around - marking up a map for us. The hotel was clean and we had dinner in the restaurant a couple of times, which was pleasant. Value for money was exceptional and well within walking distance of Sorrento town. Great base for sight-seeing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, friendly hotel but not near the centre

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Room was light, clean and comfortable. We had a good size balcony and bathroom. Plenty of space and always kept clean. Hotel staff were mostly friendly, helpful in booking trips and they recommend the better trip companies so no bad experiences. Hotel date also recommended places to eat and drink and all were very good.
Cons: It was about a 15-20 walk to the centre and had to go up a dimly lit alleyway to get to the main road. We never had any problems but as two women on their own, it was really unsettling. Would've preferred a hotel nearer the centre but if in a group not an issue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

florida hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: the setting was lovely
Cons: Nothing
Location: Location just a bit further to town than we thought
Nice hotel with lovely grounds a bit further to walk to town than we thought there are buses
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Caerphilly

Great little find in Sorrento.

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
If you don't want to pay silly money for a hotel with a seaview, this hotel is perfect. It's a short walk away from the sights, shops and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A home away from home

Posted Aug 2, 2016
This hotel is so warm and welcoming, standards are high and the facilities are all that you need, the location is a good base for activities in the area. What really does make this hotel stand out most are the staff, they literally do all that they can to look after you, I truly can't fault anything about this hotel - maybe one tiny little thing would be you have to go to the bar for tea, not in rooms, but to be honest it was so good an atmosphere around the pool/bar area you'd not want to sit drinking tea in your room anyway !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highly enjoyable stay at the Hotel Florida

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Location, the pool was very quiet and relaxing and a very friendly atmosphere throughout the hotel and great to be able to book all trips through them
Cons: The beds were a little too hard but apart from that could not fault the hotel.
Location: 15 mins to centre of Sorrento and can arrange trips through hotel to pick you up at the hotel to go to Vesuvius and Capri.
The hotel Florida was an excellent choice for our trip to Sorrento located just a 15 min walk to the centre. The staff were so hospitable and welcoming and always went the extra mile to ensure our trip was special including organising day trips, making reservations for us in the restaurant and making an extra special fuss of me on my birthday! Michele on reception was very friendly and helpful and the head waiter was very attentive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly Hotel

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff and personal service
Cons: Fewer British people
Location: Easy access for visiting Pompei, Vesuvius and Naples on the Circumvesuviana trains. Bus trip to Positano was exciting but long and trafficky
This is a nice small friendly hotel. All of the staff were friendly and helpful from reception and tourist info through to bar and restaurant staff. We had paid extra for a room with a pool view but on arrival were given a room without a pool view. This was rectified the following day when we were moved to a much nicer room with the required view. The hotel is situated just outside of the busiest parts of Sorrento with easy access to excellent restaurants in Sant'Agnello. Pool, pool bar and restaurant facilities were all nicely maintained and serviced.
5 out of 5
by Linda from Ashford, Kent.

August 2015 2 wek stay.

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this Hotel. Did B&B option, which was good , as dinner menu was a little limited and there are lots of nearby restaurants to choose from. Clean and well run hotel, with friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A oasis not far from sorrento

Posted Jun 5, 2015
A 9 day stay at florida which was not enough. The staff in general good. The matre d excellent. He was very helpful and friendly. The room comfortable and room attendants kept the room clean to a very high standard. The properity was well situated from the hustle and bustle of sorrento. The grounds and pool area very relaxing. CAN not wait to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Perfectly adequate

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Hotel exterior very attractive with well kept grounds and v nice pool and bar area. We stayed in room 212, however it had trees next to the balcony and made the room dark with limited view of the pool. We endured quite a bit of furniture moving from the guest upstairs, until we knew they had departed. We asked reception to move us to this room, which they did immediately and smoothly. This transformed our holiday as we now had a bright room with a lovely balcony to eat lunch and sunbathe on. The breakfasts were ok, the same all week with very little fresh fruit. However, it was filling and the croissants were delicious. The staff were professional and polite, but not very smiley or friendly and this did not make you feel like a valued guest. We can recommend Francos and La Bascilica in town for restaurants, however if you turn right out of the hotel and then right onto the main road, going in the opposite way to town, you can walk right round, following Marion Crawford road, taking in breathtaking views, sitting at some lovely viewpoints, and carry on round till you get to the next main piazza. Peppinos do fantastic pizzas, it's used by locals and is a takeaway and cheap as chips. Wish we'd found it earlier, rather than pay the high prices in town. Take the local train to Pompei and the bus to Amalfi, both highly recommended and cheaper than an excursion. Florida is well positioned because it's out of the main noisy town and very quiet, although it's 20 min walk to town.