Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Graeme from Penicuik

Basic

Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
Well out of Sorrento, very basic room and so was the breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sweden and Australia

Could be closer to sorrento

Posted Aug 4, 2015 on Lastminute
Nice stay and interresting historic building. Staff was lovely and helpful even during night time when the office was closed. Had the double room with a shared bathroom (which was a surprise) but it was okay because it was always available when we needed to use it. Only thing on the negative side was the location. It is supposedly 15 min by walk to sorrento center, but it was more like 30+ min on a highly traffic road. Suggest walking shoes, sun screen, and a detailed map (which you can get from the hotel) and a little patience while walking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Stay somewhere else This place was horrible for t

Posted Jul 24, 2015 on Wotif
I hesitated staying here after reading the mixed reviews but I took a chance. It's an old run down convent, apart from a paint job I don't reckon they've updated anything else. Rooms and basic, beds are horrible we had 2 singles for a double, one single was very hard, the other was hard, very squeaky and could feel the springs. The TV barely worked and looked like the first colour TV made. Half the channels had no reception. They don't like you using the aircon, they've even gone to the trouble to cover with a shelf so you'll need to pull the shelf off the wall to find the switch, between 7 and 10am they usually turn the air cons off by a main switch so you sweat and have to leave the room. Shared bathroom was poor, I felt dirtier after showering then I did before. Mould and grime in the shower. If you were lucky enough to get hot water it takes ages to come through. Tiles down the hallway are broken and loose, make sure you look where you're going or you'll break your toes multiple times. Not good for people who can't walk up two flights of stairs with your luggage, don't expect anyone to help you. Breakfast was poor, many of the cakes are used day after day until there all gone. They offer 'freshly squeezed juice from the gardens fruit trees' it's more like watered down juice from a carton. Often you will have to ask for more food, they don't like to put too much out. Kitchen lady was grumpy. Staff don't like to acknowledge you unless you speak first. Wouldn't recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Average hotel, way overpriced on weekends.

Posted Jul 20, 2015
In general it is an average hotel, clean but not outstanding. Simple room and facilities. It used to be a covent. A bit far from Sorrento by foot but good public transportation after a 15 minute walk to main street. We were nicely welcomed by the owner and her daughter, but evening/night staff provided just fair service. Air conditioning didn't work in our room so I had to ask for a new room. TV worked poorly in new room. Remote control was very sticky (a bit disgusting) and buttons were missing so it didn't work. Good points: nice terrasse with live music.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Jul 17, 2015 on Hotels
I booked at hotel purple and wished I hadn't. Now I understand why there's no refunds or cancellations. The place was old and run down. One staff member was nice but the rest can't be bothered acknowledging you unless you speak first. Roomed was cleaned daily. Shared bathroom was average. Shower pooled over your feet and floods rest of bathroom. Mould and grime in shower. If you're lucky enough to get hot water it takes ages to come through. No hand towel to dry your hands with in bathroom but they'll supply one drinking cup if your game enough to share with random guests! Gross. Tiles in the hallway are broken and lifting and you're likely to stub your toe if your not watching. Breakfast was very average, they don't like to fill too much up, often you have to ask for more food. They don't like you using the air con they've even covered them with shelves - it get switched on at night and turned off at random times in the morning between 7 and 10am so they basically want you to leave the room. There's a club across the road often plays music until late. Mornings are very noisy. The restaurant I didn't eat at, only saw one couple eating there the whole time. It's about a 30 minute walk to Sorrento central and add another 10 minutes if you want Sorrento port. The views are great around the area, that's about all. I hesitated booking here after reading the mixed reviews but gave it a shot but I wouldnt book here again.
5 out of 5
by Yul from San Diego

Great safe and quiet neighborhood near waterfront

Posted Jul 5, 2015 on Hotels
We actually stayed at the "overflow" private property around the corner, for a much better experience than the hotel itself - wonderful family hosts, closed private home with parking, individual breakfast in our own kitchen, etc. - Glorious!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Kent, England

Friendly hotel, great location

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, building has character and a stunning location overlooking the Bay of Naples.
Cons: I struggle to think of anything. Perhaps the room furniture could be upgraded.
Location: Located right on the Bay of Naples. 10 mins walk from Sant'Agnello centre, and the railway station which serves Naples. 20mins walk from Sorrento.
I stayed here with my son for 7 nights in January 2015. Formerly a convent, the building has lots of character. Our room had stunning views across the Bay of Naples. It was clean, comfortable and had en-suite facilities. Breakfast was a self-service buffet. With choice of cereal, toast, croissants, briocchi and fresh fruit. The bar area was bright and clean, and opened onto the garden. It was well stocked with good choice. The hotel does have more of the feeling of a hostel. Suited to students or travellers rather than families. The building is stone, marble and has high ceilings which although charming also means it can be a little noisy, but not unbearably so. I would certainly stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Fred from NJ

Family Vacation.

Posted Sep 26, 2014 on Hotels
No problems. Good place to stay. Parking. Wifi and good price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from west sussex

One week at Domus Porto

Posted Sep 23, 2014
A beautiful building , in a very noisey environment. No air conditioning so very hot. We're not happy to have all our possessions moved without our permission when they decided to move our room. Falling masonry in the garden area over seating. Cracked toilet seat in room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Recommended

Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels
Air conditions were not working. a bar existed exactly under our room with big noise till 3 am every night. No rules applied by the hotel staff as every night we found drunk teens in the lobby , on the stairs…etc. breakfast was poor. In general wasn’t convenient compared to the paid price