Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel and staff

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Our visit to La Tonnarella was wonderful. The staff was very accommodating. Breakfast was in a lovely room with many choices to satisfy every taste. We were within walking distance to the downtown area with many restaurants and shops...it was a bit of a walk up hill on the way back to the hotel but very welcomed after dinner. The women at the reception desk were very helpful and checked the ferry schedule to Capri due to rough seas and also allowed us to park our car overnight instead of parking at the ferry lot which was much more expensive. We would stay there again and recommend it to anyone visiting Sorrento.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fabulous hotel with amazing views

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel was astoundingly gorgeous - the setting, the coolness factor, the age of the hotel (built in 1940s) - it was just amazing. They have a beautiful patio on the back of the hotel with tables and a fantastic view of Sorrento Bay. We enjoyed sitting there in the morning after breakfast and just looking at the scenery. Breakfast was good - they made us omelets every morning (by request) but they were very serious about the time breakfast ended. At 10:30 the wait staff was cleaning everything up. Our room didn't have a shower - it had a very long and relatively deep bathtub with a shower head. My husband didn't find that very conducive to bathing. Since it was late October, the "beach" was open but it was all rock, you had to take an elevator down to it (for which there was a charge in the summer) and it was VERY small. It looked like there was a place to buy food down there, but it wasn't open. The walk down to town was 10-15 minutes and very narrow on a busy road, but a taxi wasn't really an option at 20 euros/ride. The walk was fine. The scenery was great to look at and the walk back up hill didn't take long and didn't require a crazy amount of physical effort. We would stay there again, but ask if they have a room with a real shower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

What a view from this Jewell of a hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2015
La Tonnerella is simply a truly welcoming hotel with friendly, attentive staff and wondereful views across the Bay of Naples. Special mention for service provided relating to my Gluten intolerance. The two young lads who provided breakfast and served during dinner were excellent - a special breakfast GF 'pack' provided everyday and when we needed to be up early for a day trip to Capri arranged a fantastic packed 'brunch'. I would strongly recommend this really excellent hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sarah from Bath

Only good thing is the view !

Posted Sep 23, 2015 on Hotels
Our room had a lovely outlook over Sorrento. Unfortunetly that was the only good thing to report about this hotel! The room hadn't been cleaned sufficiently to the point the previous occupants had left clothing in the wardrobe which wasn't removed. The bidet had all kinds of nasties in it. The staff were very under resourced due to the 'out of season' period we stayed on 19th Sept which we don't consider to be out of season. We asked for a tomato to accompany a mixed meat starter with an evening meal we were informed that wasn't possible! Suffice to say we ate at another restaurant. The hotel charges for beach towel and sunbed use.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Vincent from Abington Pa.

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
We were there at the beginning of September and we absolutely loved it. Antonio and Giuseppe were very friendly and helpful especially Antonio. We loved the whole experience
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

中途半端なレトロホテル

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
3泊しました。古いこじんまりとした家族経営のようなホテル。天井が低くて何度も頭を打ちました。レトロな感じでそれなりに良いのですが、使いにくいホテル。朝食のカメリエーレは、挨拶をしても返事が返ってこないようなしらっと人。夜のレストランも同じ人達でした。町からは少し歩きますが、歩けない距離ではないです。タクシーを使うと料金がけっこうな額になりました。タクシー料金を考えると、もう少し立地の良い一ランク上のホテルも予約できたかな!?と思うところです。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, amazing staff, delicious breakfast

Posted Sep 12, 2015
This hotel is simply lovely. It is at the top of the hill in Sorrento. We walked to the hotel throughout our stay and it wasn't bad. We are in our early 20's and pretty active, but if you can't make the walk there is a bus stop within 1 minute of the hotel. The views from our room were beautiful. We could see Sorrento and as well the ocean. It was breathtaking. The staff was amazingly helpful and spoke great English. The breakfast was impressive and delicious. They had great variety of breads, meats, cookies, eggs, coffee, and juices. There were also staff during breakfast to help and provide whatever you may need. The lower swimming area was beautiful and perfect for sunbathing, swimming. The ground of this hotel were wonderful and filled with trees and flowers. The room was very comfortable and large, a large shower/bathtub compared to other hotels we stayed at in Italy. There was always staff throughout the day cleaning everywhere. Very great hotel worth the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Tonnarella!

Posted Sep 6, 2015 on Hotels
It was a wonderful stay! Breakfast was great. The beach was relaxing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by SALVATORE from napoli

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
ottimo hotel buona posizione per arrivare al centro a piedi ottima cucina
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great view and Location for Sorrento

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: View, Room quality, beach, restaurants.
Cons: all paying guests should have access to beach amenities without extra charge.
Location: Sorrento is just a short walk away, loads of good restaurants and shopping
Room 2 has an amazing terrace overlooking Mt. Vesuvius and Sorrento... rooms are comfortable and staff is attentive. Beach is nice but guests need to pay for chairs, umbrella's etc... paying guests shouldn't need to pay for this.