Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

excellent view for breakfast, great service

Posted Jun 26, 2017
The staff were excellent at marina picola. All very friendly and accommodating. Our room was very clean and quiet. the breakfast on the rooftop was excellent overlooking the sea. Highly recommend!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT/NY

Helpful staff, superb view, artsy/spacious/clean

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Helpful staff (Alice) with precise instructions on how to get around town and into Marina Grande. Fantastic views, unforgettable driving experience.
Location: Safe as base for even after sundown. This hotel can be gleaned in postcard photos and souvenir t-shirts of Sorrento! Walk to Delfino's and Corner Shop
We arrived before sundown up along the start of the Amalfi coast into Sorrento and down into the cliffside marina piccola. What an experience! Exactly as we imagined driving the Amalfi coast would be. Alice from the reception was a friendly welcoming voice over the phone waiting for us. She met us in the small piazza of the marina and guided my husband's driving and maneuvering of our rental car into their property and garage via a narrow passage between a stone building with sharp corner and the ocean on the other side. Whew! My husband did it on the second time around after locals screamed for him to stop from falling into the water, the first time. In contrast, Alice continued with a relaxed hand gestures for him to stop and back out with fine maneuvers only, and proceed again with side mirrors now folded in. A bit scary, but with success came my husband's exhilarating relief and our gratitude to Alice for expert guidance and relaxed and encouraging demeanor. Pictures showed the hotel terrace with spectacular view of the Sorrento cliffs, the ocean and Mount Vesuvius, but we did not expect our room's floor to ceiling windows that open to a tiny terrazza with chairs to sit on and gaze into the horizon. Room and bathrooms were spacious and modern with artsy ambience. Breakfast was substantial and delicious and savored overlooking the same view as mentioned. Location: Close to funicular to town and Marina Grande.We forgot to leave room keys & they just asked us to mail back
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Alice Amoroso, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to meet you and your husband.I still remember your husband's fear while helping him with the maneuver, but we did it! I hope I can meet you again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spokane, WA. USA

Absolute Perfection.

Posted May 23, 2017
I cannot recommend the Marina Piccola 73 highly enough. My stay there for 3 nights in May was absolute perfection. I stayed in a room with a half dome sunken bedroom, a private terrace and black and white cave bathroom. To begin with arriving by ferry I only had to walk mere steps from the dock to the door. My hostess was waiting for me with a huge smile, excellent tips on restaurants, day trips, general “getting around” and her fabulous dog. My room was immaculate with total comfort, fabulous style and a breath taking view of the harbor. The bed was very comfortable, the wardrobe spacious and the room full of charm. I had wonderful quiet nights with no issue sleeping. The breakfasts were scrumptious. Every morning I was presented with fresh squeezed juice, the offer of any type of quickly made espresso, breads, meats, cheeses, fruits and fresh baked treats. The selection and quality was 5 star. I would recommend this amazing location to anyone traveling to Sorrento.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Alice Amoroso, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and for choosing Marina Piccola 73. I'm glad that our staff helped you and we managed to make your stay more relaxing. I hope I can still accommodate you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Customer Service

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Staff very helpful from check in to giving great recommendations and also knowledgeable guidance to onward travel. Hotel in a central spot looking onto the pier at bottom of cliffs, with parking.
5 out of 5
by David

Stunning

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
The most perfect place to stay in sorrento. The room was beautiful and you couldn't ask for a better view to wake up to in the morning. Falling asleep to the sound of the water is so relaxing. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Only slight negative is getting to the town up the steps at night. As the port lift only operates until 7.30pm. Could be very difficult for the elderly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great views and breakfast!

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Booked the tower suite and it was very unique! Large shower upstairs and great views of the water. Breakfast buffet was great with fresh food, juices, and coffees. It's a little bit of a hike up the stairs to the town of Sorrento but once you get up, its very scenic and tons to see, do, and eat! If you need to take the ferry anywhere, it picks up next to the hotel. Overall great!
5 out of 5
by Sally

Peaceful Room with a Stunning View

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
As we were in Sorrento in the middle of winter, there were not too many tourists around, but the township was still busy with lots of shops of restaurants open. This was not the case in the rest of the Amalfi coast, which closes down for winter. My travel partner who has a disability appreciated his free use of the lift up to town. Many of the shops were beautiful - showcasing the local crafts of inlaid timberwork and hand-painted ceramics. We particularly enjoyed the fact that Marina Piccolo was so quiet and away from the hustle of town - it was a scenic retreat, right on the beach with a stunning view over the sea to Mt Vesuvius and Naples. We caught the local train from Naples, but soon realised that a quick jetfoil from Naples port is a much better option at just 12.50E.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Top notch place to stay

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Marina Piccola 73 was a great B&B. The room was beautiful and spotless and the hotel was lovely. It's right in front of the water in the marina. Doesn't get better. The staff was kind and accommodating. We got there early and we got to leave our luggage and went to Positano. When we got back at 5 it was in the room. We were then introduced to the hotel room terrace and breakfast spot. Just perfect. Also we had to check out early for a train to Venice and Virginia was very accommodating. I would def recommend this place. The only thing was we were there for 1 night. Would have been great to experience more of this gem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Location and views

Posted Oct 8, 2016
The view is amazing. By elevator it was 5 minutes to shops; the ferries and ferry booking offices a minute away and a 10 minute walk from the train station. The breakfast was fine and the lady running the breakfast service just lovely. Bed comfortable, pillows average. There is a safe. A lovely place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Devon /London

characterful hotel on quayside

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: View and location
Cons: Starting breakfast before 8, a bit late if booked on early ferry/ train
Location: people/ boat watching...Fish Restaurent next door, good Pizza place nearby. restaurants in town will send transport. Boat trips.
Having driven the car along the very narrow quay, to the garage, which was an old boathouse, we had a very warm and efficient welcome from the owner who gave us lots of local tips/ restaurants etc. The room on the first floor overlooked the quay full of small boats overlooking Vesuvius across the bay, a magical view. Ferries depart from the quay to destinations along the Amalfi coast and Capri, very convenient and nicely away from the tourist bustle that is Sorrento. Access to the town is easy via a lift along from the hotel. Breakfasts were a comprehensive buffet served on a terrace, which also doubled as a bar, again with the fantastic view on the 2 nd floor. Room comfortable, if not very large, there is a shared lounge area behind the room, but without the view. Definitely stay again should we be in Sorrento. Perfectly possible to stay/ travel without a car( train station is a taxi drive away with luggage, if not its walkable via lift).