Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel, good central location.

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Overall we were happy with the hotel, good location, good size but I would suggest going room only, the breakfast is very disappointing. Although the room advertises safe and fridge, when we got there the safe was broken and the fridge was half full with drinks for sale by the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small B&B one block from main square in Sorrento.

Posted May 30, 2016
Clean and comfortable B&B in center of town. Near train station, harbor area, restaurants and shopping. The owner Carlo was warm and welcoming. A bit hard to find because it is located up a private gated street off the main square. Nice breakfast of coffee, bread,cereal,fruit and yogurt served on terrace each morning. Only 7 rooms so felt very intimate. Not fancy, but very comfortable and good value for the price. Would definately stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great hotel in great location

Posted Mar 27, 2016
Lovely hotel. Staff was very accommodating. Wonderful breakfast. Room very clean. Would definitely stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, very central to station and port.

Posted Mar 12, 2016
Pros: Price and location
Cons: An English TV station
Location: Went to Capri, Amalfii Coast and Pompii
Very helpful staff giving us great info and answering all questions
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value plus central location

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Just back from a 4 night stay at La Magnolia. Really great value for a central location like this - literally just off Piazza Tasso. Carlo and his team were really friendly. Loved having breakfast on our own little terrace outside our room when the weather was good - a bit cramped at the breakfast bar in the lobby when it rained. Entrance is easy to find if you look for a green metal gate on the opposite side of the road from the Plaza Hotel. Would definitely stay here again if we went back to Sorrento.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from UK

Very central but as basic as it gets

Posted Sep 10, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Fire escapes.
Location: Everything is on the doorstep practcally.
Just spent a couple of nights here and it is ok and I mean ok, it is nothing to write home about. It's saving grace is location, right next to Tasso Square (Piazza Tasso). We arrived to simply find a set of keys on a desk with my name on it, that's it, you make your own way from there but that's ok, 5 rooms can't be hard to find now can they? It is clean and fit for purpose but that is all you can say, the air con unit was very noisy and interrupted sleep, bed etc is very basic and for me the worst thing is a safety aspect, the room has no windows except a Velux opening but not reachable and in the event of a fire you have nowhere to go. All tiled floors make for very noisy footsteps in the early hours for early morning home comers and this will disturb your sleep if the air con doesn't.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Perfect spot

Posted Jul 13, 2015
This was a great place to stay when using Sorrento as your home base. It is near the train station and port, and the square with all the restaurants, activities, etc. The rooms were very clean, air conditioning was a plus, and they even provided us with some simple plates and cutlery for some snacks we were eating. All in all, great location, clean, safe, friendly staff. Would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Treasure hidden from bustle outside. Central.

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Location
A quiet, peaceful lovely place. Rooms were wonderfully neat and clean, the bed was real comfy. Breakfast was just right to start the Sorrento tours. Thanks Carlos and team for a real peaceful enjoyable stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could have been better

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Communication
Location: Central location, close to the train, beach and shops
Stayed 3 nights ( 3 rooms - 6 people). First thing was we could not contact the owner to let him know our arrival time. The phone # on Expedia was the land line # and he is never there. Finally got his cell# from the La Magnolia website Had booked a room with supposedly a double bed and a single as my buddy and I required 2 beds. The single was a tiny pullout settee, not suitable for an adult. Luckily was able to trade rooms with my brother and his wife. It would have been horrible if we didn't have this option. Later the next day my other brother's room had no hot water. The owner remedied the situation but it took some time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Great Location

Posted Oct 1, 2014
The best thing about this B & B is its location, right in the centre of town and easy walking distance to all your needs. Rooms are basic but large, clean and comfortable as was the bathroom. You should be aware that 2 of the upstairs rooms have no windows with daylight and ventilation through a skylight only. Also the TVs in both the rooms we had did not work but I am sure a chat with one of the staff would have sorted that out. La Magnolia is a 10 minute walk from the train station, but ensure you have a clear understanding of the direction you are taking (we got lost very quickly by not listening). The big disapointment is the arrangements for breakfast. Upstairs guests are consigned to eating off a 10 inch wide shelf perched on stools in a corridor. Down stair guess have use of a small (but some what attractive) patio attached to thier rooms. The contents of breakfast is somewhat disapointing so as it is additional to the cost of the room I would recomment that you use one of the many eateries within walking distance. Staff are friendly and helpful but not very visable so if you need to talk to them grab them when you can. I would use La Magnolia again, but remember it is a B & B so it is unfair to apply the standards you have experienced using more expensive hotels during your trip to Italy.