Ratings based on 195 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Peterborough England

nice hotel with a view

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Lovely outside space, good service, lovely friendly staff - we couldn't fault it.
Cons: Swimming pool could be heated.
Location: Although the hotel is located high up in the mountains above Sorrento, it was worth it just for the views.
We found the most friendly and welcoming staff. They couldn't do enough for you. They even took note of my husband's birthday which he celebrated there and presented him with a cake at dinner and sang the Italian version of 'happy birthday to you'! The hotel was well presented with fantastic views over the bay of Naples. Ran a good shuttle service to Sorrento. Lovely outside space, good service, lovely friendly staff - we couldn't fault it. A nice small town with many small restaurants/bars but didn't need to use them as the food at the hotel was wonderful. We ate far too much!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Room with a beautiful view

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: The out of the way location and fantastic views
Location: A small village nearby, otherwise we went into Sorrento (by bus) and took the tours to Pompeii, Mt. Vesuvius and Capri
Stayed for four nights, the surrounding scenery stunning and peaceful. Pool and poolside area was relaxing Free shuttle service took you to central Sorrento in around 20 minutes. Staff were all very helpful and attentive.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Superb views over Sorrento and Bay of Naples

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Pretty much everything - would definitely stay there again if we return to the region.
Cons: Maybe the Infinity pool could be warmed up a bit!!!
Location: Excellent location - we visited Capri plus Pompeii, Herculaneum and Vesuvius, Also did Amalfi and Positano, and visited Naples by train.
This is a really good hotel. The staff we encountered were all very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent, both at breakfast and in the evening - we could't have wished for better. We made good use of the hotel's own shuttle bus to and from Sorrento - much more comfortable than the public SITA buses which were always very crowded when we used them.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brighton, UK

Excellent views and extraordinary customer service

Posted Sep 18, 2016
From the moment we arrived at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, we were greeted like friends and checked in right away although we were too early. The breakfast is lovely and no complaints with beautiful views of Mount Vesuveus and Sorrento town. The shuttle bus to the town is great, always on time and takes about 15 minutes. Again a great way to see the views! We were recommended by my sister and I have already recommended it to our other sisters! The swimming pool is stunning, gentle music, lovely chill out area in the shade which was perfect to drink/read a book or listen to music. The thing that topped it for us was the service all the hotel staff gave. From the reception staff who were very helpful and informative to the cleaners who were so welcoming, lovely and very good at their job. Honestly can no fault it and plan to go back in 2 years with all the family! Thank you to all the staff!!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice views but same breakfast

Posted Sep 9, 2016
It's clean, nice staff and they have shuttles to Sorrento. The view rooms are totally worth the extra $. The beds are very uncomfortable and pool closes way too early. Breakfast is good but it the same every day.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

A view that's hard to beat.

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Everything, but the view in particular.
Cons: A small niggle about something that seems to be common in Italian hotels. Although tea and coffee making facilities are provided, no milk is included.
Location: The hotel is a bit remote so excursions are necessary if you don't want to lay by the infinity pool all day.
A lovely hotel with a wonderful view of the Bay of Naples. Although the hotel is quite a way from Sorrento the hotel supplies a free shuttle service to and from the town. Everything about the hotel is great. The staff were lovely and the accommodation was a worthy 4 star. I would go again but a room with a sea view is vital.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

The best view in the whole of Sorrento .

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Everything .
Cons: They need a Gym
Location: Check out The Plaza bar for great cocktails which is in sorrento main square also Insolito Bar for late drinks and the happy hour .
We had a amazing stay at the Grand Hotel due Golfi , we will be returning next year , the staff are the best and the customer service is brilliant the overall look and feel of the hotel is very good , the buffet breakfast is good with lots of choices , the view from the infinity pool is just breath taking , the hotel runs a free bus shuttle service to Sorrento main shopping area every day this is very useful because the hotel is located about 15mins from the main town , the shuttle runs until 11.30pm which was great for us because we are night owls and always stayed in town for a late drink etc. We arrived very early for our seven day stay 25th August to 1st September , but was made to feel welcome we didn't like the room they gave us , the staff offer us a choice of two room which were both very good , we chose the sea view room which was perfect , the hotel is very clean but the two stand out features are the infinity pool and the staff the view from the pool area is breath taking and the new pool will have you running to this every day , all the staff speak great English but the two ladies on reception are Just the best anything we needed to know they were there to help I would recommend a day trip to Pompei and Capri , for Pompei we took the train there it is very easy to get to and the return ticket cost 4 Euro the fee to get into Pompei is 13 Euro you can book a guide which cost around 20 Euro I would recommend that you wear soft shoes
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Great Britain

Lovely views over Sorrento and the bay of Naples.

Posted Sep 3, 2016
The hotel has lovely views over Sorrento and the bay of Naples. the rooms are basic but comfortable but very clean and have now had the addition of tea and coffee making facilities. The breakfast buffet is excellent. the new infinity pool makes the most of the views but is very cold even on a hot day
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

nice view & helpful staffs

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Pleasant & very helpful staff & view from the restaurant
Cons: If the facilities ie safe, fridge can be checked before the guest arrival, it will save guest asking for repair.
Location: Restaurant nearby withTripadvisor recommendation had lovely view overlooking the sea on Amalfi side.
I was very pleased about pleasant & helpful staffs. I was planning to catch a public bus very early in the morning on a following day to join the trip to Capri from Sorrento, which meant I needed to get up very early in the morning & catch public bus without having breakfast. When I talked about it to the staff, she contacted with the tour company & solved the problem: They arranged a free shuttle to take me to the most convenient meeting point to the tour bus. So I could stay in bed longer & had more than enough time to have a breakfast. Every help they made was as fantastic as this. The view of Sorrento Coast to Naple, Mt Versuvius from the restaurant was absolutely breathtaking. Free shuttle to Sorrento was very useful. Breakfast was buffet style with good variety. Fresh serving of orange juice from the press was refreshing. Room was always kept clean. Safe didn't work on a first day, but it was fixed very quickly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Welcoming and relaxing hotel with the best view

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Enjoyed staying at this hotel very much. Staff were lovely and the hotel is kept very clean. It's a 20 min drive into Sorrento but free shuttle bus service is on offer. Personally I preferred to stay in the hills away from the the hub bub of Sorrento as the hotel offers great food and gala evenings. Especially after a full day out on excursions it was wonderfully relaxing around the infinity pool and pool bar.Half board is a great offer and recommended as the food is very good quality and saves you going into Sorrento itself every evening to find a meal. The view of the bay and Sorrento is beautiful. Upgrade to a sea view room.