Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Amazing views but only ok elsewhere

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: The view
Cons: The place could be cleaner and there could be an information booklet for the suite
Location: Great location in Sorrento to take in the views and explore
We spent 3 nights at the Villa in their terrace suite (think it is called the Golfo). As with others, we initially struggled to get in (there is a large gate but no way to contact the villa - we got lucky as somebody else was leaving!) and were immediately welcomed by the lovely Valentina. The first thing that hits you about the villa is the view - the view of Naples and Vesuvius is one that you pay a premium for at every restaurant in town and one that you can enjoy 24/7 as part of your stay! The terrace is large and there is a small pool to dip into. At first glance the suite is very luxurious - kitted out in antique, and antique-looking, furniture, very spacious (could probably host 8) and very grand-looking. Upon closer inspection, the place is a little dirty, the kitchen is poorly kitted out, the bedding wasn't the cleanest, there is no information-booklet in the suite so very hard to deal with any problems/identify what is available (there is no desk so you need to email if you have issues), and the wifi is almost non-existent unless you are out on the terrace. If you are looking for views this might be the place (although it is expensive for just the views!); however, if you are looking for a luxurious villa you are probably better off elsewhere for the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

You will not be disappointed

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Went to Sorrento for a chilling time. La Terrazza delivered it all. Simply stunning! Thanks to all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buenos Aires

Great stay in Sorrento, beautiful terrace

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Well located villa, very nice apartments with wonderfull terrace and view over the Sorrento coast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cornwall

Stunning

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Amazing location, beautiful property, lovely decor and furniture. Very helpful and sensitively attentive owners. All in all great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, Florida

Beautiful views and fantastic location!

Posted May 31, 2015
Pros: I loved the down to earth, local feel of this hotel. I loved waking up every morning to the breathtaking views of the mountains, the sea and Sorrento.
Cons: The hotel could use a few updated improvements, but nothing that inhibited our great experience.
Location: Perfect location! We were able to walk to everything. Just outside the gate we picked up cappuccino each morning! Just wonderful!
This is a hidden gem! Staying in Sorrento was the highlight of our vacation and the Villa La Terrazza is a wonderful hotel. Although it is more of an apartment than a hotel and is still privately owned by the family who built it back in the 1800's. It was comfortable, convenient and beautiful. We booked a private boat tour to the island of Capri with the owner, Andrea. This was one of the most beautiful and memorable days for the entire family. Andrea is a wonderful host, very knowledgeable of the area (both land and sea) and the perfect boat captain. I highly recommend it! We were able to walk to everything. As soon as you leave through the gate, you are in the center of coffee bars, restaurants and shopping. In the evening, you overlooked the sea and could hear the sounds of music and laughter coming from the town that was all lite up across Sorrento. I felt like I was in a movie the entire time. I will be back to Villa La Terrazza!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2015
Wonderful holiday in Villa La Terrazza! This is a fantastic place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Happiest Guy in Sorrento

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: location, location, location
Location: Capri, Positano, Pompeii, Great Food and Incredible wines
Beautiful Views, Facility owner and help are amazing people
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Georgeous apartment with stunning sea view

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: The Golfo Suite was stunning - spacious, high ceilings, huge windows, lots of attractive features and antique furniture, even a piano! A great find.
Cons: Kitchen was rather poor (old, unreliable hob and a microwave) and the cistern in the ensuite leaked badly with every flush. Due to be updated though.
Location: Ideal location. 4 nights was a good length. Thoroughly enjoyed Pompeii and Capri. If we'd had longer, we may also have visited the Amalfi Coast.
We stayed in the Golfo Suite for 4 nights in October with our 2 teenage daughters. The location was perfect, being close to Piazza Tasso (but away from the busier streets) and Marina Piccola where the ferry leaves for Capri. We absolutely loved the apartment and pretty much had the huge terrace to ourselves. Simona was really helpful in organising things for us at very short notice and we loved Andrea's boat trip to Capri - quite a different experience to going across on the ferry (took about 1.5 hours as opposed to 20-30 mins on ferry, but it was a beautiful sunny, calm day with only 8 of us on the boat. Can stop for a swim and visit the Blue Grotto). We arrived at Marina Piccola (avoiding the busier Marina Grande) and, after a stop for a drink/sandwich, took an open air taxi up to the town which was good fun. The town itself is pretty busy, overpriced with mostly designer shops, but great views. Easy to get the bus back down or up to Ana Capri. Simona also arranged a private guide for us at Pompeii (tour lasted about 2 hours) which was well worth it. We took the train there - an easy, and cheap, option. Favourite restaurants included: Il Delfino (Marina Grande), L'Antica Trattoria and I Giardino di Tasso. Many great ice cream places to choose from: our favourites were Raki and Zini's. If there are specific places/restaurants you want to go to, check which nights they're closed in advance to avoid disappointment. Also, the Lemon Grove was closed which was a shame.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

disappointing -- if you get the basement room

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: location/views from the terrace
Cons: pictures of the rooms should match what you are booking on Expedia -- not a good feeling to arrive and receive something completely different
Based on photos and posted reviews, it's easy to see why we were so excited to get there -- especially after traveling on two trains, including enduring the rough parts of Napoli station, sweaty and tired we were ready to check in. Though the staff was nice, they gave us keys to a room that the photos did not match -- they told us when booking through Expedia the photos will not match what room you will receive. So as there are only few rooms to choose from, one guest will inevitably get the basement cave bunker room. Though likely you paid just as much as the next person, you may get stuck with this room (room name = gran hotel) -- the largest apartment with a bed in the dark back room. We didn't expect a modern hotel room but we did expect light (and something closer to the photos). The owners/staff were nice, but maybe they just do not realize the disappointment this room causes to their tired travelers. The other rooms may have been many stars worthy, we just never got see one or experience it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Splendid View!

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Location is perfect. Views from terrace are amazing. Staff is nice, and their relaxing attitude really rubs off on you.
Cons: Communication with staff. Found out later that a sign in front of the phone number is really 00 and cannot make a call with out adding the zeroes.
Location: Location is perfect - only a few minutes walk from Tasso square, the pier, the beach. Many restaurants and shopping places nearby.
With the amazing view from the terrace, every morning and evening was quite relaxing and beautiful! It was even better enjoying an evening on the terrace and listening to the free music coming from the restaurant nearby. We even saw two nights with fireworks displays after weddings. Truly paradise. Recommend walking the streets off the main squares, as they all have boutiques and restaurants and are quite charming. Walk the stairs down to the beach or the pier, and take the elevator up. Lots of nearby shopping. Location is indeed perfect. Take a day trip with Andrea on his boat and visit Capri or Ischia, or both.