Ratings based on 436 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Stay

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: Ambiance Food Staff Comfort
Cons: More info about things in room (e.g. electricity) work and more accessible outlets to charge electronics.
Location: Easy shopping, dining, and access to day trip transportation.
This was a beautiful hotel in "downtown" Sorrento within walking distance of lovely restaurants, shops, churches, museums, etc. It had a cordial, English speaking staff who were quite helpful. The restaurant had delicious food - breakfasts were quite enough to last through to dinner (though we didn't usually do that!) All in all, it was a great place to stay - well worth the price and I plan on staying there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great hotel! Great service! A hidden gem in Italy

Posted Nov 6, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel. Stayed there for a week. The room were clean and comfortable. Great terrace view. Great complete breakfast every morning including freshly made omlettes, bacon, sausages and scrambled eggs. The pool is a great size, and the ocean view is unbelievable. Will stay again in a heartbeat
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sutton Coldfield

Wonderful experience - again!

Posted Nov 4, 2015
Pros: Stunning views across the bay of Naples and Versuvio. Very well maintained, great service, good food and locally positioned for Sorrento centre.
Cons: Nothing really
Location: Hotel is minutes walk from the centre of Sorrento, the train/bus station and ferry port. Plenty of restaurants, local produce and historical interest.
We stayed again at the Grand Royal during the last week of October. The fact that we have stayed here before speaks volumes for the quality of this hotel. The warm welcome and helpful staff from arrival through to departure was exceptional. Our spotlessly clean room overlooked the gardens as well as superb views over the bay of Naples and Versuvio. Clean linen and towels every day (and evenings if wanted), turned down beds and chocolates every evening. Fruit and a bottle of 'fiz' on the first night made us feel very special. A decent breakfast and strong coffee are a must before heading off or just relaxing in the garden. Sorrento caters for pretty much all tastes with good resturants, shops and various exhibitions and historical sites to visit. A visit to Capri is a must to appreciate the beauty of the island as well as some of the works of local artists and other craftsmanship. There is the opportunity to visit Pompeii, Amalfi and Naples using local bus and train services which are very reasonably priced. The bus ride from Naples airport to Sorrento allows great views of the coastline and Versuvio. All in all a great break and well worth a visit particularly to this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Great location

Posted Nov 4, 2015
Pros: Traditional hotel, the reception staff were knowledgable and extremely helpful
Cons: More towels in the bathroom, 1 large and 2 smal per person is not enough if the is no where for them to dry.
Location: The town short walk from the hotel and the railway station. There many good restaurants and bars in the narrow streets of Sorrento.
The hotel is ideally positioned, a short walk from the centre of town and the railway station. Pompeii is a 30 minute train ride away and the boat to Capri goes from the harbour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stephen from Solihull

Autumn in Sorrento

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent in every way from start to finish, superb location within 3 minute walk of circumvesuvius railway station and less than 10 minutes from all the best restaurants and shops on foot
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Beautiful hotel in a beautiful location

Posted Oct 31, 2015
Pros: Breakfast was outstanding. The view was breathtaking!
Cons: We did not have bath robes or slippers in the room.... Which we had as standard in our other hotels throughout Italy
Location: Very central to the main area for food and the train station. Opposite a small park
The hotel is as it's name - very grand. It was my birthday during our stay and a chilled bottle of wine and a card wishing me happy birthday had been left for me. Lovely touch! The breakfast was outstanding with a great omelet bar. Staff were extremely helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michael from Christchurch

SUPERB!!!!!!!

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed for 2 nights at the end of a 6 week European vacation. We were looking for a place to relax and unwind from our very active busy trip. This Hotel has it all! Absolutely stunning design and immaculate condition. Beautiful terrace with pool and gardens in a very tranquil setting. Service was impeccable and very friendly always greeting guests with a smile. Breakfast was part of the room rate and it was a huge buffet spread with a wide range of continental, cooked to order and fresh fruits and desserts. I totally recommend this Hotel to everyone, it is SUPERB!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cheshire

Yeah in a great spot

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Pros: Just great all round
Cons: Buffet breakfast brilliant selection But hot food could be hotter but still lovely
Location: Every aspect available brilliant
Overlooking The Bay of Naples beautiful !!! 5 minutes main square And and all transport links FAB !!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JAQUELINE from Londrina/PR

Fantástico

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel simplesmente fantástico. Bem localizado, perto do centro e da marina. Reservamos com meia pensão e o atendimento no restaurante foi excelente. Ótimo café da manhã, com muita variedade e excelentes produtos.Funcionários atenciosos e prontos em resolver pedidos. Apesar do nosso quarto ficar em frente á rua, não escutamos nenhum barulho, o quarto possui uma ótima vedação de janela. A vista é maravilhosa. Ficaríamos novamente nesse hotel sem dúvida nenhuma.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Fantastic view of Mount Vesuvius.

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Pros: The hotel is well maintained and well run, with pleasant professional staff. There are plenty of public areas in the hotel in which to relax.
Location: The Hotel is five minutes walk from the Circumvesuviana Railway station, this is ideal for traveling to Pompeii, Herculaneum, Vesuvius and Naples.
We paid for a Superior Double Room and were delighted with it. On checking in, we were given a room on the second floor, facing the sea. The room was spacious and had a balcony with table and chairs. The view over the bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius was stunning. The hotel has a large terrace for relaxing, a swimming pool and a private bathing area on the shoreline which is accessed via a private lift. The hotel is a five minute walk from Tasso Square, which has many bars, cafe,s and restaurants.