Ratings based on 327 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Hotel with beautiful view!

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: Very good central location and not far from restaurants.
Beautiful view from rooftop bar and swimming pool area. Hotel in central location just a short flat walk into town. Staff very helpful. Lovely hotel stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Well appointed hotel in a convenient location

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Location, cleanliness, friendly staff, excellent breakfast buffet.
Cons: Tea and coffee- making facilities in the rooms would be great.
Stayed for 1 week in October 2016 on a bed and breakfast basis. Chose hotel for its proximity both to the facilities of Sorrento and the outlook over the Bay of Naples. A 5 - 10 minute level walk leads you to the many bars, restaurants and shops that the town has to offer. It's also close to the bus and Circumvesuviana train stations from which the city of Naples, tours to Mount Vesuvius, the Amalfi coast and the ruins at Pompei and Herculaneum can be easily (and cheaply) accessed. The hotel is also a short walk from the marinas for waterfront dining and taking boat trips.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice Hotel Good Location

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Elegant appearance and clean throughout. Good sized room with plenty of space and storage, great view across the bay from balcony rooms on 5th floor. Bathroom well supplied with toiletries, good sized bath with shower.Staff generally friendly. Nice pool area on roof. Breakfast was ok but not up to the standard of some comparable hotels we've stayed in e.g. cooked breakfast a bit cold and greasy, gluten free options were much appreciated however.
Cons: No tea/coffee facilities in room. No food/drink policy in room unless from expensive mini-bar. 2nd pool behind the garden room looked neglected - leaves and green growth in water - should be kept clean or closed off at end of season.
Location: Well located on edge of Sorrento 5-10 minute walk from the main square. The nearby Museo Correale is worth a visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Pm
Great welcome, excellent restaurant and service, room well appointed and comfortable. Room kept cleaned and serviced. Upgrade to view over Bay of Naples worthwhile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Absolutely fantastic hotel!

Posted Sep 25, 2016
The hotel was amazing with first class facilities & staff. Situated in a quiet part of the town with breath taking views. Would definitely go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Solihull

Hotel of Excellence!

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Everything! The beautiful interior design which is a mixture of tradition and contemporary - exquisite flooring, marble and chandeliers.
Cons: I love children but families need reminding the large swimming pool is for fun/games and the roof top pool is a quiet retreat to relax.
Location: Perfect location! Few minutes walk to wonderful bustling town centre, trains and buses. Access port via a lift. Recommend Trolley Tram to see town.
Superb hotel, immaculately maintained. Wonderful, welcoming staff. Fabulous food. Beautiful roof top pool and amazing views of Mount Vesuvius and Bay of Naples. Perfect position to town centre as just a short walk away but far enough to be quiet in the evenings and not in the middle of the hustle and bustle of people and cars. Access to Hotel Royal's 'beach' (decking & sea) if required. Prosecco for breakfast! Lovely choice of food. Waiters are fantastic, moving effortlessly from one group to another, quickly identifying 'home' language of guests which makes people feel welcome, constantly but unobtrusively clearing plates from tables and refreshing drinks when needed. Exceptional service from the whole staff team including reception, main bar, pool bar and cleaners. Bedding changed regularly which is appreciated during such hot weather; floors gleam and it is absolutely spotlessly clean. Thank you 'de la Ville' for a wonderful holiday, I felt thoroughly spoilt and well looked after - back to reality now!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barnsley, UK

Good hotel with brilliant staff

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: The staff in the dinning room were brilliant. They were very friendly and very accommodating and look like they really enjoy their job.
Cons: Coffee offered as part of dinner and pool that opened earlier in the morning.
Location: Only a short 15 minute walk into the centre of Sorrento. 5 minute walk to the Hotel Royal with the private beach.
We stopped at the Hotel De la Ville for 7 nights half board in August holidays. The hotel was very comfortable and the rooms we had at the front of the hotel were excellent. The air-conditioning was much appreciated and the views of the bay of Naples was great. There were two pools (one on the roof and one at the back of the hotel) but we didn't spend any time at them as we spent most of our time at the private "beach" at the Royal Hotel which is the slightly more upmarket sister hotel of the De la Ville. Suggest you get to the "beach" before 09:00 to ensure that you get a sun bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belfast

Great hotel close to the centre

Posted Aug 20, 2016
10 minute walk from the main square Fantastic selection at breakfast Staff could not do enough and were very friendly Rooms are large and spacious Stunning views from the balcony and roof top pool and bar
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

good location, great views.

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Amazing views from the roof top pool...we had read that some guests struggled to get sunbeds but we never found this a problem during our visit.
Cons: Nothing....wish I could go straight back!
Location: The location of the hotel is good. A 10 minute to walk to Tasso square (the centre of Sorrento) part of which is through a lemon grove.
Fantastic stay....friendly, helpful staff, beautifully appointed rooms, delicious buffet breakfast with a vast range of choices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Location, decor and friendly staff.
Cons: Some of the bathroom facilities looked a little tired, but very clean and overall fine.
We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is decorated beautifully and just a very short walk into town / from the train station. I was pleased not to be staying in the centre of town as it was very busy and crowded, whereas the location of this hotel is very peaceful. Our room had a balcony and sea view which really added to the experience! The food was very good, and views from the rooftop pool were amazing. You can also use the private beach area of a nearby hotel, which is really worth doing - we only discovered this on our last day and wished we'd been sooner!