Ratings based on 243 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Very Good but not Great

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Very good to excellent except in most ways
Cons: Management staff were a little 'offish'. Issue with our balcony garden room location. I asked to move. No help and follow up at all to resolve
Location: Close to down town Sorrento...5mins. Nice restaurants and great pool. We just hung out and relaxed.
Classy Hotel in a superb and convenient location. Great pool and views. Nice clean rooms. Very good reasonably priced food. Staff did not smile too much and could have been little more 'gracious and serving' with us as customers especially the reception staff. On the plus side the staff were not overbearing and were discreetly in the background.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too Bad Staff Hates Their Jobs

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Cons: Customer service training .
The hotel is in a lovely location and was obviously once a grand damme but she is looking a little worn and tattered now. I would have forgiven all that except that the staff made such a poor impression upon me that I was happy to leave after two nights. With the exception of Tony , the bellman and the man who runs the lift down to the beach , the rest of the staff made it clear that our stay at the hotel was a great imposition upon them. Yes, they smiled, but really it was more of a grimace and although they didn't sigh outwardly , they definitely sighed inwardly whenever they were asked for anything ; water , coffee, a map etc. It reminded me of the way the truly expensive French hotels were thirty years ago, but even the French have since learned the value of customer service . The hotel is on the beach and has a pool , but they have a policy of one beach towel per guest /day , which seems a little unrealistic for a seaside hotel . I discovered this when I was lectured by the pool boy for taking a second towel ! Another indication that the hotel is stuck in the past is that their breakfast buffet features only tinned fruit , this during harvest season in Italy . Save your money ! There are happy Italians out there who would love to have your business. Stay with them. Don't stay here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Good location

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Good hotel. A little tired and breakfast was poor and WiFi flaky. Otherwise great
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island,NY

Bella vista ( Beautiful view)

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: The views, the free breakfast , the location and most of all the accomadating staff.
Cons: The plumbing is ready for an update but it works the exterior is need of a patch and paint job
Location: The location was within walking distance of the Teatro tasso theater a great great show.
This hotel is located in the perfect spot for views of the Bay Of Naples and Vesuvius It's within walking distance of all the main attractions and restaurants. It's a very old but elegant hotel the restaurant was excellent. the grounds and exterior are due for a restoration but the staff compensates for that.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hotel with wonderful staff

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Everything! Location, staff, views, food and drink, swimming pool area, rooms...
Cons: N/A
Location: Very central to most things and easy public transport links (bus, train, boat) We visited: Capri, Mount Vesuvius, Pompei, Amalfi.
We stayed here for our honeymoon and can honestly not find fault in the hotel at all. The service provided by all of the hotel staff is outstanding and they helped to make our stay extra special. As well as this, the stunning views of Mount Vesuvius are breathtaking. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Close to the beach and town centre
Cons: Service at breakfast was a little slow and the choice of hot items was poor
Lovely traditional hotel close to centre of Sorrento with lift access to the beach. Pool was a good size and the poolside bar did a nice selection for lunch and dinner. Excellent room (322) for me and my 2 children
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Perfect location

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Apart from the great location and Pool area, the bar terrace with its fantastic view of the Bay of Naples is a wonderful spot to watch the sunset.
Cons: The bedroom furniture could be updated
Location: Sorrento is a beautiful town, but was very busy and hot in August
We found this hotel to be excellent for our stay in Sorrento, its location in the centre of the town meant that we could walk everywhere, yet its location also made it very quiet. The gardens and pool area was very relaxing and there were plenty loungers for everyone. All of the staff were exceptionally friendly without being obtrusive. Room was more than adequate for our stay and very comfortable and clean. Although we ate out quite a lot, we did have dinner one night and it was of a very high standard, yet not expensive, breakfast was included in our rate and was always something to look forward too as there was a wonderful buffet, all bread and cake products were made in house and a feast to the eye.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from haslemere

Classy hotel with beautiful views

Posted Jul 29, 2016
A very nice hotel, with clean rooms, friendly professional staff and superb views. The pool was good and there seemed to be adequate sun beds. Watching the sunsets over the bay of Naples from the bar was a regular pre-dinner treat. The dinner at the hotel was also very good. Only gripe was that the shower over the bath was too low and a bit awkward to use - fairly minor in the overall scheme of things though.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bury St Edmunds

one week in July 2016

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, and old style.
Cons: More sunbeds and umbrellas around the pool. Riper fresh fruit at breakfast.
Location: Easy to pop in to town - or walk to the marina. You can get to the station for a train to Pompeii or book longer trips.
Our annual holiday here - lovely location - overlooking sea and near to town centre and marina. Staff on reception and in the restaurant very good - they would happily speak English or listen to my poor Italian. I especially commend the guy operating the beach lift - (name?) - so friendly and kind. Breakfast not super, but certainly fine for a week - and the nicest of staff - always with a little banter - plenty of waiters to bring and clear. Room was fine - I hadn't booked a room with balcony, so would recommend you do - on sea side best - but most expensive - however, pool or garden side good, as well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful location and amazing friendly service

Posted Jul 17, 2016
We had a wonderful experience at Hotel Tramontano. The view from our 4th floor balcony was incredible - you feel on top of the world looking out over the sea towards Versuvius. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating. Service with a smile. We loved Leonelli's beach club underneath the hotel - a lovely place to catch the Rays and swim in the calm clear seas. Beautiful.