Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Helpful staff overcame problems with booking

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: The meals and the excellent friendly waiters.
Cons: The layout of some of the rooms. The hotel was very full so it was a question of luck which room you got.
Location: Easy walk down to the central square and waterside locations. Lovely hotel pool, though chilly at this time of year.
Arrived around midnight and had trouble with the door key and lights. The receptionist helped me and was shocked to see how tiny the room was, so told me to contact reception next morning. They moved me to a double, which I had booked. All staff very courteous and helpful. Food delicious and plentiful, though my friends were on an all-inclusive package so I had to pay a lot more in extras. Hotel within reasonably easy walking distance of Piazza Tasso and the old town, rail station and ferries. We did not go on any organised tours, but took the train to Hercolaneum and ferry to Capri. Although I had an excellent taxi to meet me on my arrival in Naples and did not even have to hand over a voucher as the driver held up my name, I discovered that I did not have transport to take me back at the end of the holiday. The people on reception contacted the agent in Sorrento nominated by Expedia but were not able to get me transport so suggested I see if I could get on the Thompson bus for my flight. The Thompson rep tried really hard to get me on but in the end I had to take a taxi, which cost me 90 Euros. Not something I had expected as I thought I had booked transfers in both directions. A disappointing end to my stay, though the taxi driver was excellent and someone the hotel obviously know well and use often.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff could have not been more helpful

Posted Apr 6, 2016
The whole experience was wonderfull and the staff could not have done more to ensure we had a memorable stay. The cleanliness was of a very high standard the only down side was that the pool was closed but that was the responsibility of the tour operator ... .no fault to the hotel.............
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2016 by M.Laura, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant.We hope to see you again. Best Regards
5 out of 5
by Anita

Great place to base yourself

Posted Jul 24, 2012 on Hotels
I can't really fault anything about this hotel. The location is great, less than 10min walk from the train station and the main centre of town. The staff are very friendly, welcoming and helpful - this goes for reception staff, bar staff and restaurant staff. The room I had was fairly small (a single bed), but more than adequate for my needs. The room and bathroom were clean, the airconditioning worked a treat (a godsend in the summer heat), the water pressure in the shower is great, and the blackout blinds are fantastic to block out the early morning sunlight. There's a wide selection on offer for breakfast, and there's a lovely view of the bay and Mt Vesuvius to enjoy. There's a great pool area as well. If I had to find a downside, it would be that WIFI didn't quite reach my room (though access is readily available in the lobby/bar area), and breakfast finishes at 9:30am.. perhaps a tad early if you feel like a sleep-in! All in all, an excellent place to stay.
2 out of 5
by Mark

Just awful for the price

Posted Jul 18, 2012 on Hotels
The rooms are tiny and out of date, the internal, normal rooms are dark and not pleasant. Breakfast was awful... Do t bothe r including it, you leave hungry or sick. Sorento is expensive and corrupt, expect to pay for every extra that is normal included. On the up side The wifi was reasonably priced, the pool was nice and the lobby is newly refurbished
4 out of 5
by Bill

Posted Jun 29, 2012 on Hotels
nice
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Grand Hotel Flora

Posted Jun 2, 2011 on Hotels
The hotel was lovely, very well kept and in a good location. The staff were wonderful and very helpful. It just let itself down on a few minor points - in the bathroom only 1 bath towel which had seen better days. The breakfast too was mediocre but overall a very nice hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2011 on Hotels
Staff especially great! Breakfast wonderful; shower extra tiny! easy to get into town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City, N.Y.

Ended up staying at their sister hotel Conca Park

Posted May 16, 2011 on Hotels
I arrived at the hotel only to be told they booked the single room for me at their sister hotel Conca Park. They were nice to drive me to the other hotel but it wasn't as nice as Grand Flora. I was only in Sorrento to take the trains to Pompei, Ercolano, and Vesuvius anyway so no big deal. The room was not very pleasant but it was chosen as a budget type. So you do get what you pay for! Pool and lounge areas very attractive as was the dining facility. No views but it looked as if each room had a balcony facing the front or the rear at least.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Flora in Sorrento

Posted Apr 18, 2011 on Hotels
When we arrived the pool area was being renovated and therefore off-limts for the period of our stay in April. The hotel did not mention this to us in advance and when asked they told us it was only for a few days..which did not turn out to be the case! ...otherwise the hotel was fine.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Katy, TX

Posted Jun 28, 2010 on Hotels
The front desk staff were not very welcoming or helpful, but the breakfast room and snack shop personnel were very friendly and service-oriented. We enjoyed our stay, especially the pool. The hotel is conveniently located to the train and bus stations and to the center of Sorrento.