Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful old Italian building!

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: The charm and homeliness was overwhelming! It was in a peaceful place with beautiful orange, lime etc groves! And sun/roof terraces. Comfy bed!
Cons: My kettle had a mind of it's own - It switched it's self on even when it was off! LOL!! The mini bar was just a tiny fridge that wasn't very cold!
Location: Piano just minutes walk away with lovely shops and a few super restaurants. The beach is nearby but not really what we would call a beach! LOL!
I stayed 8 nights here over the Xmas hols and had a warm welcome when I finally found the B&B! I was a bit disappointed in my room but hey, it didn't cost much but mine didn't look like any of the bedrooms on their website! However, it was cleaned etc almost every day and the 'buffet breakfast' was more than ample but mainly consisted of the Italian style one - croissants, brioche and cakes!! However there was also cornflakes and 'Dario' makes a lovely cheese omelette if requested! There was no need to eat lunch! LOL! They were always friendly and cheerful (him and his lovely Dad Giuseppe) yet not at all intrusive! Much better service than in a 5* hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Just the ticket!

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: The location, Dario and his family making sure we enjoyed our holiday, Guiseppe bringing in homegrown figs and tomatoes = delicious!
Location: Close to the piazza (an after-dinner drink at the Marianiello cafe, perhaps?), supermarket, beach, train station, various buses - a perfect location
It was our first visit to Italy and our stay at The Secret Garden just added to our experience and we were looked after as soon as we arrived (with a refreshing glass of homemade Limoncello) by Dario and his family. The B&B is in ideal location to be able to explore the area and the train station, beach, buses, supermarket and shops are all to hand. There are also plenty of restaurants to eat at - we enjoyed going to the Trattoria Italia, getting an evening gelato at Delle Rose, eating massive pizzas at Pizzeria All'Angolo (close to the B&B/train station) ... we certainly ate well! Now that we're back from our holiday, we've realised just how lucky we were to stay at The Secret Garden and would recommend to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Excellent well recomended

Posted Jun 15, 2015
All you would expect nice location excellent hosts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

A wonderful (and truly secret) B&B...

Posted May 2, 2015
My partner and I stayed here for 1 week and loved it. Set amidst a beautiful lemon/orange grove, the top floor B&B is in an exquisite old building. Piano itself is lovely too - there are some great little ristorantes for if the travel to Sorrento is too much (although Sorrento itself is amazing and always worth the effort), however be aware that Piano is very residential - so if that's not your thing then staying here might not be for you! The room was huge and in keeping with the rest of the accomodation. The only drawback was that the bathroom was not ensuite and the toilet wasn't the best... Really wasn't the best - in fact one of the most temperamental pieces of plumbing I've ever encountered! However, I'm sure most people wouldn't care as much about this (my OH certainly didn't) and though the staff did offer us to switch rooms, I politely declined as the room itself was great... And I'd already unpacked... The breakfast was tasty and sweet, served buffet-style in a pretty pink room. Again this might not suit everybody, but we enjoyed it. All in all, wonderful welcoming staff and a lovely holiday. I'd recommend The Secret Garden to couples who are after a truly authentic, non-touristy experience, and don't mind a bit of a walk off the beaten track! One tip: print out a map before you travel, because it truly is tucked away out of sight - it took us over an hour to find it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Peaceful and delightful stay in Piano Di Sorrento

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: Peace and Quiet
Location: Near Station and Marina
We have just returned from Piano Di Sorrento and were really pleased to have found this delightful bed and breakfast away from the hustle and bustle of Sorrento. The owners have created a really comfortable home from home on the top floor of an 18th century villa surrounded by lemon and orange groves in a walled garden. There is a large lounge, a breakfast room and 7 bedrooms all individually styled. There is free WiFi which I could only get to work in reception. There are 53 steps to climb to get to the front door so the Secret Garden is probably not suitable for anybody with mobility problems. The bed was comfortable, always plenty of hot water in the en-suite and the linen and towels were changed regularly. The breakfast was good for the price we paid. The property is kept very clean although there are some signs of wear and tear in the decor. Its a 6 or 7 minute walk to Piano Di Sorrento railway station which is two stops (5 minutes) from Sorrento for just over 1 euro each way. There are some good restaurants nearby we really liked Bistro Delle Rose and L'Antica Cantina.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Small b and b, basic accommodation.

Posted Mar 9, 2015
The secret garden was a nice place to stay and it could not be faulted for the price we paid. However as the weather was bad during our stay we spent more time in the room than we planned. The rooms don't have WiFi and could do with some new beds. The hotel staff however are very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Nottingham, England

Pleasing Autumn stay

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, quiet location, great shower and spacious room for a B&B with extra space and fridge etc.
Cons: Car parking is difficult, they offer a garage for €15/day, the alternative is a local car park a little walk away costing €1 per hour during the day
Location: Sorrento is less than 10 mins by car, though if visiting for a while the train may be cheaper than parking (train station is a short walk from here)
We visited from England for a week and were pleased with our experience. We travelled by car and used the nearby car park, and were assigned room 4 off the common lounge. It was not too difficult to find and we arrived in-between the official opening hours of the reception, but this was no problem. Pressing the buzzer gains access initially, after which your set of keys can be used for comings and goings. The building has multiple occupants and this hotel is on the second floor up a spiral staircase. We were greeted by a glass of Limoncello and well spoken English. Our room had a mini balcony with sea view and a separate area (very useful) with an additional single bed, small fridge and tea/coffee facilities along with an air conditioning unit (we didn't use this in November, just opened the full-height windows to the balcony). The double bed was a good size but not the most comfortable (ok for a week) The breakfast selection was toast, ham and omlettes (fresh from their own chickens), a selection of jam/chocolate spread, cereal with hot/cold milk and a selection of sweet options along with your choice of hot/cold drinks.
5 out of 5
by Paul from Balwyn

friendly hideaway

Posted Nov 8, 2014 on Hotels
Very quiet and pleasant place for an enjoyable stay. None of the glitz and impersonal service in Sorrento! Locals very helpful and friendly. A map would make it even easier to reach local attractions such as the harbour and the shops.
5 out of 5
by Paul from Balwyn Australia

Piano di Sorrento more authentic than Sorrento

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels
We had a wonderful time here,just a short & easy train-ride from Sorrento itself. Because we based ourselves here for 6 days, we were able to discover many delights of Piano di Sorrento, which is more authentic (& food is cheaper!) than touristy Sorrento. Restaurants, bars & shops aplenty as well as a free beach! But it can be a confusing maze of little streets, so it is such a pity that we had to search all this out for ourselves - a map of the town would be a great help, especially in initially finding The Secret Garden.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Colchester UK

Autumn Break

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: We liked the family run style of the hotel, Gennaro was our host and was friendly and offered information about local activities etc.
Cons: If anything was changed it wouldn't be local Italian style hotel, maybe coffee making facilities in the room?
Location: Plenty to see and do, Beautiful Isle of Capri, Amalfi Coast by bus, Pompei ruins, stroll on Vesuvius, tourist Sorrento town and contrast with Naples
Small family run B&B in quiet suburb of Sorrento but with excellent transport connections via local railway/ bus network. Comfortable en-suite room and tastefully furnished throughout with character only found in older buildings. Stayed for a week but on a hectic tourist schedule so really only slept and breakfasted at the hotel, we prefer a quieter less organised life and this suited us. Breakfast was a combination of cold egg/ ham and local pastries/ cakes - limited choice but ample to start the day with a selection of coffee/ teas available to order. Hotel style facilities limited but it is a mid-priced B&B so exactly as expected. We walked miles on our visit, local bars and restaurants a bit limited off season but overall a great holiday.