Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Townsville North Qld

A beautiful location

Posted Apr 25, 2011
We enjoyed a perfect six nights in Sorrento at the Minerva. Our initial concerns at the edge of town location were allayed when we found the 5 minute walk was up a gently sloping road and did not involve any steps. Everything we required was happily provided by hotel staff, the restaurant meals were top class, the staff were professional and extremely courteous. Our room was beautifully furnished and decorated and was also much larger than we imagined possible. The room cost we also thought was extremely good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Sorrento Sleeper

Posted Nov 27, 2010
We spent 4 nights in this wonderful hotel with a fabulous view from our window. Breakfasts were held downstairs in the dining room and were excellent (waiters with white coat quality)! Our room was large and very comfortable and clean. The staff was very helpful with all of the usual tourist questions and spoke very good English. Sorrento is an excellent base for the Amalfi coast and the hotel is within walking distance of the train station and the town, which is full of wonderful restaurants. We felt we received excellent value for the price we paid.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Highlands, Scotland

Slightly disappointed

Posted Sep 22, 2010
This hotel had very friendly helpful staff, but the actual location makes it noisy (right above main road heading west) with traffic. The food was adequate but nothing special. However, it was clean and tidy and the roof deck with swimming pool was comfortable and sunny. I would not have considered it a 4 star hotel, but overall our stay there was pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London UK

Wonderful Weekend

Posted May 14, 2010
View from hotel is breathtaking. Overlooking Sorrento and with Vesuvias in all its splendour. Each and every member of the hotel staff were utterly charming and extremely helpful. We did not dine there, as prefer to explore, so unable to give feedback on the food. The walk to town and back, at first may seem daunting, but certainly is a good way to walk off the delicious meals eaten in Sorrento.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Saskatchewan, Canada

Amazing Service with Beautiful View

Posted Oct 6, 2009
Very impressed with the Minerva. We had a couple delays and didn't arrive to check in until 1am. A staff member stayed up waiting for us and then called to make sure we were alright as soon as we were in our room. We were greatful for the concern as well as the hotel not giving our room away...as we were unable to call to tell them we would be late. Consistance help the entire time we were there. And the scenic views are A-MA-ZING!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

service at its finest

Posted Jul 15, 2009
The staff of the Minerva could not do enough for us. They were extremely helpful. The friendly desk offered suggestions that went way above the requirements. When my wife needed medical assistance they made sure that the doctor spoke fluent English and arrived promptly. They also helped translate all the dosage instructions for the medications that the doctor prescribed. The staff at the desk always had a sincere, warm friendly smile for us whenever we walked by and always seemed genuinely interested in our affairs. The dining staff was a pleasure and also greeted us warmly. Pluses: The staff, the views, the pool Minuses: The long uphill walk from the center of town
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

My Favorite Destination

Posted Oct 22, 2008
I love the Hotel and the view from the Hotel, the staff are very courteous and helpful, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the food was excellent. My only complaint was that we would come into our room at the end of the day and find that the maid had opened our interior window and failed to close it when she left; we had closed it when we left that morning. That said, we will try to stay at Minerva every time we are in Sorrento. It is the best, by far, and we stayed in numerous hotels throughout Italy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Windsor

Best hotel in Sorrento!

Posted Aug 5, 2008
Everything about the hotel was outstanding. The views were amazing, sitting having breakfast overlooking the whole of Sorrento and Pompeii takes some beating. The room was beautifully decorated and comfortable. The staff were fantastic! nothing was too much trouble and the bottle of champagne on arrival (it was my birthday)was such a lovely thought.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel in Sorrento

Posted Jul 14, 2008
We really enjoyed our stay in the Hotel Minerva - there was great service which was very friendly and always felt very personal. They couldnt do enough to help you - if it was to offer you suggestions for places to eat or to book taxis and they even provided us with a courtesy room for the day that we were leaving (but our flight was in the evening). The views were amazing - a great way to start the day by having breakfast on the balcony that overlooked the sea! My only negative was that the air conditioning in the rooms wasnt very good but apart from that I have nothing but praise for the hotel and all of its staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from nj

Beautiful Hotel!

Posted Jul 9, 2008
WE HAD A FANTASTIC STAY! THE VIEW FROM OUT OUR ROOM WAS BREATHTAKING! TWO POOL AT THE HOTEL WITH FANTASTIC VIEWS AS WELL.