Ratings based on 531 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel we have ever stayed at.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Leaving the hotel was the best part just to visit beautiful Sorrento and the surrounding places like Pompeii, Amalfi Coast, Isle of Capri, Herculanium every place was beautiful or had wonderful history. The desserts in the evening were really nice you have four to choose from but they are the same every day so if like me your stay is longer than a week then they can be repetitive. The reception staff are friendly girls
Cons: We booked a garden View with a balcony as that's what was offered plus half board ( being a 5 * hotel myself and my partner thought this would be OK . Firstly our garden View was a walkway with a wall with the neighbours weeds and shrubbery as tall as the view and a derelict building to the left of our view, secondly you could not even put a chair on the balcony to sit outside even if we wanted to, that advertising is misleading. Not all the electric sockets worked in our room we did complain but nothing was done although they did fit a new light bulb in the bathroom after we asked. The shower was low pressure and tepid most nights. The housekeeping failed to clean our room one day we had to ask they claimed we did not have the sign turned on the correct side this was a false fact because when we came back to our room it was still on please clean the room. The pillows are rock solid I had to ask if they had a softer one due to getting neck pain, they did replace the pillow with a slightly newer one. The toilet in our room was constantly running water all the time it was disruptive during the night even with the bathroom door shut.
Location: There is not much to do nearby, you can use there shuttle bus and it takes you into Sorrento town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great friendly, professional staff.

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Location: We enjoyed a walk from the hotel to sorrento town centre. A boat trip along the Amalfi coast. 4x4 versuvious trip. Capri, and Anacapri.
Overall a really pleasant stay. It could've been made better by providing tea, coffee making facilities in the room. The evening meal was of a really high standard. Enjoy your stay....
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely fantastic! Management and staff were amazing! Only thing to avoid is the excursion to Isle of Capri! Do not book one through hotel- was terrible! Book another company! Please understand the hotel book through an external agent! Everything else was perfect!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Good Hotel in the Sorrento - Amalfi Area

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
We had a very lovely stay at La Pace. The staff was available, efficient, courteous, and accommodating. As my husband and I were taking my parents on this trip to the Amalfi Coast, the hotel and rooms were extremely comfortable for their needs and likes and they were very happy. (We probably would have chosen more of a boutique hotel that was more modern.) That said, both of our rooms were bumped up to suites which was very sweet indeed. Breakfast was plentiful but could have had some healthier alternatives and some variation from day to day. The woman making omelettes practically seemed like she was a zombie. The staff at the front desk was extremely helpful and answered every question or met every request quickly, effectively and with a smile. The hotel could really garner another star if they put a little more effort into it. There was a bit of a dowdy feel if you looked around a bit. The carpets throughout really should be replaced, the spa area was positively depressing (not that we were there for a spa experience), the deck around the pool was desperately in need of repair or refurbishment. Like I said, this was a good hotel and a very good value for the money. But, with just a bit of thought and effort this could have been a truly luxurious experience and it wouldn't have taken a lot to make that happen.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

clean hotel, lobby is beautiful, standard rooms,

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
little out of the main hubb, difficult to find
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Good hotel with free shuttle to downtown Sorrento.
4 out of 5
by Alex from London

Grand Hotel La Pace

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel, fabulous pool, hotel generally feels like it needs some money spent on it, public areas are a little dated, suite we had was excellent, massive room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Beirut, Lebanon

Disappointed

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Rooms cleanliness, reception staff, free shuttle bus, parking lot.
Cons: Breakfast, restaurant staff, some carpets in the corridors are worn (5 stars hotel shouldn't be like this).
Location: Location is up hill, nothing to do around except for the swimming pool. Have to go downtown.
First look from the outside, the hotel looks as a palace as well as the lobby. The staff at the information desk were very nice and all smiles and very polite. Rooms are comfortable but when you open the window, all you see is a house in ruins with plants growing everywhere, like a haunted house. I mean they could have planted some trees to hide this macabre sight. These rooms were advertised as mountain view. Since our rooms were underneath the restaurant, we knew when it closes. You can hear all the chairs and tables moving around 11/midnight. The worst was the breakfast. Very little choice, worthy of a 1 star hotel. Ham, one choice of cheese, diluted orange juice, eggs, pancakes, cookies and everything related. Half the time, coffee pot was empty and had to ask to fill it. The staff at the restaurant were loud speaking to each other. They do their job like they were underpaid. The hotel is 15 minutes walk to downtown but since it's on a hill, it's tiring to walk back at night. They have a free shuttle bus that always shows on time as scheduled. The reason we chose this hotel was because it's a five stars and it has a parking lot.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Grand is a very apt description for the hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: beautiful appearance and very friendly staff and accommodation spacious and clean
Cons: Pool area needs urgent attention and breakfast selection hot buffet was poor albeit the pancakes were a delight.
Location: Sorrento is c1 mile on roads that are not pedestrian friendly, however once in Sorrento the town is stunning. as too the Amaalfi Coast boat trip
Whilst the hotel is beautiful and set in a lovely, if inaccessible location, it could do with some TLC in certain areas. The pool area in particular urgently needs attention with rotten decking and in general disrepair letting down what is an otherwise stunning setting.5 stars is definitely flattering. Reception staff excellent friendly and helpful and the hotel is very clean impressive and set in beautiful surroundings. Despite it's impressive facade and lovely setting I wouldn't recommend the location for people with mobility issues as the walk from town to the hotel set in this hills is quite an arduous one albeit the regular shuttle to the main town of Sorrento (some 1 mile away is a godsend).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, amazing staff - a little updating

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Staff, food, shuttle, entry and dining area, pool
Cons: Updating bedrooms, pool area,
Location: Sorrento outdoor pool was amazing
Staff unbelievably friendly and welcoming. Stunning entry to hotel, dining areas beautiful but corridor carpets worn, some of the pool area a little tired and bathrooms could do with updating. Shuttle super to and from Sorrento (with a taxi costing minimum €25 highly advised!) but unfortunately this did map out your day a little as you worked around shuttle times. Wifi terrible! Food was great both at breakfast and evening meal. A nice stay