Ratings based on 464 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Great location with stunning views.

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Cons: I would suggest, to avoid the problems that we encountered, that you only sign for the drinks once you have received them.
The location for this hotel was just a few minutes walk directly from (or to) the circumvesuvius train. It was also just down the road from one of the main squares of Sorrento and from the port. Our room was ready, despite the early arrival. The room was spacious but very dated. The air-conditioning wasn’t automatic (once the lights were switched on), but easy enough to turn on. A better located room would have been nicer, to enjoy the views. We were off the pool and from the room could often smell and hear the kitchen (which was very close). Pool wasn’t managed so not sure if people were still sitting on the sun loungers, or whether they had left the towels there to save them. We used the pool bar to order drinks and had to order twice as the initial order was made with a gentlemen who was at the end of the shift, who misplaced the order and didn’t pass it over. We ended up being charged twice at checkout when we only received one set of drinks, and this caused a slight problem at checkout when we went to pay the bill. We didn’t feel that some of the staff were overly friendly – however, there were some that were very pleasant and welcoming (breakfast staff and Salvatore (??) who worked on the reception). The views from the terrace where you could enjoy a snack or an evening meal, overlooking the water and bay of Napoli were incredible, and it was beautiful to watch at sunset. The hotel seem to put on evenings of different menus with live music, so we enjoyed a fish evening
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Excellent Hotel with great facilities and very comfortable atmosphere and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

The setting and quality of this hotel is excellent

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Although the the hotel was superb it e the staff particularly Paulo in reception and Guiseppi the restaurant manager that made so much difference, they are a credit to the hotel. We felt cared for, important and relaxed ba cause of their efforts.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel w the best view

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Very nice hotel in strategic location. Nice view and also nice breakfast and dinner and within reasonable price
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from J

Great location near to town, wonderful views.

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Very good hotel, near to town and with wonderful views of Bay of Naples. Good quality food with plenty of choice. All staff very helpful and friendly. Only criticism would be a hard bed and uncomfortable pillows
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Cons: Stop serving coffee that is aimed at Americans and server coffee that can be tasted.
The hotel has a terrace overlooking the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius. It is a good place to sit and relax or eat. You can explore many places from Sorrento. The hotel is near the railway station. From there you can go to Pompeii and Herculaneum. You can also go to Naples by train of take the ferry.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel Royal, Sorrento

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pros: Excellent location, near enough to the town centre but far enough away not to be adversely affected by the extra traffic/noise etc. Great staff.
Cons: Does not have gym, we are typically there to relax so not a problem for us but may be of a concern to those of a more energetic mindset.
Location: Easy walking distance to main centre and railway station. Great views over bay of Naples. Good point for Pompeii, Amalfi coast and Capri etc
We have stayed at this hotel each year for the last 7 years and have always been delighted by the quality of the hotel and the friendliness of its staff. Always excellent and we cant wait to revisit. Rooms are generous in size with balcony and quality furniture. Rooms have TV, Wifi, mini bar and tea making facilities. Food and bar offerings are excellent. Plenty of free sun beds and towels available around the clean pool or sea front sun terrace.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Our wedding

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Pros: The location, view.
Location: Amazing location and near to all facilities and the town centre.
We had our wedding at this hotel last week!:) everything was absolutely amazing!:) the food, services and staff were fantastic!:)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Flott hotell i flotte omgivelser i kjekk by.

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Vi hadde nydelige og avslappende dager på Grand Royal hotell. God service og mat og herlige omgivelser.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

A wonderful hotel

Posted Jun 8, 2016
What a discovery the Grand Hotel Royal was. We missed it when we first looked for a honeymoon venue but found it on our second sweep for hotels in Sorrento - and it was the perfect choice. The hotel itself is so well built and laid out, the staff were superb and so friendly and helpful, and what a stunning location it's in too with some absolutely amazing views. My new wife and I had a week there and we couldn't really bring ourselves to leave! Our room was just what we required, the food in the hotel was excellent, the pool is a nice place to relax and then there's the private bathing area by the sea that is exclusively for hotel guests. The staff, well they couldn't so enough for you. They were all so friendly and helpful, and making sure everything was to your satisfaction. Everything was to ours but I expect that if there was a problem, they would have sorted it promptly. If you are considering booking the Grand Hotel Royal then I have two words for you - do it!