Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Comfortable room

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Peaceful.Lovely swimming pool .Great views of bay. Tea & coffee available very welcome, (tea tasty).
Cons: Maybe more shuttle bus services, further afield
Location: Near to railway. Convenient to travel to other places
Comfortable room.Beautiful garden. Staffh Staff helpful,friendly, polite, professional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Best value for the price

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: location to Sorrento and its amenities
Cons: breakfast
Location: location to Sorrento and easy access to local town
great views, pool area, very clean and close to many areas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire, England

Excellent base to travel independently

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Pros: Good position, clean, lovely pool, good rooms. Staff always helpful.
Cons: Breakfasts OK but really should be much better.
Location: Ideal base for Amalfi Coast, Capri, Naples etc etc. Maybe we shall go back to spend more time on Capri - wonderful place.
Being about 400 metres from the train was important - used it for Naples, Sorrento and Pompei. If there was a change of public transport required we used a car. Our room was very clean and newly decorated. Really it was our base for a wonderful holiday so how could we criticise the place. We found the traffic noise of no consequence and with the coach parties in the hotel we ate out every evening in the local town Vico Equense (train back) or Sorrento(train or car). Great experience. Ask in the Restaurants for travel advice - for instance how to travel to Amalfi and beyond. Saga use the hotel which is a good recommendation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Short Stay at Grand Hotel Moon Valley

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Pros: Clean, big rooms (King bed & two single beds for 2 adults, 1 child) Gorgeous pool and grounds, Included Continental Breakfast & Free WIFi in room
Cons: Front Desk Staff should be more pleasant :) Pool towels should be free Change the weird bath towels, they worked but weird Drain issue in bathroom
Location: Nearby restaurant was scrumptious, walking there was a challenge to cross the busy road. Opposite direction of train around the corner from the hotel.
Check-in: Smooth, I expected friendlier staff - no big smiles, no little pleasantries. It is nice & clean, average size - 107 rooms, 4 floors. Room: Our Sea View Room views were fantastic! Large bedroom & bathroom. It is true what they say about the towels - never seen any like those before. They looked & felt like tablecloths but were very large and did what you needed them to do. The water didn't drain properly when showering. We had free WiFi in our room. Pool: Two pools, pretty and clean - one for kids. Bring your own towel or pay Front Desk for one - madness!. It closes at 7 p.m. so you won't be able to swim under the stars or relax after a long day trip. Breakfast: Continental breakfast included. I saw more cold cuts than usual, boiled eggs, juice, croissant, bread, cereals, coffee, tea, muffins, sweet breads, typical stuff. I like breakfast so can't say I loved it but it was enough to start my day. Location: Great views but a good distance from Sorrento. If you want nightly entertainment, stay in Sorrento or enjoy the commute:). Walk to the train is single file and approx. 10 minutes. Shuttle service available but not advertised/encouraged. Road is busy and not pleasant to walk back after a long day or at night, uphill on the way back, downhill to the train. Last train from Sorrento @ 9:30 pm and taxi fare is very high even though it's not that far - plan wisely or pay at a premium! Hotel photos on their website are a true representation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey, USA

Lovely hotel, wonderful staff

Posted Sep 1, 2014
We stayed at Grand Hotel Moon Valley from 8/22 - 8/31. All of the hotel staff was so nice & friendly from the moment we arrived. The room (seaside view) was a bit small but still comfortable for me, my husband & our 5 year old son. They quickly accomodated us by bringing a small bed into our room for my son to sleep in. The hotel has beautiful views & my son loved their swimmng pool. Also very close to train station (400 meters) which allowed us to easily get to Sorrento in minutes. Hotel also helped us book several tours to Capri, Pompeii & Vesuvius, & we were picked up & dropped off at hotel. Hotel Restaurant was good although their menu seemed a bit limited but they did allow you to order things not necessarily on the menu. Did I mention the friendly staff? Our vacation was great & I would definitely stay there again. We are from New Jersey , USA. Seems mostly everyone staying at hotel were Italian or British, but we always felt right at home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

Fantastic pool

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Really enjoyed our stay. Friendly staff, great pool, close to all attractions
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Always the best stay.....will always return!

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing...to improve! Is the fantastic
Location: Best little coffee bar 30 seconds away. Train station around the corner. Little shop for essentials near coffee bar. Staff so helpful for advice.
My 2nd visit here and will not be my last. My room was the best and could not wish for better. Staff so amazing. Pool was beautiful. The hotel is so clean and the staff take a lot of pride in work and it shows. Nothing negative to report. I had amazing time, can not wait for next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2012
Pros: Swimming Pool
Cons: The location
Location: Hotel was ocated off a busy road
The hotel was very nice and the decor was beautiful. The bathing area was exellent with pools for both children and adults. Sunbeds were excellent with beautiful parasols. The only downfall for me was being charged 10 Euros per night for parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jane from kent uk

good all round value but do not take a car

Posted Aug 19, 2012
Pros: location and view
Cons: lack of anything much within walking distance
this hotel far exceeded my expectations . the air con was free and quiet and efficient the staff lovely the pool beautiful and the views lovely not a lot within walking distance but well situated with good train service few mins walk away to sorrento or naples. very cheap trains and bus stop outside too would recommend but i would warn do not take a car as hardly any parking in area and very costly much better to use the trains or buses
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Frances from London, UK

Fab Moon Valley

Posted Jul 16, 2012
Pros: The pool was fantastic and lunch by terrace excellent
Cons: some rooms are basic, but mostly those with sea view are excellent
Location: few kilometres from nearest town Vico Equense. Train 5 minutes walk.location not near any shops on road to Sorrento. You l need a car or bus for beach
Fantastic Hotel. We were given a fabulous room with a large balcony and awesome sea view.The pool is big and again excellent view of sea and vesuvius and mountains. Daily lunches on terrace by poll is really convenient. Train station nearby for trips to Sorrento and pompeii. Staff very friendly and accomodating and great for advice on where to eat etc. We stayed for 1 week and cannot wait to go back. well recommended