Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Skip the cliffs and stay on the beach!

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Location: Almost hourly boats leaving for Capri, Amalfi and Positano from the main harbor in Sorrento, easy to get to dock via hotel shuttle and short walk!
When staying a few days after our tour ended in Sorrento, we really wanted to be ON THE WATER... Mar Hotel Ali Muri had its own beach AND a pool! Yes, it was in Meta, just on the edge of Sorrento, but they have a SHUTTLE to downtown Sorrento running most all of the day and evening! It was perfect. I would highly recommend this hotel and paying a bit extra is worth the SEA VIEW. Watch the sun set over Sorrento right from your balcony or the beach! A lovely and sumptuous breakfast daily is also worth any up charge. Breakfasts so large, you can fill up and make it most of the day til late afternoon and dinner time! The staff was especially helpful, most notably, Joseph and Erika. They helped us arrange dinners in quaint restaurants, pick the right shuttle times, and even gave us train, subway and safety tips when we went to the museum in Naples one day!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, run down facility

Posted May 7, 2015
We have chosen this hotel as one of the rare hotels in the area which are built on the beach. The location is fantastic, with open views, and all rooms on the seaside. We booked a superior triple room, but (it was Easter) have got a small standard doubleoom with roll away bed. When explaining to the reception that we have not got what we paid for (the price was above 200 euros per night) they bluntly suggested to upgrade us to a suite for additional fee and they explained that the small room was "superior" because of the sea view (?). After we rejected the offer they called again and offered a much larger room for free, but we refused this bargaining. They have not treated us fairly and we want to warn the others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from connecticut

GREAT HOTEL RIGHT AT THE MARINA

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: very conveniently located to the marina the bus station and the trolly to the top of capri.very clean and a great balcony to enjoy breakfast at.
the hotel staff was excellent. They first began by sitting down with us and explaining all about capri, the sites to see, and how to get around. They took all the time we needed to answe all the questions we had.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Miles out of sorrento, don't stay in annex

Posted Apr 9, 2015
The first choice website says that the annex is refurbished but the approach is horrible through some old shutters and the rooms are drab. We managed to move to a different room after the first night. The hotel itself is miles out of sorrento which means you are reliant on taking the shuttle bus each time. If you want to stay at a lovely hotel go to the capodimonte. In walking distance of the town and very nice. Only thing going for this hotel is the view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Visited during the off season

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: Service and rooms were great
Cons: sea side balconys all need painting, rust stains were evident and eye catching
Location: great location for a get away from it all
Great location for a get away, off the beaten path. Pleasant staff and nice rooms. Any sea side property is very difficult to keep fresh paint on and rust creeps out. Rust was evident on every balcony and made me wonder if it was painted every season. This was the only negative I had on the hotel condition, but it is on the ocean so it goes hand and hand. all in all a nice place!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2013
good holiday for me and my familyxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxc
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sergey from Seattle, WA, USA

A great choice for beach lovers

Posted Oct 6, 2012
Pros: The beach
Cons: A little off the main drag.
The hotel is perfect for folks who want the beach more than anything else. It does have a private beach just down the steps from the hotel's deck. The beach is well taken care of - on the last day we saw a small bulldozer leveling the pebbles. That's right - pebbles. You won't find good sand anywhere in Sorrento. The hotel is way off the main drag, but it has a free-during-the-day, 1 euro at night shuttle that goes back and forth every hour and takes you right to downtown Sorrento. Note that there's a no-shuttle window between 6:30 and 10 pm to get back to the hotel. The shuttle was always on time, sometimes early, and it makes you appreciate and admire Italian driving. :) The shuttle rides takes ~15 minutes. Do contact the hotel prior to your arrival if you are arriving by train and arrange for the shuttle pickup. Most of the guests in the hotel were older folks - in fact, other than me and my wife and another young married couple, everybody else was in the 50s-60s-... You won't find any nightlife activities at the hotel or in the surrounding area. They had live music every night - typical Italian repertoire. So if action is what you are after, stay in Sorrento (this hotel is technically speaking is located in Meta). Not that there's much action at night anyway - we saw ads for a couple of clubs, but didn't get a sense that there was much to do after the dinner. So, to summarize, if you want the beach in Sorrento, this hotel is a great choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Irina from Ukraine

.

Posted Sep 30, 2012
Pros: Location near the sea
Cons: Absence of hot drinks
I have chosen the hotel for the beautiful location and private beach. The choice was probably right. The air there is very relaxing. We were in September and the sea was very warm, the weather was great. The people on reception are very helpfull and responsible. The rooms are clean. The only queer thing is restaurant and service there. It is very inconvinient (especially for breakfast) that we always should ask for hot drinks and not to take them on our own. The restaurant has no hot drinks at all: only slightly warm and it takes a lot of time for some of the waiters to bring it. The coffee range from bad to disgusting in taste. The breakfast is modest and just eatable. The good feature is plenty of fresh juices which one take on one's own. The dinner is also just eatable. The good thing in dinner is a lots of fruits. The waiters does not inform that the drinks are not included in the price of dinner (for not inclusive guests). So be ready to pay for every non drinkable thing they bring. The hotel is located 15-20 minutes walk uphill to Meta train station. There are two platforms in Meta. Trains to Napoli arrive on first platfrom. Trains to Sorrento arrive on first or second platform. In the latter case they make announcement. Trains not always follow time schedule (may be late on 10 minutes). If you stay with your face to platforms and your back to station, if train is going from your left, it means it goes to Napoli. If it goes from right side, it goes to Sorrento.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Joseph from Malta

Sea front location

Posted Jul 1, 2009
Great hotel with fantastic sea front rooms overlooking the horizon...beach right on the doorstep and could hear the waves at night from the room.The sand was quite different than i expected having small pebbles rather than fine sand.The sea looked clean enough besides the pool is also available. The breakfast was great with lot of choice,Waiters were friendly and overall the Hotel was to my expectations. The only problem is the location ...there are no immediate restaurants near hotel and i would recommend tico tico and try to book a place upstairs with a fine view of the horizon sunset.The train station is a steep climb and could be sweety in summer...i did not find any taxis near Meta train station when i arrived so i had to make my way downhill to the hotel arriving well worn out going through narrow streets and two way traffic.Other wise i would go back anytime.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from cambridge

Out of the way

Posted May 2, 2009
First impressions were a bit disappointed until you go into the Hotel, much better inside, very ornate and quite grand. The service was very good and staff very friendly and helpful. They upgraded us to a sea view room overlooking the bay which was very beautiful. Although the area surrounding the hotel wasn't as good. A little out the way, with not much to do, there was a free shuttle to Sorrento which was 15 minutes drive.