Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and obliging. There were really only two issues with this hotel: - the breakfast was pretty ordinary, and there was really no point is staying for lunch or dinner. - being a fair way out of Sorrento was annoying, and having to plan your daily trip around the shuttle was painful. If you're a young family and want to stay in one location for the majority of your trip, the hotel would be fantastic with huge pool and access to swim in the ocean. If you're a two young guys looking to travel to Amalfi, Positano or Capri as we did, it's a lot more convenient to stay in Sorrento. It's really only the location that lets this hotel down.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

bad experience

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: service of the restaurant staff
Cons: Safety precautions need to be updated for any family with young children,especially around the terrace, and balconies of the rooms.
Location: at the bottom of a very steep ,hairpin bend unlit road. Unsuitable for anyone with mobility issues. Nothing else except the hotel in the bay.
upon arrival was informed that there was no room for us due to a booking error. Was offered a room in another hotel the other side of Sorrento or the choice of 2 very shabby,outdated and unwelcoming rooms in the small "hotel" called La Maison at the entrance to the site at the top of a very steep, single track, hairpin and unlit road leading down to the main hotel complex. As we had booked the hotel specifically to attend a family wedding which was based in the main hotel you can imagine our reaction. To ensure that we would be able to be with the rest of our family and friends for the wedding we did not accept the offer of the other hotel across Sorrento and reluctantly accepted one of the shabby rooms for only 1 night having been informed that a room would be made available in the main complex from the following day. The member of staff told us that someone else would be moved. I found this quite surprising and having worked in customer services for 25 years, was shocked. Another room was found for us and it was an upgrade from our original booking. However during the other 4 nights that we stayed in this room there were no occupants in the rooms either side so I do still not understand why we were told on arrival that they had NO room for us. The staff in the hotel were in the majority very good but as we had only booked bed and breakfast we were made upon occaision to feel like second class citizens. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone for bed and breakfast only
2 out of 5
by hsmec

miss leading

Posted Oct 3, 2014 on Orbitz
thought hotel was in Sorrento. Could not walk any where,even to sister hotel. Had to book ride on bus witch ran from 1 to 2 hours. Nothing around like coffee,water or snack. Felt stuck there.
5 out of 5
by Mitch and Marcia from US Travelers

Free Shuttles to Town Daily

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels
This Hotel was a great place to relax. Amazing views and away from the crowds. The food served there was good. Free breakfast. Prices for the other food and beverages, beer and wine were a lot less than most Hotel prices.
4 out of 5
by CharlieT from London

Nice Seclusion

Posted Sep 18, 2013 on Hotels
Lovely stay. Nice options of pool, beach and private no public area. Good for isolation away from the business, but close enough via the shuttle bus to get back in among it in Sorrento. Staff friendly. No for you if you don't like cliff roads, set away from Sorrento main town, and requires transportation (10mins) to and from the main town.
1 out of 5
by Joaninha

Disaster

Posted Aug 6, 2013 on CheapTickets
Terrible experience, was a big deception. Very poor.
1 out of 5
by 10 years in Italy

Poor communication/ lack of professionalism

Posted Nov 29, 2012 on Orbitz
I do not in general write poor reviews but the lack of customer care and professionalism of this hotel merits it. Finding the phone number is almost impossible (web-site number is wrong,) and was only possible because I speak Italian. This I learned when I had to cancel my reservation (within the allotted time) because I came to learn that, without a car to get to the hotel requires a 20 minute walk, a 20 minute bus ride then a walk up a hill. Since speaking with them to cancel, with the exception of one employee who as of yet has not succeeded in resolving the situation, I have had no positive interactions with the management. There are many others in the area that are beautiful, professional and provide appropriate service honest
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Not a good experience......

Posted Oct 19, 2011 on Hotels
We arrived at around 5.30pm after driving from Rome and stopping at Pompeii.....we got here and thought we were still in Pompeii! We had booked a Double Superior Sea View Room.....what we were given was nothing short of a dog box! 2 single beds, not a picture on the walls, tiny bathroom and a balcony that you needed to take turns using....horrible! We questioned the reception staff as to whether we had been given the wrong room....apparently no, it was just a small Double Superior Sea View Room! They moved us a larger room with the promise of an upgrade to a Junior Suite for our 2nd and 3rd nights.....we will see. Dinner....well!.....fixed menu at 35 euro each.....not worth much more than 15 euro....very ordinary. Day 2......no upgrade, but at least the room is larger......bathroom is dirty with mould in the shower and on the vanity....not very pleasant. We took to shuttle to town for dinner but unless you were happy to return within 1 1/2 hours you need to stay for 4!.....not very convenient and made for a rushed dinner. This hotel could be spectacular with a bit of money spent....the grounds are large and the view is great but the small things are being missed.....it needs a good clean up and a more regular shuttle service given that it is so far out of Sorrento......the all inclusive slant on the hotel makes it feel more like a Butlins holiday camp than an Italian Hotel.....not for us!.......3 star at best, not even close to 4 star
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from calgary canada

too many ants!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted Jun 8, 2011
the hotel was very welcoming and the staff were very helpful. The restaurant was very good with a large variety of food which was different every evening and the wait staff were great. The food was a little expensive but of excellent quality. There was also an all inclusive feature available but were informed that we had to come from the UK to take advantage of that. We also felt that we treated as "second class citizens" because we were not part of the all incusive. The shuttle service is fantastic and is easy to hook up with and very handy. One of the biggest issues we had with the place was the ANTS. They were everywhere, you have to keep your windows closed or they will be in all of your things.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kelowna, BC, Canada

Booked 2 nights, ended up staying 5!

Posted May 14, 2011 on Hotels
We had been travelling for almost 2 weeks in Italy, and really wanted a quiet place to stay to recouperate. We found the Sea Club on hotels.com and decided to book. We were a little unsure about the location, being that it's a few kilometers outside of Sorrento and we had no vehicle. However, the hotel offers a complimentary shuttle and they were more than willing to accomodate when we wanted to get picked up and dropped off in town. We book at a fantastic time of the year; the beginning of May. The weather was sunny and hot and there were not a lot of other visitors yet. The sea club met all our needs, for a clean room and a quiet and relaxing stay. The staff were kind, and considerate and went the extra mile to make sure we had everything we needed. Minor 'negatives': - Internet access is available only in the lobby. It would've been helpful if it were offered in our room, but we made it work. - Like most of Italy (so, to get this would be unusual), there were only 2 english TV channels and both were news. - The food in the restaurant for dinner was good, but was a hit or miss. It was easy for us to bring food back for dinner at the end of the day. Had the restaurant had a little better prices, we may have considered eating there more often. We would HIGHLY recommend the Sea Club and it is often a point that we share when we talk about Italy. It is not a 5 star, but it is far from a 3 star. This is a rightly-rated 4 star and it will not disappoint!