Ratings based on 223 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
for Families
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, England

Friendly clean hotel with great views.

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: The cleanliness and the friendly staff.
Cons: Evening meals, we only ate here once and we found the menu a little average and unvaried.
Location: The hotel is situated in the hills above Sorrento. We went to Pompeii, Capri and along the Amalfi coast.
This hotel is lovely. The staff are fantastic - helpful, fun and they genuinely seem glad to have you here. The courtesy bus is great as otherwise you would need to have taxis's up and down to the town. The whole hotel is spotlessly clean and the rooms although basic are perfectly comfortable.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

There is an awesome view and a beautiful pool.

Posted Sep 4, 2015
We highly recommend this hotel. Good service, clean and the most beautiful view. The pool was all we needed after long days under the sun.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montréal, Québec

Hôtel près de la ville de Sorrento

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: La navette qui fait le trajet entre l'hôtel et la ville de Sorrento était grandement appréciée.
Cons: Nous avons eu quelques problèmes avec le lecteur magnétique de carte de notre chambre mais la situation a été réglée durant notre séjour.
Location: Côte Amalfitaine, Île de Capri, Pompéï, ascension du Vésuve, Opéra, etc...
Hôtel sympathique où le personnel est très dévoué et accueillant. Pour un petit déjeuner inclus, la variété était impressionnante (avec l'accès à une machine espresso/cappucino sans frais). Pour ce qui est des autres repas, les prix sont adéquats et les portions sont raisonnables. Le personnel est toujours disponible et souriant.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Location: The location is quite a way out of town. Cost us 60 euro from the port in a taxi with a metre. Would recommend booking a transfer to the hotel
We loved staying at La Vue D'Or. The hotel has fantastic views across the bay and the bus service down to town was so convenient. The facilities were amazing, the pool was brand new and very well maintained and the lobby was a great place to unwind after a long day. Our room was one of the largest we had in our Europe trip and although we didn't request a room with a view, were certainly got an amazing one. Would highly recommend.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton, UK

Great Staff, Nice Location, Amazing Views

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: The staff are incredible, so helpful whenever required. The pool area is excellent with an adults only sun bathing area which is a nice touch.
Cons: The WiFi wasn't great and a lack of phone signal made researching day trips hard. Two single beds pushed together wasn't ideal.
Location: Sorrento has excellent cafes, restaurants and bars, as well as a nice marina to sit by the sea. A day trip to Pompeii by train is highly recommended.
The hotel is up the hill from Sorrento town but has an effective shuttle bus running hourly with a brief pause in the middle of the day. The staff cannot do enough to help you, the food is excellent and the swimming pool is a good size with plenty of sun beds and excellent views. We only had breakfast and lunch there and they were both excellent, furthermore the bar is open until midnight and offers a wide variety of drinks. The downsides to the hotel are small details, the WiFi doesn't reach the rooms and our bed was 2 single beds pushed together which wasn't particularly comfortable. Having said that, I would definitely go back to the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed my time there. There are plenty of day trips on offer from boat trips to Capri, to tours of the Amalfi Coast. We used the train to get to Pompeii, it was incredibly cheap (€4.40 return) and easy to use. The tour of the town itself is well worth the 30 min journey.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wiltshire


Posted Jul 19, 2015
TripAdvisor for iOS (41,936) Install Open In App More See all hotels in Sorrento Hotel La Vue D'Or 624 reviews Enter dates for best prices Check in / Check out Select Dates Show Prices PHOTOS REVIEWS NEARBY SHOW PRICES Map Save *Prices above are the average nightly price including base rate, taxes and fees as provided by our partners. Please see our partners for full details. Hotel Information Hotel class: Room Service Wheelchair access Via Nastro Verde 88, 80067 Sorrento, Italy Reviews #43 of 97 in Sorrento 624 reviews Excellent 309 Very Good 215 Average 72 Poor 14 Terrible 14 Sort by: “Awful customer service” 17 Jul 2015 Lydia P (2 reviews) Swindon, United Kingdom This hotel really needs to think about the fact that they are operating in supplying people's holidays, the time of the year they want to get away and relax and start providing a service that reflects that. My parter and I had an awful experience here, after staying 4 nights in Rome and a hot train journey to sorrento we arrived mid afternoon to be told there was an over booking problem and we were being moved to another hotel. I accept these things happen so decided to check out this other hotel although I had spent a long time picking out la vue d'or online. When we arrived at the other hotel it became apparent that they were building a swimming pool, so there was a big building site outside the hotel!!! Just what I wanted for my relaxing 8 days. After being forced to check in at the new hotel and
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

One week stay

Posted Jul 1, 2015
The Hotel is a little bit out from Sorento centre but has a regular curtesy coach to and from the resort. We thought at first this was a disadvantage but as it turned out it was nice to be able to withdraw to the huddle and bussle. The last coach from centre was at 23.45 and for those party goers was a little early, maybe an extra one an hour later would be good. Breakfast which we had included was very good but after eating there in the evening a couple of times decided that food in town was more varied, was not overly priced and was better than that provided by the hotel. Other than the food this was a wonderful stay in a very friendly a lovely hotel. We would not only recommend to our friends but would willingly stay again.
5 out of 5
for Couples
by Luke from NSW


Posted Jun 16, 2015 on Hotels
Holy cow! Of all the hotels we stayed at in Italy this was the best. Was out of the way up in the mountains, had a perfect view of Sorrento and bay of Naples, bus shuttle runs every hour form hotel and town which meant travel was easy. The staff went out of their way to be friendly, excellent atmosphere in the lounge after meals with gelato and drinks on offer, nice variety of delicious food on menu, breakfast and wifi incl. room was clean and well presented. I couldn't talk highly enough of this place, would definitely go back. Deserves a higher star rating.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very nice hotel with great views

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: Hotel had great views of Sorrento and the valley, a lovely pool, and the shuttle buses were really handy to get into and out of Sorrento.
Hotel was really helpful in arranging transfers to and from Naples airport. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly. We had a great time.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Navasota Texas

Beautiful view

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: Views, helpful staff, clean room, pool was good.
Cons: More varied dinner menue
Location: Boat trip around and to the Isle of Capri; nice downtown; only there two days so couldn't take advantage of other activities.
Beautiful view from our room and dining room. Enjoyed the balcony. Staff very helpful. Buffet breakfast suitable. Evening meal menu was good but could have been more varied,. Staff most helpful and pleasant. Did not take advantage of the shuttle as we had a car but was a fair distance from down town. Would recommend this hotel.